We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton George Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
paris
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here for a night following a family wedding held there.

The rooms were great and very well sound proofed (essential for city centre location). The decor of the rooms is a little dated but they are very comfortable, clean and have everything you need. The mini bar (included in our rate) had a v. decent selection as well.

Staff great (reception and event staff in particular). Food was great during the event and breakfast the next morning was also good.

Excellent central location. Would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear mlohara,

I'm delighted that you found the Carlton George to your liking. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    303
    94
    26
    23
See reviews for
86
528
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here as a change from the usual hotel we would use in Glasgow, we'd never heard of it before now. Checkin was okay, got our room slightly earlier than expected. Room was average size, very clean, decent size bathroom with toiletries should you need them. The disappointing part was the view, or should I say lack of view. We looked out onto a narrow courtyard, facing other guest rooms which meant if you had a light on other guests could see into your room even with the sheer curtains closed. Not ideal.

Room was very hot and no chance of sleeping with a window open due to noisy generators in the courtyard below. Aircon helped slightly. Breakfast was very average, not a great choice on offer.

Checkout was brisk and businesslike, weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay etc.

Car parking is at Buchanan Galleries. On leaving the hotel you have your ticket stamped before going to the parking office on second floor of the Galleries to pay. On checking in we had to ask about this arrangement as the information wasn't given. It's a preferential rate, however it's not an ideal place to park if you have a lot of luggage/bags as it is not right next to the hotel.

The hotel is in a fantastic location but that's not enough to entice us back, we felt it lacked something, quite impersonal too. Pricey for what you get. Regardless of how many guests are happy according to management replies on TA, this hotel is not for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that you didn't find the hotel to your liking.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in the Carlton George for a few nights whilst working in Glasgow. The hotel itself is in a great location, right in the middle of the shopping district. The staff were friendly. The main thing that let it down was how ridiculously hot it was (bear in mind this is at the end of November). It was impossible to get any air into the bedrooms and the air conditioning made no difference. I tried complaining at reception but the guy didn't seem to be able to do anything about it, he just said it was because the winter heating had been turned up. Ended up having to sleep on top of the duvet and had three pretty bad nights sleep. The breakfast was also very average - the quality of the ingredients used just wasn't great.
Overall it wasn't terrible, and I might have just been unlucky that the weather had got a bit mild, but I won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Rob,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry you found it a bit hot in your room, next time you stay I will ensure you get a nice cool room.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is our third stay at this lovely hotel. Really cannot fault it.
Clean with great food and just a few footsteps to the shops and restaurants.
The staff cannot do enough, so friendly and accommodating, particularly Hector and Mark.
Will be booking again in the new year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks D J,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Remember to book direct for the best deals. I do hope you will be back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Sankey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Glasgow is a fantastic place to go for Christmas shopping and the Carlton George is fantastically placed as it is in the middle of the shopping district. The staff are VERY helpful and friendly especially Hector who could not do enough for us. This was the third time we have been and will definitely return. I would also recommend upgrading the rooms to executive rooms as you have the benefit of the use of the lounge with free drinks. Brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for the review Helen,

Hector is a real asset. Hope the shopping was good!

Regards

Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Carlton George. Special thanks to all the lovely staff, Hector and Mark on reception and all the staff in the restaurant and lounge. Room was very nice and excellent value with the executive lounge available all day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Margaret,

I'm delighted you had such a positive experience, I will pass your kind comments to Marc and Hector.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great hotel in a fantastic location. Really enjoyed our stay nice spacious room with a really comfy bed. Free mini bar in room with decanters of vodka ,whiskey and gin .Staff were excellent right from check in until breakfast all very pleasant and friendly could not do enough for us. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Diana,

Thank you for the amazing comments. Glad to hear that the Carlton George did not disappoint.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow’s only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what’s in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room for no additional fee. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we’ve worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.