We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy to the Maximum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton George Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy to the Maximum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here night before flight home. Mini fridge stocked and complimentary. Complimentary liquor cabinet in room as well. Large and beautifully furnished. Only complaint was I could not cool the room and was unsure how to open window. Friends on upper floors were able to open theirs. Executive lounge on 7th floor with self serve open bar in the evening... Elegant and club like with computers to check in flights and print boarding passes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I am sorry that you found the A/C difficult to operate. If you are staying again we will be sure to show you how to cool the room and operate the windows. I do hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    274
    82
    23
    20
See reviews for
74
485
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just back today from a lovely overnight stay. Hotel is spotless and bed was so comfortable did not want to get out of it. Plenty of complimentary toiletries. Complimentary minibar in room with wine beer water and mixers and also decanters of vodka gin and whisky. We booked an executive room to make use of the executive lounge and we were not disappointed. Nice fire and comfortable chairs and plenty of complimentary drinks on offer. The rooftop restaurant has amazing views. The hotel is in a great location for everything glasgow has to offer. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall this hotel is excellent value for money and all the little extras make it really special. Will definitely be back soon and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: it is worth paying extra for an executive or club room to make use of the executive lounge which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Great to read that you loved our hotel. I do hope to welcome you, and all your friends and family to the Carlton George again soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel not 4 star! We had room 605 ... Very small double room and very dark . Outlook was wall and windows of rest of hotel. We booked this hotel for location but very overpriced at £180 for a small double and minibar wasn't up to much.....on the bright side bathroom was bright and modern ,breakfast was good,staff were helpful. When we told reception the room was unbearably hot they checked the air conditioning....but don't think there was much they could do as room was airless even with window open. Could have booked a room at the thistle for £119 same night and wished I had! Overall overpriced and a bit tired but location good..won't be back.....

Room Tip: Maybe upgrading to an executive would be better but the executive lounge was shabby and as far as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Susan S,

I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to your liking. Our complimentary minibars and the lounge are very popular with the majority of guests. We are quite a different hotel to the Thistle, but can assure you that the Carlton George is a 4 star hotel.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in this hotel with the added extra of a complimentary mini bar and decanters of gin, vodka & whiskey! Good sized room with iron/board, trouser press & hair dryer. Excellent breakfast with great views from the restaurant and to top it all the hotel is located right in the heart of the shops, bars & eateries! Would not hesitate to stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for the fabulous comments Janeybabe Cumbria,

I'm glad that you had such a memorable stay with us. The hotel does have the best location for shopping and nightlife. Hopefully you will be back in Glasgow and at the Carlton George soon.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed here for one night, the rooms are well decorated and furnished, being an executive room, it had air conditioning, minibar etc. The bed was comfortable and the TV decent.

The only let down was the hospitality tray, it could have done with fresh milk, especially since there is a fridge, and a better selection of hot drinks. Its a shame the executive lounge closes, it would be good if it remained open for hot drinks, as the coffee machines in there are very good

The air conditioning is quite noisy, and not terribly effective.

One thing that I noted was that lots of things seemed a little insecure, sockets, towel rails etc.

The location is great. Parking may be a little limited, but I had no problem, the square nearby and the fantastic looking buildings are really interesting, its located right next to the station and subway.

I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Garbo123,

I was pleased to read your generally positive review, thanks for the feedback regarding the hospitality tray, we are happy to provide fresh milk to our guests and will add this to your guest profile for when you come back.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my boyfriend for his 21st birthday. Hotel is in an amazing location - a 2-minute walk in one direction to Glasgow Queen Street train station and a 2-minute walk in the opposite direction to reach the main shopping street. Plenty restaurants and bars within the shopping district for every meal and endless shops for during the day. Hotel staff were very friendly and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We also received 2 vouchers for a free drink in two restaurant/bars close to the hotel which we enjoyed over lunch. The décor was lovely - very true to Scotland throughout the rooms. We thought our room was a bit on the small side at first, but there was, in fact, plenty room for 2 people and all our belongings. The only negative that prevents this hotel from receiving a 5-star rating is the stuffyness of the room at night time. We had the air conditioning on all the time but it didn't seem to make much difference and opening the window didn't make much difference either. This made it a bit uncomfortable to sleep in. Despite this, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone as it is in an amazing location and overall, a very lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Auroraskyline,

Thanks for the review and for recommending us to all your friends and family! I do hope your boyfriend had a memorable 21st Birthday.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Revisited 29 April for 3 nights. Just as good as previous time in October. Good value and convenient location. Lovely staff. Menu could be a little more varied, but adequate for a few days stay. Will return!

Room Tip: Executive deal seems to be best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks Teresa,

Hope to see you again soon. Let us know if there is anything you would like on the menu!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow’s only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what’s in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room for no additional fee. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we’ve worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.