We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glasgow Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #40 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on Christmas shopping trip, the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, the room was very clean and comfy (especially the beds!), the breakfast was lovely and hot. Bit of a hike to the swimming pool though. we will definitely come back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    434
    149
    48
    34
See reviews for
121
343
42
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A warm and friendly welcome. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The room had two very large beds and was well appointed.
The initial price, based on the hotel's own web page, was expensive but we booked via "clever-hotels" for about half price. Breakfast came up to expectations and the offer of porridge with whisky was a nice touch. Good indoor pool
A major problem is arrival by car: you need a good map and navigator to get through the one-way street system.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed one night whilst attending a concert in Glasgow. Hotel was fine, room was clean and traditionally furnished. The overall experience was just a bit dull. Had a drink in the bar when we got back and the service was terribly slow. there were not enough staff on, it was like it was a surprise that it would be busy on a Saturday night 3 weeks before Christmas! Classic Marriott so if that's what you like you'd probably rate it higher than me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights, paying a premium for two rooms from the 23rd - 25th November (two adults and two very young children). Initial impressions were good, a nice clean reception area (however whenever the outside doors opened you could smell smoke).
Soon after arrival we noticed the heating in the rooms didn't work so called maintenance. We were told that the technician wasn't working and that we had to make do with some rather noisy air heaters! Although functional we were not happy with this as they kept us all up. Furthermore they created a fire hazard should our son have walked into one during the night!!!
The swimming pool is quite a walk away from the changing rooms, which in turn are quite far from the main building. The hallways you need to negotiate were absolutely freezing, there were no heaters in sight. Our son was very upset and our 11 month old daughter inconsolable. We called the manager up to our room as I wanted to explain this to him, but he simply shrugged his shoulders and said at the time he wasn't willing to do anything in terms of compensating us for this (even though my children both had blue lips from the cold). Put simply, only visit during the Scottish summer time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Check-in was quick and easy. I atayed 3 nights on business.
The room was good-sized and comfortable. The room and the bathroom were spotless at time of check-in and every day after.
The rate was very reasonable. I had a twin double room and breakfast for £87, which is very good value. The room was blissfully quiet, despite being halfway up (5th floor) and overlooking the entrance and the motorway.
The room didn’t have a fridge but that doesn’t bother me.
The bed (s) were very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows provided (personal bugbear of mine).
The breakfast was good, the food was fresh and there was a lot to choose from.
Well located close to the town centre and close to shopping and restaurants, although I didn’t partake much of either, unfortunately.
Used the iron and ironing board provided every day and they worked fine.
Swimming pool is good.
Didn’t try the restaurant but had a light dinner in the bar and it was nice.
The staff was very polite and courteous and the concierge arranged for taxis every day with no problem.
I will definitely stay here again, probably very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

In a good location close to the centre of Glasgow. We had a kingsize room situated on the 3rd floor. The room was clean and comfortable also very quiet considering its close to major roads. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again when we are next in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel itself is quite dated but is clean and welcoming nonetheless. My room was extremely comfortable. However, I found it to be vey noisy from a power generator, or something of that nature, below my window.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.