We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Glasgow to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was my second time visiting Glasgow from Manchester and I can't be any happier. Rates were so good during my stay, considering when I made my booking. I'd been recommended to Crowne Plaza by my partner who flies in every week for work. The spa was lovely and the complimentary lunch topped it off for me. Me and the girls went to the bar for a night they had on Saturday with Sugar cube and the music was just to our taste. Perfect location! We visited their actual cub on Sunday for cocktails with the vouchers they gave us. Can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your time with us very much and found our spa to be excellent. I hope to welcome you back very soon for another perfect break.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    527
    211
    117
    58
See reviews for
168
502
58
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

For a hotel I would consider to be on the higher end of of the budget hotel scale I was shocked and appalled at the service and "entertainment" when attending a work Christmas night out recently. Having 4 male members of staff dress up like boy gorge and parade up and down at 9pm just after a meal is unacceptable in a place that should (or used to) have a bit of class. Shocking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your experience at your Christmas night out; we have had tremendous feedback from guests attending our party nights and we do value all comments made. I have discussed your feedback with our entertainment company and have asked them to review the party games with immediate effect. Please be assured that no members of the team participated in the games on the night.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just returned from a break here,would go back again in a jiffy.
Lovely sited hotel on the banks of the Clyde, lovely views over the city and down the river ( depending on your room, even numbers down river, odd numbers short up river stretch and city).
reception staff very friendly and informative, special mention to Donald on the desk. thanks for all your help.

Hotel was clean, and looked very welcoming due to the lay out. Rooms were lovely.

Food was very good, breakfast was buffet style with a few dishes that could be ordered fresh. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, Starter and main for 2 plus a glass of wine for under £30, or other reasonable priced dishes from the selection.

Bar prices reasonable.

All staff very friendly.

Leisure centre very nice, one of the warmest pools we have used, great for relaxing after a day up the town.

Thank you to the ladies in the treatment rooms we both enjoyed our time with Sam & Cheryl. If you do go to the hotel, check out the treatment centre. Its worth it.

Taxis into town and back, never over £7 a trip even when traffic was busy.

Have stayed at other major hotels in the town before , but, found this one to have an edge on its competitors. As previously mentioned, would not hesitate to return.

Thanks for all your hard work, will see you all again soon .

Room Tip: even numbers for down river views, odd for up river towards the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing review of our hotel. I’m delighted to read that your time with us was excellent and thoroughly enjoyable. I hope to welcome you back in the future for another wonderful break.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here to attend Rod Stewart concert in the Hydro. Reception staff were very accommodating and let us check in early as we were also attending the Wedding Show in the SECC. Room was clean and comfortable and very quiet! Fantastic view from our room on the 8th floor looking out to the River Clyde and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay after an event at the Hydro. I am very pleased that you found everything to your liking and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed in Crowne Plaza for around 7 hours on a business trip to Glasgow. Room was clean and comfortable, big TV, toiletries provided and staff were friendly. Complimentary (or at least I hope it was) copy of i in reception in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our anniversary was ruined by this hotel and their attitude towards a young couple. We had chosen to stay here and have a night on the town for dinner and drinks booking a double room and specifically requesting a double at a cost of £155 per night. On arrival I was told by the reception staff that they had no availability for a double room and we would have to make do with 2 single beds!! When I queried this it was dismissed and was told that they unfortunately they had no availability. If I had booked a double room why was it not available when I arrived at 4 pm? To then be told we would have to make do with a single bed was shocking customer care. As we were in a single room we were surrounded by families with young children which then woke us in the morning with crying and also couldn't have been much fun for the family when we returned to our room after our night out. The only saving grace for the hotel on this entire disaster was the older gentleman who worked at reception who was a pleasure and looked genuinely embarrassed by the situation. I do not believe If we were a couple in our 50s or 60s celebrating our anniversary that we would have been told to make do with a single bed! Clearly discriminating as we are in our early 20s and felt they could place us anywhere, I do not understand this attitude towards us and I will not be back to this hotel. I have never left a review for a hotel before and specifically signed up to the site to leave this, wasted our entire evening thanks Crowne Plaze

Room Tip: Any young couple should not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for the experience you had with us on your anniversary. I agree that an anniversary is important whatever the age, and because of this I find it highly unlikely that our team would refuse you a double room if it was available. I am extremely disappointed that you feel we would discriminate a young couple; this is most certainly not the case.

I am unsure as to how you booked your room. If you booked through a third party then, unfortunately, this does not guarantee a double room (this is merely a request). We will always endeavour to accommodate requests for double rooms which have been booked through third party agents however this is not always possible. After reading my reply you still feel unhappy I urge you to email me personally on gm.cpglasgow@qmh-hotels.com so we can discuss this further.

Once again please accept my apologies for the room mix-up and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Shefford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stay at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel staff were very helpful and offered great customer service. In fact all staff from the cleaner on floor 14 to the restaurant staff were all offered great service. Rooms were spacious clean and well equipped. Drinks from the bar were expensive. Hotel is a little far out from the city centre but great for exhibitions

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our team members and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.