We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed here in February & came back again in march” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Glasgow to your Saves list
Hilton Glasgow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“We stayed here in February & came back again in march”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We normally don’t revisit hotels as sometimes you can feel let down on a second visit but not at the Hilton. We booked in for a three night stay and had such a good stay we booked an extra night. The best thing is the friendly staff but everything is really good and it is only about 10 minutes to the main shopping area. Would also recommend a visit to the Corinthian Club it is amazing the décor is out of this world. I can’t wait to go back again! The Rogano restaurant is another place worth going to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return stay at the hotel and it's great to hear that you managed to spend an extra night with us!

I would like to thank you for mentioning our team and awarding us full marks, it is always great to be able to share such positive feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Glasgow in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    712
    280
    101
    75
See reviews for
291
705
116
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have just returned from a most enjoyable two night stay at our favourite Glasgow hotel. In true Hilton tradition we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived receiving a warm welcome from Alan (you will be missed along with David!!) efficient check in, being upgraded to the Executive floor as a Diamond HH member to a lovely corner room, and were spoilt rotten by the amazing Isabella in the Executive lounge. Full marks as always to Jeremy and the team at concierge, no request was a problem even down to the use of the Hilton brolley during the rather wet days!! The whole team at the Glasgow Hilton could not do more to make your stay so relaxing, full credit to all.
In conclusion do not have to say any more except keep the good work up, we look forward to our return very soon I hope.

Room Tip: If you have booked a standard room, upgrade to the Executive floor outstanding service from the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return stay at the hotel and in particular, the service you received.

I would also like to thank you for mentioning our team, it is always great to be able to highlight and reward team members specifically.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Glasgow when you return to the city.

Kindest Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We made a reservation online but at the eleventh hour chose to take our teenagers with us.
The hotel’s policy is that under 18’s can have adjoining rooms but not separate room, so phoned the hotel and the girl changed our booking and gave us 50% discount on the adjoining room.
Upon arrival we parked in the hotel car park which is directly underneath via a ticket and barrier system.
This costs £10 per day which is a little steep but it is secure.
We arrived at 1600hrs but the receptionist informed us that sadly our adjoining room had not been serviced but they were in the process of doing it at the time.
A little inconvenient but not worth making a fuss about, so we chose to make use of the pool which was very clean and quiet, along with fully functioning steam room, sauna and jacuzzi.
Back upstairs on the 9th floor, our rooms were clean and spacious with modern decor. The green and brown colour scheme wasn’t to my liking but my family seemed to like it.
A good size bathroom with plenty of towels, good hanging space, relaxing two seater leather sofa and comfortable king size bed. Our teenagers were very happy with their adjoining twin room.
Beware the room fridge is of the type that automatically charges you should you remove something, no good if you wish to chill your own drinks.
We took drinks in the hotel bar which was a bit on the dear side, especially their draft Pimms!
However the bar had a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, decorated with some interesting black and white photographs of Glasgow industrial and shipbuilding past.
A good nights sleep was enjoyed by all thanks to quiet and efficient air conditioning.
In the morning the quantity, variety and quality of the breakfast buffet was most impressive.
Cereals, toast (selection of breads) porridge, sausages, bacon, black-pudding, haggis, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, hash browns, eggs any way you like and pastry’s.
Attentive but not intrusive service for juice, tea and coffee.
Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast and it was obvious that it had not been sitting on the hot press for ages.
In all a very pleasant stay, even though there was a very large function on at the time it was totally unobtrusive.

Room Tip: Book online and join Hilton loyalty scheme
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Glasgow and for the level of detail included in your review.

I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in particular our Livingwell Health Club and our famous Hilton Breakfast.

We completed the refurbishment of a further 3 floors of bedrooms back in May. These rooms are similar in style to the rooms you enjoyed; however, the colour scheme takes on warm tones of claret, cream and brown. Please let me know should you return to the hotel as I would be interested to hear what you thought of the change in colour.

Thanks again,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Really disapointed to have to temper what was going to a write up for a great stay at the Glasgow Hilton by what has happened subsequently.

Our stay itself was great. Top quality service, a lovely large room and a superb breakfast the next morning. However, on first arriving I put a bottle of water in the mini bar and knocked over a couple of cans in the fridge in the process. I then looked up and saw signs saying if you move items in the mini bar you will be charged!! This really irritated me and I was ready to tackle the issue if charged at check out but was pleased that reason prevailed and I was not charged......or so I thought. Now over a month later I have just received my credit card bill to find I have been charged £12 for trying to chill my water. To me this is just a cynical money making ploy that relies on most people just writing off the charge. We won't be going back and I feel a bit sad about that as the rest of the experience was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in particular the service and breakfast.

With regards to our mini bar service, I have passed your comments to our Reception Manager ,Elaine Reid,who would like to request that you contact her through frontoffice.glasgow@hilton.com or alternatively please call [--] to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Good food and service however was disappointed the mini bar wasnt working or stocked.

Prices for drinks is really expensive, mind and pack a few beers...

Rooms are getting a bit tired, a re vamp soon needed. Had a great sleep!

No internet either! Well if you wish to pay £15 per day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGlasgow, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food and service.

All feedback is shared with our team members and it is invaluable in ensuring we maintain our high level of service and standards.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked a room on the 40% off weekend rate deal and were pleasantly impressed with the £70 we paid. Yes we appreciate we had to pay £10 to park but it was at least underground and in a sceure car park so what else would you expect in a big city centre nowadays? We were given a room on the 11th floor which had been recently renovated and all was pretty much perfect except some idiot of a guest must have spent an hour scratching one of the bedside tables. Why? Beggars belief really.

We went swimming in the pool, used the timed spa pool and I had a session in the steam room. All very relaxing.

We then spent the evening in the bar and had one of their trademark seafood pizzas. Very filling and very tasty indeed, althought at £9 a glass of wine was a tad on the steep side.

Bed was comfy and all was quiet until around 6am when a group of noisy guests decided to leave their room early. Again I'd like to stress what can the hotel do about that? They're inconsiderate idiots so unless the hotel has an idiot vetting service on reception what can they do?

Breakfast was again a very pleasant afair with lots of different choices and some attentive staff. Others may have not been as attentive but it was a very busy morning and we got seated quickly and had a very good start to the day.

Anyway, I've saved the best bit 'til last. The door team and in particular Alan did their utmost to make our transit into the hotel as easy as possible. We'd been away for a few days across Scotland with our bikes and they were so helpful in helping us store the bikes and gave us plenty of time out front to get things sorted. Brilliant.

Oh and the lifts...............yes it was a bit of a wait but never 15 minutes. It was never more than three so unless every second of your life is so precious don't let those reviews put you off.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We have been staying here since the hotel opened but certainly reasonably regularly over the last three or four years. We are hilton honours members and HGVC owners and do you think we can ever get an up-grade...................... NEVER!! However, we are booked again for our anniversary in a couple of weeks in and executive room 'cos I know we wont get an up-grade. We do like this hotel, problems with lifts for a long time but pleased to see they are now up-grading. Restaurants................... disappointing. Minsky's at £25 pp nowhere near worth the money, it was years ago bu pretty rubbish offerings now. Carvery meat to sole your shoes with! Camerons....... menu sounds fabulous but when plates arrive they are a little disappointing and bland. Breakfast is great if you get there early. The waitng staff do work hard. Hiltons in general can be hit or miss with food though. (Treetops in Aberdeen - food absolutely RUBBISH) We pop into town to eat. Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, excellent location, 10 minute walk into town. Sort out your restaurants and you'll be quids in!!

Room Tip: Good luck to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and EasyToBook so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.