We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - honest review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Glasgow Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - honest review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

You get the usual standard for a Marriott, but be aware that it is not centrally located, and the walk along although not too far can become a bit of a chore if you like to shop and pop back to drop off bags. For this reason although we have stayed many times, we will opt for one of the hotels in the centre. We had a heating problem which they could not resolve and it impacted on our eating plans as we had the engineer in room trying to fix it. We complained and eventually go the offer of a complementary in room meal and drink when we returned from concert.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    482
    166
    57
    34
See reviews for
129
374
44
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent hotel. Very clean and spacious room. Every member of staff from the front of house to the waiters were friendly. Massive breakfast (served until 12pm, great if you've been out the night before!!!) Would definitely recommend and will easily go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for one night when in glasgow for gig at Renfrew Ferry. Hotel was in perfect location with only a five minute walk to the venue which was handy. Found hotel to be clean, comfortable and good value for money (booked through bookings.com at reduced rate). Had a good night's sleep in a wonderfully comfortable bed, and breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Would recommend, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A well run modern hotel with friendly staff. We thought our superior room with a nice view good value at £135 per night, but some of the other charges were high. Like your other reviewers I resent being asked to pay £15 per day for internet access – there is no more reason to charge for this than for hot water or TV viewing. Many cheaper hotels don't charge. Wary of this, I've now added a 'hot spot' to my iPhone, so avoid these charges. I also think some of their bar charges over the top – surely it is hard to justify about £9 for a large glass of wine – this must be a 600% mark up – it just encourages you to bring your own supplies. I also felt it poor that the room fridges had been taken out of use – I'm not so worried about the minibar, but it is useful to store some of our own materials (milk, white wine) there. But the hotel did have useful ice machines.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are roomy and seem good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent just one night here after arriving into Glasgow late at night on an overseas flight. The hotel is convenient to the airport. The front desk staff was friendly enough, the room was fine - comfortable and basic for a Marriott. The room service menu was very limited, but food was delivered quickly and hot. The hotel wasn't a disappointment, but it didn't wow me either.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff are quite helpful, however the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment.

Quite simply, I have stayed in better 2/3 star hotels.

For the high price paid, surely you would expect a modern room? Not at all.

Also, the WI FI charges are extortionate. I much prefer the Hilton, which is close by.

I told the reception that I was unhappy with my room and they did not change it/upgrade me. That is a sign of unprofessional-ism. The HILTON would, no doubt, do the same. Even the rickety Millennium Hotel and George Square had better furnished rooms.

If I were you, I wouldn't expect much from this hotel. Old, "granny style" rooms, extortionate WI FI prices and I almost forgot: the leisure area is obviously decades old.

Room Tip: Stay clear...the staff aren't willing to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is our 2nd stay here in 3 years. The staff is excellent, the location 15 min from airport and you can walk into Glasgow City Centre (less than a mile). The concierge level is very convenient- open from 7-10am and again in the evening- for grabbing a quick bite. The fitness center is connected to the hotel and also has an outside entrance as it is a health club for outsiders too. It's not a hotel fitness club, per se but it was fine.
The negatives are that the lighting in the bathroom is terrible. No make up mirror. The blow dryer cannot plug into bathroom. Therefore, you are drying your hair at a desk. Also, Marriott is awful at gouging for internet usage. If you want to pay $15 PER day for internet usage this is the place for you. I resented paying it at this hotel 3 years ago, when so many other hotels had free wifi and thought it would have changed. We will not be staying here again. It's ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.