We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing conference venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glasgow Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing conference venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spoke at a conference here recently .Conference room really needs a makeover .Noted that two of three stalls in Gents toilet were out of use with cracked seat in the remaining one ;I spoke with a receptionist about this whilst trying to resolve a parking problem .

Unhelpful and not a problem solver ,was given my problem straight back to resolve myself .When i mentioned the problem with the Gents ,she mumbled about passing it on, no changes 8 hours later .

Conference lunch buffet was really nice and restaurant staff a much pleasanter bunch than front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    453
    154
    51
    34
See reviews for
124
359
42
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business, the hotel is close to the M8 (noisy) and town centre. Room was spacious, very comfortable bed and I even managed to open the window for some fresh air. As others have said, a fridge in the room would be good, there is room for one. Bathroom looking a little tired, but clean. Sadly, I had a room with a view over the bins again, but suspect as my business hotel bookings are made by an agency which bargains hard on price this is inevitable.

Staff very friendly and helpful, with the exception of the concierge who did not appear to notice customers waiting to reclaim left luggage, with a taxi waiting outside it would have been better if he was more efficient. Breakfast was good, with a large number of options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in Glasgow during November 2012. It's in a convenient location, about 5 mins brisk walk from Glasgow central station. If you don't fancy walking then there are plenty of buses that go past, and a taxi will probably take you there for a small fee.

The hotel is your typical convention/conference hotel, with a large number of rooms and a leisure club. For me the real attraction was the leisure club, which was excellent, a gym that operates as a health club in its own right, with great equipment and a decent pool. It was a really nice way to spend the afternoon before heading out on the town.

Staff were very friendly, and able to give good feedback on the area. There are plenty of newspapers and reading materials in the lobby, and the exec lounge is well-stocked with snacks, drinks, canapes and all the usual stuff you'd expect.

The hotel rooms themselves were disappointing. They were the same size as you'd get in a London hotel (tiny!), and really need refurbishment. The décor is really showing its age, and some of the furniture/cabinets were well-worn. Water pressure in the shower could do with a bit more zip. That said, the bed and linens were great, really comfy and clean.

Breakfast was great, Scottish breakfast with haggis, black pudding and your usual artery-clogging fare. Fantastic :-) If you prefer you can have your healthier stuff, but when in Glasgow...

On reflection, I don't think that I would choose this hotel for a weekend away again not until they have a refurb. There are plenty of modern, spacious hotels in the area at a similar or lower price. It is charging 4* prices for an ok hotel room, hence the rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was great value for money. The spa treatments are fab. The pool, sauna and steam room were great and very relaxing. The hotel location is great for shopping and dining out in town. The concierge is a wealth of knowledge and if you sign up to Marriott rewards, you earn points for future free stays.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for business, was a great few nights sleep, room nice and comfy, and everything required!

If I could give any room for improvement it would be to include a fridge in the room, there clearly used to be one

Breakfast excellent, everything you could need, including haggis which was excellent

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice hotel, good location (central). Breakfast was great. We had a meal in the bar on arriving but not very good for a 4 star. Huge chunks of carrot and potatoes with steak pie. Looked unappetising. Pastry was not home made. Pasta dish was quite nice.
Room was nice but cold so was given a fan heater (after asking a few times). Room service was excellent. Pool was nice. Room was clean but bathroom was a bit tired. Took a couple of attempts to flush toilet and taps leaked on to area around the sink. There is parking but its £8.00 per night. Overall nice enough hotel for B&B (I'd eat in some of Glasgow's fab restaurants at night). Quite expensive for what you get hence the Average score.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel so many times now I can't remember them all, the last time was this weekend for 2 nights for several events I had in Glasgow. A large portion of staff recognise me on each visit and go out of their way to make sure I enjoy my stay. I usually get an executive double double room on the 11th or 12th floors, which includes trouser press and everything else you would expect at those levels. The rooms are clean, well presented and sufficiently spacious for my needs, dinner is always a very high standard as is breakfast. The leisure centre is well appointed although showing its age and sadly lacking a spa/jacuzzi, which is always my favourite ow ever does have a pool, sauna and steam room and a well equipped fitness suite.

Checkin/out is always swift, efficient and as they have a comprehensive history of my stays, without excessive information, although I would note that irregular stayers or new guests get a comprehensive and informative check-in upon arrival.

My last room was 1215 an executive room with two double beds, which is beside the lifts, so unfortunately on this occasion we could hear the frequent whirr of the lift motors as we are on the top floor, first time I have stayed in that room and also the last as the friendly receptionist apologised and stated she wold add a note to my profile to ensure I did not get that room again, although it was to a major problem unless you are a light sleeper, it just took me an extra 5 mins to get to sleep because of it.

I did stay on the 6th floor the week before solely because I checked in very early and that was the only room available at the time (I could of got my usual executive room but needed a shave and wash and head off if I was just checking in without needing the room straight away) which was a standard guest room with 2 double beds, I would say that these rooms, whilst just as comfortable are not as well equipped and I did accidentally rip a rather weathered towel whilst drying myself after a shower, which would be my only minor misgiving.

I have stayed in the Hilton and several other hotels in Glasgow and definately prefer the Marriott way, plus the Marriott points are not long adding up to give me free nights and other special offers.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.