We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton George Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Central location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is an attractive hotel near city center, yet rooms are very quiet. Staff is courteous and helpful. Rooms are clean and well-appointed. Restaurant too is very nice. Good food, reasonably priced, nice view of city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for the review Al6244,

Glasgow is a very different city to Washington DC, I hope you enjoyed your time in Scotland! We do have a fantastic location and the views of the city rooftops are interesting. Thanks also for your comment about my team, hospitality and service are important to all of us at the Carlton George.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    303
    94
    26
    23
See reviews for
86
528
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having just rebooked for the umpteenth time, I checked recent reviews and realised I hadn't posted from our stay in November!!
Spent 2 nights to celebrate my Mums **th birthday, and wasn't disappointed. As ever everything ran like clockwork, slight misunderstanding over twin and double rooms but soon resolved and put right. Marc and Hector were fabulous on the front desk and had us in hysterics a few times.
I have never ever found any fault with the Carlton George, from check in to check out its as perfect as you are going to get, and great value.
Just reading one negative view and found it hard to believe that someone commented that there are better hotels in Glasgow? Believe me this is the best you will get for all round service, location, relaxation and 'me' time.
Returning in April to celebrate a 50th and cannot wait...............Marc and Hector be afraid be very afraid!!!!

Room Tip: Always worth upgrading to experience the gorgeous lounge and fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear jovi19,

Marc and Hector are indeed fantastic, I will make sure both are on duty when you come back for the birthday celebrations. Thanks for your support, I believe we are the best hotel in Glasgow too!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for my husbands 80th birthday.we asked for a nice view but did not know room type we booked had no nice views or we would have upgraded.however we were told hotel was full or they would upgrade us..guess you cant do any better than that.when we arrived the heating did not work, we were given a heater which was adequate.room was lovely , free mini bar was a nice touch.staff were all friendly and manager too.location was fab.we ordered breakfast in our room, first day was fabulous but second day it was stone cold.they offered to replace it, however we were in a hurry.i would like to have that deducted from our bill but nobody offered.however overall we loved the hotel and though we may have been a bit unlucky we hope to return and we will reccomend it to family and friends .j Allison, clydebank

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was pleased to read that you were generally happy and would return. I can assure you that all steps will be taken to address the points that weren't so good.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Carlton George for two nights over Valentines weekend after it being recommended by a family member. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the decor could use some updating but overall it's a pleasant comfortable place to stay. We got an executive room, which came with the complimentary mini bar and access to the executive lounge with complimentary drinks between set times which was excellent and I'd definitely recommend paying the extra for it!! Also paying extra to have breakfast included as it can be delivered to your room free of charge at a time chosen by you, another must recommendation!! The bed was very comfortable BUT I was very disappointment that it was just two singles zipped together, I understand this is done in a lot of places but there wasn't even a topper to cover the ridge and it was uncomfortable to lie across. Also the duvet had a zip up the middle as it was two singles zipped together (for £150 per night I would have hoped for better). Our room was on the second floor in what I presume to be the middle of the hotel as our window was facing out onto other rooms, because of this the room was very very dark, which was fine for sleeping and being where it was made it very quiet which wasn't too much of a problem for us, apart from no natural light to do make up but obviously this isn't something that can be helped! Overall a very nice stay, staff were very friendly and accommodating and we will 100% be staying here again next time we're in Glasgow.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Was lucky enough to have another overnight stay here at the Carlton George hotel. Hubby's Valentine surprise for me! From outside, the hotel doesn't particularly look that impressive and even on entering, the reception is small with barely enough room for two people behind the desk. Our 'executive' room however was very spacious, very nicely decorated and very clean with complimentary tea & coffee, and ample toiletries in the bathroom. What is even better is that there is a complimentary mini bar filled with soft drinks, sparkling & still water, red & white wine and beer. There were also cut glass decanters of whisky, sherry and vodka. Superb! But how on earth can the hotel afford to do this????? Being in the executive room allowed us access to the executive lounge where you had soft drinks, tea and coffee available free of charge all day and free alcoholic drinks from approx. 5pm -10.45pm. This is a lovely cosy lounge with comfy seats and an open fire. No TV or music blaring away. Just pure relaxation and chill. The evening meal was lovely. The restaurant has great views. And the staff are very attentive. We also got a free glass of what I think was some fizzy wine of sorts. Not quite sure, possibly Prosecco. But again, how good is this? I know the price of the room is a bit dearer than what we would normally pay, but when you think how much all these nice little freebies they provide, would cost in other hotels, I think it is well worth it! So am I going to stay again? You bet!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
welltravelled800

Thank you for your lovely comments. We try to make our hotel feel like a real home from home.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel lacks a certain ambiance as there is no bar or lounge area open to all. They offer Waxy's next door (which is fab and open to all visiting Glasgow) or Horton's up the road but essentially this hotel is just a block of rooms for rent. Yes, they do provide a 'courtesy' mini bar but only because there are no bar or lounge facilities within the hotel. Upgrading to the executive lounge is worthwhile as it gives somewhere to go out with your room. We booked an executive double but this was surprisingly small with a view of scaffolding in a side street. Breakfast buffet was warm, minimal and very basic. The location of the George is its most positive attribute as it is so central and fine for one night in the city. Our room was clean and basic and the staff were welcoming but sadly, we would not return. There are many more 4 and 5 star hotels in the area providing far better value for money.

Room Tip: Our 'executive' room was disappointing in size and in location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
MaryAnneM,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry that the hotel was not to your taste.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Really warm welcome by reception staff. Fantastic room overlooking west George st, right in the heart of Glasgow. Exec lounge is really good and worth paying an extra few quid for. Will hopefully stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for the review David,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow’s only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what’s in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room for no additional fee. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we’ve worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.