We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Glasgow to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good service value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at crowne plaza glasgow as a wee extra when going to a gig on the ferry...very handy for the hydro secc and centre of Glasgow ...when booking this hotel the location an price important.got a good deal with bookings.com for £89..double room river view bed and breakfast...parking prices reasonable staff very friendly ....room large clean and plenty clean towels....however furnishings starting to look bit dated in foyer and room ...Had room service as a bit peckish at 130in morning and a great selection available and very tasty ...breakfast in morning lovely wide selection cereals juices hot and cold buffet..staff more than helpful and efficient ...would definitely stay here again which I am doing for concert in hydro

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything during your extended stay to your liking. I will be sure to share your review with our team members and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    591
    224
    126
    61
See reviews for
183
556
62
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Perfect location for attending an event at the Hydro. Stayed in a suite - excellent for families as there are 2 rooms - 1 bedroom and a bed settee plus access to the club lounge for free continental breakfast plus wine in the evening. Staff from housekeeping and room service were excellent. Fantastic views. Would recommend - love it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that your stay with us was perfect and you found everything to be to your liking. I’m delighted that you would happily recommend us and I will be sure to share your lovely review with our team members. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I suppose we've been coming to and using this hotel for the best part of 30 years. The rooms have, on occasion, looked slightly weather-worn and have that 'lived in' feeling. However, the last two times we have been allocated the same room on the tenth floor looking down the Clyde to the Transport Museum and beyond and it has been terrific both times.

Room 1014 is a family room with two king-sized beds and more pillows than you could ever need. In-room facilities are above average including tea, coffee and hot chocolate and some biccies - what's not to love? We had a couple of laptops and phones and finding a plug was a bit of a job as the 'tower' on the desk was past its best and we couldn't get it to rise to expose the extra sockets we needed. Bathroom was well-stocked.

Breakfast was, as before, terrific. Veggie sausages AND veggie haggis as well as yummy tattie scones, hash browns, perfect eggs and quality baked beans. Coffee was the usual vile hotel offering (one day all hotels will serve proper coffee and will, miraculously, find customer satisfaction with their breakfast experience go through the roof!) The serving staff were lovely.

Negatives are: having to pay for parking and the brown water served with breakfast.

Cost: £111. You could get a better deal than this in the town at Grasshoppers or similar, but the convenience of being so close to the venues was, for us at least, worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and continue to find everything to your liking. I am sorry to read that the water was not to the quality we would hope to serve and I will be looking into this immediately. I hope to welcome you back very soon and you continue to enjoy your time with us.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

On arrival before normal check in time we were recognised as platinum members and given a club room on 15th floor. The room overlooked the river and the Waverly Paddle Steamer was tied up just below for a good photograph, also good views of new Hydro, Armadillo and SECC with transport museum also close by. Room was good and clean and the breakfast had many choices and well presented. A good scottish breakfast. Would stay again.
Easiest way to get into city centre is to walk across the enclosed walkway to the Exhibition Centre Station and pick up the train to Glasgow Central Station or Argyle St with a cost of £1.80 return and takes 5 minute walk from hotel and 7 minute train journey around every 10 minutes or so..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The view from the room was spectacular and the hotel sits right on the Clyde next to the SEC, the Armadillo and the Hydro so it's really convenient. The room was very comfy, if a tiny bit worn, the breakfast was great and the staff excellent. My only gripe was that I couldn't sleep. The pillow was as hard as a block of wood and I couldn't open the window to get any fresh air into the room. Being a country girl who likes her feather pillows this was not good. But fab views, I'll take my own pillow next time.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our rooms to be comfortable and our breakfast excellent. I am very sorry to read that you found it difficult to sleep – when you next stay our team members would only be too happy to offer you an alternative type of pillow. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel has a good location near the SECC in Glasgow - slightly out of the town centre - a good walk or short taxi ride. Just beware the multiple level roads in Glasgow which can confuse a sat-nav. Plenty of parking is available.

Reception can be busy, but the staff are helpful and friendly.

Rooms are a good size, with everything you need - and the views are excellent.

Food is good - but with a price to match. Certainly well worth it if you don't fancy the trip into town. Breakfast is excellent and really sets you up for the day. The staff recommended a number of restaurants in the town - all excellent choices, so hats off to them!

Room Tip: High rooms facing the river have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel with modern clean rooms and stunning views of the Clyde (if you get one of the higher floors). We were given the option of a high or low floor and city or river view for our room which was great to have the choice.
The Head Concierge, Stewart, was extremely helpful in helping print my boarding pass and place my room when I was out for the evening.
Breakfast selection was huge and very tasty.
A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 11th floor with views of the Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your time with us and sending feedback. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I will pass your kind words onto our team members as soon as possible. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.