We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel right in the centre of town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton George Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel right in the centre of town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed here last weekend for our 30th wedding annivesary, i wanted something special for my wife so as a surpise for her i booked an executive room on the dinner , bed & breakfast package . we arrived early & our room wasnt ready which was fine , the receptionist was very helpful & pleasant. she took our luggage & told us our room would b ready at 2pm. we went away & did some xmas shopping & went back at 2pm. we were given a very warm welcome by the same lady & directed to our room on the 4th floor. the room was lovely , spacious & of a very high standard of cleanliness. the complimentary mini bar could be better stocked as we didnt use the decanters of spirits as we dont drink the spirts provided. once settled in we went to the executive lounge , which is nice but a bit on the small side. when we arrived 3 of the tables were reserved for afternoon tea (which we thought were for hotel guests but was actually not hotel guests , 1 table of 8 people who arrived just after 4pm were still there when we came back from our dinner at 7.30pm again leaving less tables for hotel guests we felt that the waiter was paying more attention to these people than the hotel guests) . i was able to have a few beers in the afternoon but my wife would have liked to have had a glass of wine but was told by the waiter she wouldnt get wine till the bar opened at 5pm unless we wanted to pay for it so she had to settle for coffee or soft drinks which is a bit of a let down. we were eating in the windows restaraunt at 6pm( which was nice but overly priced for whats on your plate, wouldnt eat there again ) so decided to join another 3 couples for drinks before dinner in the executive lounge at 5pm whom we had been chatting to earlier in the lounge in the afternoon 1 of the ladies was a bacardi drinker as are my wife and myself, this lady was given bacardi free of charge even though it wasnt 1 of the spirits offered in the lounge bar, my wife and i had wine. after dinner we returned to the lounge for drinks, we were met by the waiter who presumed we both wanted red wine again, we asked for a bacardi each only to be told we would be charged for it as it was not 1 of the free spirits provided, we tried to explain that the lady that was sitting with us earlier had been given bacardi but he just kept saying we would have to pay for it, so we left the executive lounge i cotacted reception with my concerns only to be told that bacardi was not provided free of charge. i went to the off licience & bought a bottle of bacardi & we sat in our room, not exactly how we had planned to spend our 30th wedding anniversary.we asked for our breakfast to be delivered to our room on the sunday morning, when it arrived we were yet again let down, there were items on the plate which we didnt have on the order slip & 2 dont even like, my wife contacted windows & was told that the breakfast would be replaced , i have to say when it arrived it was piping hot and very nice we thoroghly enjoyed it . when checking out i voiced my concerns again to the gentleman on reception only to be told that was the policy & to fill in the customer review leaflet with my views which i have done & posted off. we would stay here again but only on the bed & breakfast option. we feel we didnt get value for money or benefit from the executive package as i have already said a bit disapointing for our 30th wedding anniversay

Room Tip: our room & bathroom was of a of a very high standard of cleanliness & are both very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    303
    94
    26
    23
See reviews for
86
528
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed here twice, four years apart, the exact same standards have been kept up during that time, the beds are very big and comfy, all the expected luxuries are there, I like the touch of having the free mini bar, both times the rooms have been spacious and well presented, the service was also good.
If anything I would say that the down side of this hotel is that there is no view, both times the window of the room has faced the air con unit- so the rooms are quite dark, not much fresh air gets in, and its VERY warm, i noticed this more so on my more recent stay- but there is an air conditioning unit so if you over heat as I did in the middle of the night then there is a solution. Bottom line I would gladly stay again and probably will

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012


The hotel is in a great location for walking to the shops and eating out and in a fab city which exceeded my expectation. The reception was warm and friendly. My room was spacious with a nice decor and a very comfy bed and I loved the complimentary bar. The upgrade by my supplier to the executive lounge on the 5th floor was also well received and a little more special than your avg hotel. I am looking forward to my next visit and still recovering from the Scottish hospitality.. (Hangover.)....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we have used this hotel a few times , and enjoy it . Comfy rooms , beds & pillows and close to shops and entertainment, a wee free pre dinner drink or nightcap, and friendly staff. Only minor complaint is that the rooms can be too warm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Carlton George for an overnight break. The location is central and perfect for shopping/dining in Glasgow. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The executive lounge is nothing spectacular - only one member of staff, who was very friendly and helpful, but run off her feet. This meant we were sitting at table waiting to be cleared. We booked breakfast on arrival at £7/person - if you wait until the morning itself to book the charge is £14/person. This was a big disappointment. Again staff under pressure. Plates not cleared away after cereal. Table small so space difficult when eating cooked breakfast. Standard buffet style but have to order for any egg apart from scrambled. Poached eggs arrived as we were finishing our hot breakfast. After the wait the eggs were overcooked. While making toast a waiter kept pushing me out of the way which I thought was rude. Reception staff friendly and helpful. We parked at Queen Street train station - cost £10 for 24 hours and just around corner from hotel. Regarding inclusive mini bar. There are a couple of wines, beers, water, soft drinks and mixers. The spirits (whiskey, gin and vodka) are in decanters. Personally we didn't use decanted spirits as would prefer to be in a sealed container.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for posting a rewiew, I was pleased to read that you liked our hotel, I will certainly take your comments regarding breakfast onboard. It is only with feedback such as yours that we can improve. I can assure you that next time you stay with us breakfast will be up to the standard of the rest of our product.


Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from a night at The Carlton George-and will certainly be back !!!!
Rooms are lovely clean and bright,with everything you need -the free mini bar is a welcome added bonus!! We stayed in a Club room so had access to the lounge -it was great !!! so cosy and a wee white wine hit the spot after a hard days shopping !!!
The staff that we met where all lovely and helpful even letting us leave our cases so we could hit the shops !!
The only small negative thing could say was breakfast could have done to have been a wee bit hotter.

Room Tip: Club rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really enjoyed the stay, good food, nice to have the minibar and executive lounge. Also appreciated breakfast in our room with no service charge. Also good to be able to vacate the hotel at noon - meant we were able to have a relaxed departure.

Room Tip: Look on the hotel website for special deal packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow’s only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what’s in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room for no additional fee. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we’ve worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.