We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently re-furbed Hilton provides good business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Glasgow to your Saves list
Hilton Glasgow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #24 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Recently re-furbed Hilton provides good business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The short story is I would have no hesitiation going here again.

In detail.....The location of this hotel is a bit strange but don't let that put you off. It's central to town and once you get over the weird location (close to a mass of under and over passes) you should enjoy it.

The reception staff were friendly and efficient checking in and checking out was smooth. I had no additional expenditure on my bill. The lobby has recently been refurbished and looks very smart. Colleagues enjoyed the bar and there is a nice gym.

Positives: big room, nice comfortable bed, easy to find equipment like hairdryer. Good quality toiletries and a nice shower over the bath. I had an annoying leaky tap but reported that on checkout. Breakfast is self service and you can ask for extras cooked to your order. Good coffee machine and fresh juice, good spread to satisfy most needs. Shame there are no banana's on the fruit bar.

Areas for improvement: for me what would make this excellent is better quality furniture. It's quite cheap quality not as solid as top end hotels. Not a problem for me, afterall I am not moving in! Would have been nice to have hot chocolate sachets in the room along with usual tea and coffee.

We had an power cut on one night. Emergency power came on in all common areas. I walked the stairs to the 11th floor rather than stay in the bar where apparently the first response to those in my party wanting drinks was we can't serve you as the till doesn't work which was a bit surprising as I would have thought it was an ideal time to make money. The staff I met were excellent apart from that on small hitch.

Room Tip: If you are disturbed by traffic noise ask for a room away from the motorway. I did get a great nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    714
    280
    101
    75
See reviews for
291
706
116
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The room was good, clean and everything you need for a short stay, reception staff were very good in coping with a mix up on the booking which was the fault of my company. Room Service was another matter, staff were very rude and unhelpful, insisted on taking cash despite amount taken from card at check in for extras which covered this. Although this was sorted eventually by the reception staff the next day the lack of customer service skills displayed by the room service staff reflected badly on the overall impression of this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

All of us at the Hilton Glasgow take great pride in providing the best experience for our guests and it is very unusual and unlike us to have any of our guests experience the type of service you encountered.

I have shared your feedback with our Restaurant Manager, who has assured me that your comments will be investigated.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room and our reception staff were able to help with your booking on arrival.

Please feel free to contact me, Lisa Laverty Business Development, at sales.glasgow@hilton.com or call 0141 204 5555 should you wish to discuss your review in further detail.

Once again thank you for your feedback, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of service you have every right to expect from Hilton Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We have spent a great couple of days here. Great city centre hotel with excellent, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Our first visit to this fabulous city and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms just the right temperature. Having to pay for wifi in the room in 2013 and in a hotel of this caliber we thought unusual but it is free in reception and so no major issue. It was quiet at night and there seemed to be taxis outside most of the time which was good as we chose not to drive while we were there.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The rooms in this hotel had been upgraded fully and made this hotel even more fantastic than usual. The beds were new and unbelievable sleep. Rooms high up you can hear no noise from the city.

There is an executive lounge unusually on the ground floor which provides a wide range of refreshments complimentary at various times of the day handy for the business traveller who has no time nor inclination for another big hotel meal

in the room you can change the temperture quickly very hoely
The city is close by, you can walk to city centre in 10 minutes or 30 seconds in a cab and everything fro bars cafes resteraunts and theartres are right there and it is very safe and you feel safe

great 5 star value for a lot less

Room Tip: Rooms higher up facing east give full view of glasgow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a nice stay at the Glasgow Hilton last week. We got a good deal on Sunday night.

Girl on reception was lovely and managed to get us in to our room a few hours early. We had been upgraded from a standard double to a king executive room. Room was lovely, great view onto the city. The exec floor also gave us access to the executive lounge which was a pleasant surprise. We managed to catch afternoon tea - lovely sandwiches and other snacks from 3pm onwards. Popped back in later and there was nibbles on with wine and beer. A shame they no longer have fizz or gin. Do not missing have to be severed the drinks all by the lounge assistant - that was bizarre.

Margaritas in the bar were as good as I remember last time we stayed. Almost too good!!

Breakfast was nice & was served till 10.30.

Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Exec rooms on the 18th - 20th floors are brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed here quite often but not for a while and the renovations which have taken place are visible. The room we had was lovely - again seems recently redone. Staff friendly as always. The food in the Executive Lounge was tasty but no sparkling wine as there used to be! Good atmosphere around all areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived at the Glasgow Hilton after a delayed flight from London but having had a great taxi driver from the airport. He had given us lots of information about the city and things to see as well as how to get around. The front desk staff were welcoming and quickly changed out room when it wasn’t the sort we wanted. The rooms are very standard for this type of hotel. It has a large screen TV, desk and storage space as well as plenty of hanging space. The bathroom had a snug rather than a roomy bath but was light and airy. If I had to make any criticism of the room it would be that there was only one easy chair.

Since we were tired from a long time spent at Gatwick airport not travelling we decided to eat in the bar. The menu was not extensive but provided a good selection in all categories. The Hilton Club sandwich was plentiful for what we wanted and the wine was more than acceptable. I would rather have had a real beer available than the case ales but this seems to be as much a Glasgow thing as just a Hilton hotel thing.

The next morning we set out to walk to the Kelvingrove Museum and discovered the main limitations of the hotel location. To get anywhere walking from the Hilton requires going alongside a very busy and very noisy road on a narrow pavement or heading into some back streets or taking a taxi. The location being on the eastern outskirts of the city centre was further emphasised when we walked back after some shopping. It had been a ride on the famous Glasgow subway to get to the city centre from Kelvingrove. Sauchiehall street became seedier as we headed west towards the hotel. Though it never reached the stage of being threatening in any way we did decide that we would need to take a taxi to get to the better bars around the Merchant Quarter. As it turns out the rain, the walking and a large lunch meant we spent another evening in the bar, which proved no hardship.

Throughout our stay every time we had dealing with the staff they were friendly and helpful. We borrowed some duct take to make a handle for a package we had and the waiter in the bar came to tell us that he had dropped our food so there would be a short delay while the kitchen prepared a replacement.

However, the best indication of the service and how seriously they took customer comments was at breakfast on the last day. The buffet breakfast coffee was from one of the new type of machines that are becoming popular. You put a cup under the spout, and (to quote from the Hitch-hikers Guide to the Galaxy)
“When the 'Drink' button is pressed it makes an instant but highly detailed examination of the subject's taste buds, a spectroscopic analysis of the subject's metabolism, and then sends tiny experimental signals down the neural pathways to the taste centres of the subject's brain to see what is likely to be well received.
However, no-one knows quite why it does this because it then invariably delivers a cupful of liquid that is almost, but not quite, entirely unlike tea.”.

When I was asked if I had enjoyed breakfast I mentioned how bad the coffee was. The supervisor immediately offered to go and get me a better tasting cup from the Costa coffee shop in the lobby. Though I refused the offer it was an indication of the dedication of the staff to customer service.

Overall a very nice stay but not really a hotel to visit the centre of Glasgow from unless you are prepared to take taxis.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and EasyToBook so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.