We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Glasgow to your Saves list
Hilton Glasgow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recently stayed here and was very impressed with the location and the hotel in general.

I booked several rooms for myself and international colleagues and although we had to make several changes in the booking when we all arrived everything was in order and correct.

The hotel itself is well located for some good restaurants and nightlife within a short distance.

The rooms are well appointed, clean and well stocked with all the usual facilities one would expect from a Hilton.

We all had use of the executive lounge which was comfortable and spacious.

All of the staff that we met during our stay were very polite and helpful but not overbearing, a good balance of attentiveness to discretion, well done for that, it makes a refreshing change.

Whether on business or leisure I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Matt G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am so pleased to read your kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel and have passed on your review to our management to share with their teams.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming both you and your colleagues back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    645
    256
    94
    73
See reviews for
261
642
109
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our second stay in two years and I must admit it is a very nice hotel, let down by a few things.

Pedestrian access to the hotel from the city centre isn't great, having to walk up what seems like service roads and then up the taxi rank where there isn't a path and isn't exactly safe.
Secondly, the lifts. You can wait for eternity at your floor for a lift...any lift...to stop. And even when they do, they're generally full to bursting point anyway. Thirdly, we went to the pool for a swim at 4pm on a Saturday and were refused access as it was too busy, very disappointed by this!

The breakfast is very good but again there can be huge queues if you go at the wrong time. The staff do their best but its another case of the hotel being too big for some of the facilities they offer.

The hotel room was good, certainly didn't feel cramped and the bathroom is also a good size. didn't really deal with any of the staff, but the staff at breakfast were friendly enough.

The conference suite is good and it looks like some of the function rooms there are massive.

Room Tip: Try and get a room viewing west or north for better views on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear ruddoug09,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear you found the hotel to be very nice and your room good however I am sorry to read that it was “let down by a few things”.

Your review has been shared with our management team and will be included in our on-going review of products and services.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here as a Family for a Wedding in August.

Car Park - As long as you manage to drive aroung Glasgow's one way system and get to the Hotel then the car park is under the hotel the payment system if you are staying for a few nights is a bit complicated
Bar/Restaurant - Having stayed in a few Hiltons I expected this but had a bit of a shock when I ordered drinks at the bar 2 drinks over £12 (Pint & Small Glas of House wine)
Rooms - Clean & Tidy the hotel reception had just been refitted so was very clean and tidy

This is a good Hilton Hotel but a bit more expensive for food and drinks than others I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I attended the Scottish Care Conference and Award Ceremony and stayed overnight.
The conference, attended by almost 600 members was held in the 3rd floor ballroom. In addition to the members seating, at there was at least 30 exhibitors with their associated stands. The conference finished at 4pm and the dinner/awards ceremony started at 7pm. In less than 3 hours the staff had removed all the chairs, all the stands and replaced them with 57 tables set for dinner for 10 people/table! Serving an excellent four course meal + coffee to 570 people went like clockwork, the staff were superb.
The staff breakfast the next morning we also superb, showing you to your table, clearing plates away as soon as required and being very helpful and polite. The buffet breakfast was very good as two chefs were there to replenish the food before it got to the, "Almost none left" stage.
Our room was huge, bed very comfortable and the bathroom very bright and clean.
Well done all the staff, you were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear peter202,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s fantastic to hear of our “wonderful, wonderful staff” and a pleasure to share your review with the whole team at Hilton Glasgow.

I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your room and your evening at the Award Ceremony in our ballroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Staying at the Hilton on a Saturday night for a regular work function, we were pleased with the initial refurbished look of the Hilton. Parking was a bind (it always is, get there early) but check-in was smooth and the refurbished lifts have really improved floor access. The room as a whole was spacious, comfortable and well decorated with the only detraction being the slightly tired bath area. We attended an evening function that was very well staffed and catered, setting the tone for a great night. Sadly, we had forgotten the noise level from the air conditioning in the room at night - not disasterous but quite disturbing at times. The big let down was the breakfast, getting down in the middle of the service the staff were unfriendly and dumped us at a table that felt like it was in a corridor with a casual 'you get everything from the buffet' without even directions. Sadly the Hilton now find even bringing coffee or toast to your table too challenging for their staff, so you queue for everything at machines - the result is lots of walking, queuing and lukewarm food by the time you are back at your table. The general ambience - travelodge but not at a reasonable price. Staggering that this is at a similar room rate as you can get offers at Blythswood Square - baffling approach to breakfast at what is meant to be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear 345frt67,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed both your room ,the great views and your evening function however I am sorry to hear that your nights’ sleep was disturbed by the air conditioning unit and I have passed on your review to our Head of engineering to investigate this.

I was also disappointed to read your comments regarding service at breakfast and can assure you that this is not the standard of service we strive to achieve and your comments will be included as part of our on-going customer service training.

Our breakfast team are always more than happy to serve our guests tea and coffee to their table, should they prefer. Our coffee machines offer our guests a great range of fresh options from a cappuccino to double espresso and a wide selection of teas.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here as part of a working trip. The service was good and room very nice and spacious. We were treated to dinner which again was very nice although I have no idea what it would have cost. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice. Drinks from the bar were expensive but I'm not sure how these compare to the rest of Glasgow. I'll be back next year with my partner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear rickandlisa999,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

It’s great to hear you found your room nice and spacious and the service good.

Please feel free to contact our food and beverage team on 0141 204 5506 or email fb.glasgow@hilton.com for menu details for Morblas Seafood and Grill and Connich Bar.

We look forward to seeing both you and your partner next year at Hilton Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently took my friend to the Ocean Rooms Spa at the Glasgow Hilton for a birthday treat. We were extremely disappointed in the facilities and would never call this a spa. It is really just a swimming pool with a few treatment rooms. The reception of the spa is upstairs at the front of the hotel and is in desperate need of decoration to make it more welcoming. We were asked to take a seat on a wooden box type thing to fill in our forms. We were then taken down to the leisure area reception where we signed in to use the pool, pointed towards the changing room and told we would be collected from the poolside for our treatments. The changing room is small with only lockers no changing cubilcles. When I realised we had not been given robes I went to ask if we could have some and was told that they would cost £6 each to hire! We had the option to wear wet costumes to have our treatments, take our costumes off and then put them back on again or get dressed and then take all our clothes off for the treatments! No shampoo or conditioner only a general body wash in the showers. Two of the treatment rooms are right by the pool so when the door opens anyone swimming can see in. The treatment room we were given was right by the reception and in spite of the relaxing music you could hear every word that was said outside the door. From a man in trying to buy some sort of polo shirt to people asking for towels it certainly did not help you to feel relaxed. The treatments themselves were very good but the staff are fighting an uphill struggle trying to get the spa to feel anything remotely special. You could never give this a five star rating and it is more what I would expect as part of a lcoal council leisure centre.

Room Tip: Nice for a swim if you are staying at the hotel but don't bother if you want a treat as a day ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Karen F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Ocean Rooms Spa at Hilton Glasgow.

I am sorry to hear of your experience on this occasion and I have shared your review with Jamie our Business Development Manager at The Ocean Rooms Spa.

Jamie would be happy to discuss your review further, should you wish, please contact Jamie at jamie@theoceanrooms.com.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.