We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Glasgow to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Party night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent a weekend here (friday and Saturday night) for my partners brothers works night out. Had a fantastic time at this gorgeous hotel. The room was big with a HUGE bed. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet which was amazing. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The only slight downside was the bar on Saturday night at 6pm and only 2 staff were working with quite of few of us round the bar waiting to be served including people who were going to the Saturday party night. We eventually got an apology for the wait but only after 10 mins waiting. Apart from that I look forward to staying at the hotel again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    528
    211
    118
    58
See reviews for
168
502
58
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Crown Plaza for two nights for business and I doubt I will stay there again.
The hotel is located in a beautiful setting but unfortunately this is the only pleasant thing about this hotel.

I arrived at 2 am and parked my car in the car park. I tried to access the hotel from the entrance in the car park but this was closed! I was told that this gets closed at night for security reasons! Therefore I had to walk with all luggage under the rain to access the hotel from the main entrance.
On arrival I was asked to pay for my staying despite the fact that this has been already been paid by my company. Therefore I had to forward to email to the reception as no record was available. As it was 2 am in the morning, this was the last thing I wanted to do.

My package comprised of breakfast and an allowance to spend over dinner. Unfortunately I could not have a full English breakfast as I was told that the eggs were not free range.
No other option was available for vegetarian sausages or any other form of vegetarian food that contained protein. A waste of time and a waste of money.

Dinner was not much better as the only options available for vegetarian were bread, pasta or rice. I could have had a salad but there was no source of protein that could have been added to it of a vegetarian source.
Therefore from the menu it is apparent that no consideration has been placed to quality food (even the Premier Inn and Wheterspoon nowadays have free range eggs!) or healthy and balanced options for people with dietary requirements (as not everyone would want to have a carb feast and have bread and pasta for dinner).

Therefore a very disappointing experience for me from a hotel that I would have expected to offer a much better service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for an overnight while going to the SSE Hydro for the Andre Rieu concert. A few minutes' walk from the hotel to venue, very convenient. Car parking charges at £6.00 per day really reasonable.

Room (two queen beds) was spacious with great views over the river (8th floor).

Staff were courteous and welcoming. Cannot comment on the restaurants as we never ate there.

We had a really pleasant stay and would visit again when staying in Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmilns, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and partner stayed here on 19/12/14 for the Madness concert. Reception staff were lovely and gave us a room with a view.

The room looked and tired and the bathroom needed a good scrub the walls looked as though they had toothpaste splashed up them all and the skirtings were loaded with dust.

There were no robes in the room which stated on the website but after phoning reception they sent some up.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very expensive hotel, not the sort of place I would usually stay, but needed to be close to the Hydro for a Christmas treat for my Dad. The friendly and helpful staff made it a very special trip for him. A big thank you to the staff, particularly Ervin on the front desk. This is a hotel that (perhaps unexpectedly) manages to have a real Glasgow atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am genuinly delighted about what I experienced two weeks ago. I was there at the dinner with my wife and the both our meals and the service were excellent. Especially waitress Suzana was really helpful and kind... I really recommend the hotel restaurant. Service as it should always be. I am looking forward to eating here again. Thank you Suzana you made our day!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my girlfriend as we saw a good deal (£70 for a king size room). We were on the 14th floor which had amazing views of the surrounding areas. There is wifi in the room but it costs so we didn't bother paying for it.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice & clean. Would stay here again if the price was right (would be ideal if you were attending an event at the Hydro/SECC).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor = better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.