We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, but tired...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Glasgow to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Chappaqua, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good value, but tired...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

For its location attached to the Conference Center, it's perfect. And its perch on the river is quite nice, with a smashing view of BBC Scotland right across the way. But the facility is a bit dated and tired

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback for us after your stay. I’m pleased our location is perfect for you and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    529
    211
    118
    58
See reviews for
168
503
58
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I was going to a conference at the SECC. There is a covered walkway direct to the conference centre which was great as the weather was very bad. The first room I was given was 419 which was directly behind the lifts a towards the back of the hotel. There was still a view of the Cyde but also a view of the back of the SECC and the bins. I asked to change for a room at the front of the hotel and this was no problem. I was given room 802 which had a lovely view and was much quieter. It is only a short trip, two stops, on the tram from Central Station. The trams are very frequent and only cost £1.60 return to get into the centre of Glasgow. The breakfast had a very good selection of hot and cold food. I would expect fresh fruit salad at a hotel like this but most of it was tinned but the tinned grapefruit was refreshing. I did not find the hot food at all greasy it was very well cooked. There is also food cooked to order so I ordered smoked haddock and poached egg which was excellent. I did not eat at the hotel as it is only a short walk to a restaurant complex with Italian,Thai, Chinese and Japanese food they offer a theatre menu. All in all a good hotel I would stay again only downside - the tinned fruit at breakfast and being charged £10 a day for WIFI which should be free.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers are at the front of the hotel and have better views. Rooms ending in 19 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m very pleased to read that everything during your stay was great and you enjoyed your time with us. I have taken your comments concerning our WiFi on board and this will be discussed at the earliest convenience. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

.....looking through the reviews prior to adding our own, it's hard to believe that we've stayed in the same hotel as other previous complaining guests with adverse comments as we disagree on 95% of their remarks, even though it was evident we'd stayed within days of each other.

We arrived well head of check in time and did not expect our room to be ready however, the girls on reception were completely accommodating as well as Bob the Porter. We were given all details on the hotels facilities including the loyalty scheme which we've accepted and the 20% discount voucher for our lunch & drinks was well received. Thank you.

We were appointed an Executive Suite, for which full price was paid and were not disappointed in our accommodation or the standard of room. We had beautiful views of the city and couldn't have been more comfortable. We have stayed in a number of hotels in the city centre, because that was the location we wanted to be within....hence them being city centre locations!!

Our reason for choosing this hotel however, was a special occasion as well as a Xmas present to my partner and tickets for an evening show in the SECC. And again, delighted with what we received.

Our only drawback, it has to be said, was the lack of available selection of drinks in the Executive Lounge as well as the poor (very) canapés offered. This would have been "okay" if it had not been for the fact that our swipe card would not activate the door to enter the lounge and thus, having to go down 15 floors to have it activated. Without going into detail, we did speak to the Duty Manager to put right, a few remarks we had to give, mostly on customer service training for one individual in the Executive Lounge however, David Meade, the Duty Manager was very professional in the way he handled the situation.

As explained to us on arrival, breakfast in the Executive Lounge would be limited to continental, we opted to head down stairs for a wider selection. Arriving at 11.20am we did think we would receive the last of the buffet, however, were pleasantly surprised and certainly set us up for a hearty day.

So all in all the full experience was a positive and will we be back??? Absolutely and although David Meade deserves time off, it would be good to see him again too :)

Room Tip: High floored suites on the corners of the hotel have fantastic views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us a great deal and found our hotel to be comfortable and our tea members efficient and polite. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Dropped into your hotel today for lunch between meetings at the SECC.

After ordering, I tried to check email on my iPad. On trying to connect to your wi fi network I was met with the following message....

If you don't have credentials, please ask the front desk.

Not surprisingly, when I asked your front desk for some credentials they had no idea what I was talking about. However, they did tell me that there was a cost to accessing the Internet.

Do you really think it is acceptable to charge for wi fi access when I am already buying lunch? #ripoff

Given that a credential is an attestation of qualification, competence, or authority, do you think it is appropriate to ask your guests if they have credentials?

Dr Jim Hamill

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Drjimhamill,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the internet charges. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for Olly Murs concert 16/03/2013 and could only praise this hotel. The only thing was the wait for the lift as one was out of order as we were on the 12th floor. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us while attending a concert at the SECC. I am extremely happy to read that you would not hesitate to return and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this as a birthday treat for my wife, when we checked in we as Priority members we got a free upgrade when the receptionist told me what the price was, I mentioned that it wasn't chargeable as it was booked with my points, she then insisted that it wasn't, to be honest I was less than pleased with her attitude. She gave me the pass key to the room and said that she would again check it out, I was only in the room a matter of minutes when I got a call from the desk, to be told that I was correct that it was a free stay pre-booked well in advance.....just as well I didn't wait for a sorry for the mix up as it never came. So apart from that we loved our stay room was fantastic and the view over the city stunning, loved the bar, but not the prices, loved the breakfast wide selection for every taste.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time with us. I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be satisfactory. I would like to extend my apologies for the incident when you checked in and although I’m happy it was sorted out, I’m sorry you didn’t receive an apology for the mix up. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A very good standard of business hotel, good Location and good car park.

I stayed on the 16th floor and made use of the excellent facilities in the Club Lounge.

The meal in the evening was more than adequate and the breakfast was up to standard.

The room had everything that I needed, except....

Please Crowne Plaza group, get up to date and let's have free wifi in the hotel, especially if we've paid to upgrade...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your business stay with our hotel. I am pleased to read that you were impressed with our hotel and found it to have everything you needed. Your comments concerning our WiFi have been noted and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.