We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cup Final Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Glasgow to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cup Final Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here when down watching ICTFC in the cup final so it was understandably busy. Check in is 2pm however arrived at 1.25pm yet thought we would check whether it was possible to check in. Receptionist informed us that our room was not yet ready however she could give us a different room which turned out to be a SUITE. This was an added bonus and made us feel so posh. Went to our suite however it had not yet been cleaned however a quick call to reception and the cleaner appeared and got to work very apologetically. She made a lot of effort and was friendly. Other people could have begun to feel a bit grumpy about the confusion however we knew it was our own fault for being early and the hotel tried very hard to rectify it and to be honest we didn't mind waiting for the bed to be stripped or towels to be changed as it meant we had a lovely suite.

Nice little touches, slippers, dressing gowns, chocolate and mints. Tea and coffee making facilities and lovely chocolate chip shortbread. Room huge and living area of the suite was added bonus. Bathroom clean and tidy and the shower was excellent,didn't want to get out.

Used the leisure facilities very quickly, pity the jacuzzi was out of action but breakdowns happen. Sauna and steam room perfect to relax and pool was well kept and tidy. Used at around 6.30pm on a Saturday night and it was very quiet, us and two others so perfect time if you want a chilled out experience.

Breakfast was excellent, staff very friendly and welcoming. Lots of choice of food and kept me full until tea time. Something to suit everyone, cereal, toast, fry up, fruit, continental choices, and waffles.

A very enjoyable stay and would definitely return. Location perfect as train links directly to centre for reasonable £1.60 return into argyle street. Parking at hotel £6 over night which is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us at the hotel. We are always delighted when our guests let us know that they enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    591
    224
    126
    61
See reviews for
183
556
62
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

this hotel is superb on all levels! the food is great, they serve up big portions at low prices and the accomadation was very clean, and very fancy. The pool, gym and spa area was lovely this hotel really does have alot to offer my only critisism is that due to the location being a little far out from main attractions in glasgow we had to get taxis everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our food offering to be great, which is always pleasing. If we see you again in the future please be aware we are only a few minutes’ walk from the Exhibition Centre Railway Station where you can catch a train into central Glasgow for £1.60 return, I hope this helps to reduce travel costs if you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partners 40th birthday for family and friends and have to say it was fantastic from start to finish. As this was a surprise I had arranged various things to happen on the day................... and they did. All the timings were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. We intended to go into town to celebrate the occassion but the atmosphere in the hotel was so good that we stayed in the hotel bar. The food in the hotel was also excellent and the staff and management could not do enough for amy of their guests (on which appeared to be a very busy night) When booking a surprise there is always a degree of nerves and I can honestly say theses were never needed, my party had an age range from 25 - 62 and everyone loved the experience. I have stayed in many hotels in Glasgow and have to say my stay at this hotel is without a doubt my favourite.

Room Tip: We had a suite which had a seperate living area which was fantastic for what we needed. Excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time whilst at the hotel and I am glad we were able to play a part in your birthday surprise plans running smoothly. It would be great to welcome you back for another lovely stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

we have been here a few times as it is close to the hydro,we arrived for two days 9th and 10th march, room nice but when phoned down to ask about wifi we were told it would be £10 which is ridiculous in this day and age,breakfast was ok, the usual self-service affair where food is left out for goodness how long, i only ever have scrambled egg and tomato, while hubby has the bacon and eggs, the price for both of us is 10p short of £32, also before we left for concert i had small glass of wine and hubby had a bottle of cider £12 so needless to say we only had the one, we are back in glasgow in june but after looking online was surprised to find that the hilton garden was cheaper and free wifi, breakfast and parking also cheaper so thats where we will be going from now on, look out crowne plaza cos a premier inn is being built across the bridge!

Room Tip: we were one the first floor which was good as lifts can be erratic when hotel is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I regret that you found our breakfast overpriced as we endeavour to use the best ingredients and produce in all of our food offerings and dishes are replenished on a regular basis. In regards to the Wi-Fi charges this is something we will be reviewing in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Yet again, the Crowne Plaza Glasgow have excelled themselves in providing support to this year's Chartered Institute of Housing Conference and Exhibition. I enjoyed the facilities of a suite, which was most comfortable and had all the amenities I needed. The hotel also supported meetings for us and a wonderful Conference dinner. Staff were always helpful and attentive - I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the facilities we were able to provide for your conference and that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. We look forward to seeing you again at future conferences at the hotel or even leisure breaks!

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

So we stayed here because of the show we were seeing at the hydro during our Scotland visit.
The place was fine, rooms a bit tired but clean and comfy.
My gripe was the breakfast, we were told it was served until 10.30am, when we arrived after a nice lie in at 10.15am we were told chef had stopped serving breakdfast because the reception staff had made a mistake and breakfast finished at 10am and they had a private lunch to prepare for, however he was willing to serve us if we were quick (and because we had paid for it?). We were not impressed and were stood over whilst we gulped and shovelled our breakfast down and as we were finishing off our toast, tables were being cleaned and sprayed all around us, in the sunshine I could see the droplets of cleaning spray spray wafting over our half eaten toast and tea. Needless to say we beat a hasty retreat, the waiting staff were literally shooing us out of the restaurant at this point. Not sure I will be revisiting this hotel based on this experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with breakfast, I can only apologise for the miscommunication regarding the serving times, however when you did arrive our service should have been the level which should normally be expected of a Crowne Plaza hotel, rest assured I will be carrying out a full investigation to find out why this happened and taking actions to ensure it does not happen again in the future. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Booked this hotel through lastminute.com for a night away for our wedding anniversary. When making the booking I requested a double room and noted that it was our anniversary. This information was not passed to the hotel and lastmintue.com (part of travelocity?) had actually reserved a twin room for us. Obviously, we were very disappointed when we walked into our room and saw two single beds. On phoning the reception and explaining that it was our anniversary they quickly found us a king room despite the hotel being very busy. They also delivered a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. The room itself was attractive with a big, comfy bed, great pillows, plenty of towels and nice dressing gowns. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment which means that the main entrance is closed for the time being but this didn't matter to us. The bar and restaurant looked big and modern but we didn't spend any time in them. The public areas will probably be even better once the refurbishment is complete. I would definitely stay at the Crown Plaza Glasgow again, but would probably book direct with the hotel in future. Perfect location next to the SECC, Hydro etc and a short train ride into the city centre/to the West End from the train station which is about a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ensure hotel knows what type of room you want in advance, especially if booking through a third part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that we were able to rectify the mistake made by the booking company and I hope that this did not affect your anniversary celebrations too much. It is really great to hear your praise for the hotel itself as we have been working hard to minimise the disruption of the refurbishment work which is currently being undertaken. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another great stay with us.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.