We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Arthouse Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Arthouse Glasgow to your Saves list
The Arthouse Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly ArtHouse Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Exeter
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently during the week. Really nice hotel, inner lobby and stairwell fantastic. Rooms good, have everything you need. Central location but DON'T get a room on the front of the hotel. It's on the main road and the noise can be really bad from the street below. On the plus side, breakfast is really good, great choice. There's also a fantastic restuarant just up the road, Sarti, fantastic Italian food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    181
    125
    65
    32
See reviews for
26
263
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We were put here after the hotel we had booked was over-booked. We were assured this was a lovely 4* boutique hotel but our experience was far from that.

On arrival the front of the building is beautiful and the lobby and lift are lovely but don't let this fool you. Our room (103) was pokey, had last been decorated in the 80s and had no mod cons as I would have expected from a 4* hotel! There were broken plugs, a cracked sink and stains on the curtains. The furniture was awful and the bedside drawers wouldn't shut as they were hanging off the wall at an angle.

During the night we were rudely awoken at 8am by the bin men emptying the glass bin under our window and shouting the usual banter.

On a positive note, breakfast was lovely and the restaurant is very modern and beautiful decorated. Staff were pleasant and very attentive.

I wouldn't recommend paying the £130 for a double room here and we won't be staying here again. My advice to management is to spend the same money and attention to detail as they have on the shared public areas in their rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

In my experience Abode Hotels have usually been destination Hotels with great Restaurant etc. Glasgow Abode is not one of these. As a place to spend a night on business, as I did, it is only averagely equipped. Lack of a restaurant means you will have to go out. The room I had was a "comfortable" room. The bed was indeed comfortable but the furnishings, carpet, bathroom were tired and no better than a lower end chain hotel. The last point to make is that it that if you are in a room at the front of the hotel expect plenty of noise during the night. There are many late night drinking establishments in the area. I suppose it depends what your reasons for being in Glasgow are but if its a restful, fully provisioned Hotel then I would say the Abode is below par.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at The Arthouse Glasgow, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Baby Abode Glasgow. We are a Baby Abode therefore we do not have a fully serviced restaurant onsite however we do offer a great room service/residents lounge menu. Alternatively the reception team are more than happy to recommend some fantastic restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately due to the hotel being in the city centre there can be some noise at night however we have a selection of rooms which face the back or middle of the building which minimises the noise and if requested we would always do our best to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Abode Hotel
Bath Street
Glasgow

Stayed here on Fri 17/11/12.
First impression on walking through the front door was the smell of cooking oil.
Check in was Quick and efficient,
The room and bathroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and I must say one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.

There were a couple of downsides though,

After having a night out with friends we returned back to the Hotel, around midnight and were planning to have a nightcap before retiring, only to be told there was no vodka left and would we like something else!
WHAT!! No vodka in the bar, in Glasgow, Never been heard of!!!
Moving on, in the early hours, you could hear a bit of street activity due to the fact that the windows are only single glazing with glass louvre’s at the top and we got a wee bit of a start when somebody decided it was time to put all the bottles from a nearby bar into a skip.

Comfortable night with a few hiccups!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned following a three night stay at the Abode. We found the hotel to be of a very good standard. Our room, on the second floor was very comfortable indeed, always warm, and the bed as others have already mentioned, was like cottonwool. A good night's sleep was had, even although we overlooked the front of the hotel. The bathroom was clean and spacious, but with only one negative comment, the water was only warm most of the time and the pressure was not so good. It took ages for the hot water to come through. We cannot comment on the food but felt the price for breakfast was a bit steep.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and professional and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. All in all a lovely stay, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The entrance is grand and impressive. The staff were friendly and helpful (I was able to check in early).

I was a bit surprised by the strong smell of frying chips throughout the reception and open plan stairwell. My room was okay...although the bathroom was tired and far from stylish. Black grout featured. The wifi and TV were been temperamental and I didn't work out how the room was becoming so hot when the radiators weren't on.
I stayed in a 'comfortable' room.,..it might be worth spending a bit extra if you are looking for something special.

Room Tip: You are in a city there will be some noise in every room..a higher floor might be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is well situated close the heart of the city but far enough away from the noise. Excellent spacious rooms which are very clean and well presented. The food is very good especially the breakfast. Staff are very polite and helpful.
The only negative issues are the old style lift which can become stuck on a floor if the previous user failes to close the inner gate and the sound of banging doors in the corridors leading to the bedrooms (soft closers may help!).

Room Tip: I have stayed in the hotel three times and all the rooms have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arthouse Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthouse Glasgow

Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly ArtHouse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arthouse Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Glasgow reflects the citys own modern renaissance, combining striking traditional architechture with the most exciting contemporary design. Located in the heart of the city, within a five minute walk of Glasgows main railway stations and a short drive from the M8 motorway, So whether your here to shop Glasgows famous style mile or visiting on business Abode Glasgow is the perfect choice for a truly fabulous stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Arthouse Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
The Arthouse Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arthouse Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.