We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was a disgrace plain and simple” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Glasgow to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room was a disgrace plain and simple”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with partner for a fight at secc room 1616 offftt what a wreck very bad workmanship loads of wallpaper nearly hanging off the walls a huge 3-4 ft stain on ceiling water damage looks like.
Room very small not worth what we payed .bathroom small cramped and very dated out of ten id give it a 2 very poor id suggest they look at renovating rooms quickly i wont be back till they renovate you get better cleaner and cheaper in city centre si its worth either payin thetaxi or train fare to get to snd from if needed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, I will ensure that the issues you have raised are passed on to the maintenance team to look at. I am however pleased to inform you that we are in the final planning stages of refurbishing the bedroom area of the hotel and I would look forward to welcoming you back to hotel once this has been completed.

Kind Regards

Dominic McVey

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    529
    211
    118
    58
See reviews for
168
503
58
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great hotel for SECC or Hydro only a couple of hundred yards walk . Decent rooms with all amenities you would need, friendly staff , lifts a. Lifts a bit slow and one seemed to be out of commission most of the time. Good choice of buffet breakfast but hot food could be warmer. Good on site parking only £6 per night . Lounge/ bar area a good size and service quick . Very noisy first thing in morning which seemed to be rehearsals at SECC next door

Room Tip: We had king size bed a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will however ensure that in future food at our buffet offering is kept at a higher temperature as to not disappoint. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent hotel with brilliant, helpful and friendly staff! The only downside is the lack of places round about to eat there's only the hotel restaurant-which is a bit on the expensive side or the rotunda nearby. Other than that I can't find fault with it. I have been several times before and I will be returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Crowne Plaza Glasgow. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Me and my girlfriend came here for the weekend and our first impression was that it was nice and clean, staff seemed friendly.
We ordered room service which was quick and efficient and the room was nice, big and cosy.
The location was good as we were going to watch Rangers play and it's a 15 minute walk accross the clyde, but for town centre you will need a taxi which is around £5-£6.
The couple of gripes I had were the fact of no free wi-fi and we certainly weren't going to pay for that as well as the room which I think needs to be sorted as hotels we have stayed at in the past have done this.
Lastly the elevator waiting time can be annoying when wanting to get somewhere, but overall the stay was good and we would return provided there was free Wi-Fi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found your room and meals to your liking. I will be sure to address the WiFi issue and see what can be done for the future. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here on business, a really good walk down the river from the financial district, may be better in the summer but the rain made it too far in February.

Check in average, issues with the systems or so I was told. Wasn't offered breakfast upgrade (had to ask) nor was I directed to room or even told what room number I had, it was of course in the card holder but strange not to be informed.

I have been trying to stay in hotels with pools to have a bit of a swim, this pool however was too busy and badly designed to do anything. A couple of dears hogging the only lane meant no serious swimming could be done.

The room was clean enough, decent size, the entertainment system however was awful, no flat screen, no Sky TV or movies as many of the hotels offer nowadays. Had to use the bar to watch the game which is always my evening entertainment when away midweek on business, the food in the bar was average for the cost. Breakfast was much better.

Most annoying thing is no free wifi for guests, £15 for 24 hours which just isn't good enough in this day and age. Clients need wifi, I can't recall a Glasgow hotel in the past 12 months where wifi hasn't been included and for this reason coupled with the lack of SkySports I won't be back.

Only saving grace was a member of staff who helped me out with a phone charger that I desperately needed to borrow, think it was Joanne who helped me out, my memory isn't great but thank you so much you were really helpful...

All in all an average experience, other hotels do offer far more for your money. Not sure I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay due to a number of factors. I will be sure to discuss your review with our reception team to ensure every courtesy is offered at check in and appropriate measures are taken to inform you of our facilities. I have taken your comments on board and I will discuss these with our team members to see what can be done to improve our hotel. I hope to welcome you back in the future so we can show you what Crowne Plaza Glasgow can offer.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Friday and loved everything about our stay. Staff were friendly, room was very nice, clean and well presented. We used the pool and sauna which was lovely and we'd just missed the kids swimming club so the pool was quiet, thankfully, 'cause that would've bugged me.

Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous, particularly the haggis!! We must've spent 1.5hrs sitting eating, chatting and reading papers and the restaurant, facing river and lovely, large glass front to the hotel, is a very nice way to start your day.

Love the bar area for sitting reading or relaxing with a drink. I like Mojitos, which aren't on the menu but they made me one anyway. It wasn't very good, especially for £8.50. Sort out a decent mojito and you'll make me very happy :-)

We usually book the Radisson, but the Crowne Plaza just became our new favourite. We live locally and book hotels every now and again just to have a nice night in Glasgow without the kids. After this visit I don't want to stay anywhere else next time. It's also super-handy for gigs at SECC, Hydro or Armadillo.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the river. The skyline in that part of Glasgow is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, especially breakfast. I hope to welcome you back very soon for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Arrived at the Crowne Plaza after visiting the SECC for a show. Greeted by the front desk staff who were pleasant enough and did their job but did not feel overly welcomed to the hotel and I feel this is always a good idea to start of the experience. We were allocated our room, which was booked using a last minute website, and told that it was a twin room as this was all they had and in the future if we wanted a double room we would have to phone ahead. As it was last minute we were understanding of this. We went to the second floor and found our room, which had a good view over the Clyde and the facilities were ok. We were undecided what to do for dinner but our minds were soon made up with the level of noise that continued on for some time. Doors banging constantly, people running in and out of rooms and what sounded like a herd of elephants running in the room upstairs!!! After the unbearable noise, we left to go out for dinner and went to Clydebuilt inside the SECC - excellent food, drink and atmosphere by the way. When we returned to the hotel the noise had stopped and we settled in for the night. The quality of sleep was not great - the beds were not the softest I have ever been on and the loud opening and closing of doors began again in the middle of the night so we didn't sleep for long. Then a group of guests had a loud conversation outside our room at 4.40am so no sleep for us again. I realise that the hotel cannot be judged on the other guests in the hotel but its worthy of a mention to describe our sleep. Morning came and we went for breakfast, which was held in a modern and well decorated restaurant on the ground floor. There was a large selection and we were very happy with what was on offer and the quality of food. The staff were very helpful and cheerful and it was the best experience of the trip. On returning to our room and with the aid of daylight, the room appeared to be quite dusty and not entirely clean. We found rubbish on the floor from previous hotel users which had obviously missed during a previous "clean". There was an electronic device in the desk drawer with exposed wires, which had obviously been in there for some time, the shelves above the minibar were dusty and unclean and the general wear and tear was not great. We went to check out and there were no niceties that usually go with checking out - "how was your stay?" or "hope to see you again soon" which can always show that a staff member is interested, fake or not. The car park charge is also a bit much considering we were staying in the hotel. I was very disappointed with the stay, which is a shame because the location is so great and it could be such a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the level of quality of your stay and would like to offer my most sincere apologies. We hope that all our guests experience a restful night with us and I am very sorry to read that this was not the case. In concern to your comments on the cleanliness of your room, this is not the standard we hope our rooms are and I will be discussing your feedback with our housekeeping team. I will also be sure to discuss your point with our reception team.

Once again I would like to apologise for the quality of your stay but I hope that you give us another chance to show you what Crowne Plaza Glasgow can offer. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.