We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton George Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Fall River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked this at last minute and pleasantly surprised. Polite and v helpful staff. Room v nice...liked tartan touches. Surprised at free bars. Breakfast v good. Efficient checkout and cheap parking in middle of city. Excellent hotel and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, great to read that you enjoyed your experience. Hopefully I will be able to welcome you back personally on your next visit.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    275
    82
    23
    20
See reviews for
74
487
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this surprise for my 50th Birthday we stayed on the 9th August for one night the location was just around the corner from Queen Street Station and centrally based for Argyle Street and Sauchiehall street
The hotel is a hidden gem the entrance is nice and bright but narrow and clean, our room was ready at 12:30pm witch was great as we were not expecting it at that time, On signing in you are asked to put a deposit of £50.00 which we thought was fair as the well known hotels like Holiday Inn, Hilton and Ramada Jarvice ask for more and sometimes do not even tell or ask you, We we up on the 3rd floor in an executive room 303, the room had plenty of space with a very large king size bed with very comfortable pillows, there was a inshot with table desk chair( it was nicely done), the bathroom was very clean and also had plenty of room.
I think the hotel had a nice touch to it with the executive room having complimentary mini bar and decanters of Whisky,Vodka and Gin enough for two drinks each out of each decanters, and the mini bar having red and white mini bottles of wine two bottles of fosters, mini cans of Pepsi, tonic water, water, never mind having the use of the executive lounge if you have an executive room with free coffee tea and spirits, the lounge is on the 7 th floor but has not great vues But is very cosy.
I think this hotel pulls out the stops as you do not get these extras with any of the well known big hotel I think I have mentioned a couple of these previously, and can spend a lot more going to them and yet do not get the same service.
What a nice hotel to recommend if visiting Glasgow or if just going away for a special occasion, I would recommend it .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay having enjoyed it so much on our last wedding anniversary that we came back this year. Very efficient and courteous staff, check in was completed swiftly. We booked an executive room which was lovely, immaculately clean with a very comfy bed. Air con was great particularly in the middle of the heat wave. Love the free mini-bar, a great touch. Breakfast the following day was hot and plentiful with a good selection of things to choose from. Check out was every bit as quick and the hotel allowed us to leave our bag so we could go shopping. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYRSHIRE UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

just returned from an overnight stay in this lovely hotel!!!! We had and executive balcony room which was lovely, all drink in our room and in the decanters were FREE for us to drink also we had use of the executive lounge situated on the 7th floor which you were able to help yourself to FREE wine, beer, spirits (vodka,gin,brandy,whiskey,sherry), coffee, snacks from i think it was 4.30pm-10.45pm what a great idea!
The room had a big comfy bed, it was clean, nice bathroom.
The staff in the hotel were very helpful, friendly, and willing to help
We ate in the hotel restaurant which has fantastic views over the city, however we didn't find the food good at all considering the prices on the menu, we felt starters had little taste and our steaks 1 was fine and the other was so badly scorched it couldn't be eaten , TO BE FAIR it wasn't the head chef that was cooking i think it was his night off the staff were VERY GOOD and we managed to work things out with them.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and cant wait to plan another stay here but next time we would eat out :-)

Room Tip: I would highly recommend getting the executive packages which give you the free drink and access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent base right in the centre of Glasgow within a few steps of Queen Street Railway Station. Booked direct with the Hotel and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely - big bed, spacious bathroom with toiletries, and of course the complimentary mini bar with drinks cabinet was a big WOW!!

Dinner was included for the first night of our stay and was good, as was breakfast each day. The dining room is on the 7th floor with views over Glasgow.

Have stayed in many hotels over the years, but this one certainly ticked all the boxes. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Location was good in the middle of town. Small lobby with only 1 person ever on duty. There were no bell hops or concierge. The car park was about 10 min walk away but there are no valets so have to park yourself. The one person at front desk will carry your luggage if not busy. You do get a discount 50% on parking with a stamp on ticket from front desk. Only ends up being 12 pounds/day. We were in executive so had free drinks in special bar upstairs but they only have 3 types of liquor. Comes with snacks also in that executive bar but they were not good. Best not to spend the money to upgrade. Room was OK. Staff was helpful and polite.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. As you can see from the majority of our reviews our executive lounge is a very popular feature of the Carlton George, I am sorry that you did not feel it was for you. Thanks also for your feedback regarding the parking, being in the heart of the city centre, we do not have our own parking facilities, I am pleased that you felt the Buchanan Galleries car park was good value.

Regards
Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We first booked the Carlton George last summer. Its location is just perfect for city shopping and site seeing.
The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and we had the use of a drinks cabinet fully complimentary. There was Gin, Vodka or Whisky to choose from and a good range of mixers in the fridge.
Breakfast is served on the 7th floor in a glass paneled restaurant with amazing views over Glasgow's skyline. The menu was fully comprehensive and cooked to perfection.
Service from the staff was impeccable and we will certainly be booking again.

Room Tip: Any room at the Carlton George is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow’s only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what’s in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room for no additional fee. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we’ve worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.