We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and bright reception area but the rooms are disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Glasgow City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Somerset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and bright reception area but the rooms are disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed recently for two nights on business. The reception is bright and inviting but this stops when you get out of the lift and see the dowdy decor and grotty corridor carpets. The rooms are very small and you sit on the bed to use the desk as there is no room to use the provided stool. The TV picture was fuzzy and there is only a limited range of channels. The bathroom was OK but the shower was rather feeble and the shower curtain did a poor job. My colleague had a cracked sink in his room. The windows were filthy and it was impossible to open them to get any fresh air. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. Breakfast was a disappointing buffet although you could order freshly cooked poached eggs. The "fried" eggs were especially poor (they were hard both mornings) and I saw people frequently asking for items that had run out. All in all, this was the worst hotel that I have used in Glasgow to date and that includes the soulless Holiday Inn Express. The Mercure is way overpriced for what you get and I shan't be going back there.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room either (a) change hotels or (b) specify room not on Ingram St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel failed to meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team and we will implement changes where we can to improve.

With regards to breakfast, I have passed on your comments to the food and beverage department so they also can ensure the buffet is always topped up and ample for guests to select from. Additionally, we can provide a table service with choices made from the menu if so desired.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off staying at other Mercure properties in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    168
    156
    61
    22
See reviews for
35
193
46
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

had a fantastic stay here. enjoyed everything about my visit. the offsite parking is good value at £6 a day.
our room though small was very good, and the bed was very comfortable.
the breakfast was very good. there was not a massive choice, like some other hotels, but what there was, was excellent, especially the cooked breakfast.
my wife and i loved having a drink and relaxing, watching everyone go past.
all in all a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and had everything that you needed.

It was great that you enjoyed breakfast and I do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

very clean.staff friendly.excellent location.very friendly check in and out.restaurant looked very nice , but did not use.close to george square and merchant city which as some great bars and places to eat.







  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the hotel.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable during your time with us. The hotel certainly has an ideal location within the Merchant City area of town, very handy for all the local amenities.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for five nights, it is well located in the city centre towards the edge of the Merchant City area.
The hotel was very reasonably priced for the location during a popular week, I had thought that because this hotel was one of the few not fully booked that it would be at the lower end, but none of it; it was actually a pleasant stay.
As some other reviewers have said the rooms show some edge signs of wear and are rather small, you need to watch your elbows and feet .... but they were also much cleaner and comfortable than many of the more expensive hotels in the area that I have used previously.
What made the visit for me was the absolute helpulness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble (despite my repeated secretarial / business office requirements at all hours) and they dealt with all my multiple room lock-outs in good part.
The restaurant / breakfast offerings were well prepared and of good quality.
All in all an excellent hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable during your time with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will ensure I share this with the rest of the team.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we wanted a fairly cheap but nice hotel in the city centre. That is exactly what we got. The decor in the corridor upstairs was a little dated but the rooms were lovely and appear to have been refurbished. The staff were excellent. They let us store up bikes overnight and our luggage the next day. We had to move room due to a leak and this was handled extremely well with complimentary drinks whilst we waited for an alternative room. The alternative room was a Suite - more than we had paid for! And the cost of car parking was knocked off for us too. Although £6 for 24 hours is pretty reasonable anyway. Overall a nice hotel for a very reasonable cost and excellent customer service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the issue you had was well handled.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ideally situated in the centre of Glasgow.

Room was very small but as I was on my own, this was not an issue. Bathroom was a good size and well equipped. Tea and coffee making facilities and a safe were available in the room.

There is a charge for wi fi which is a bit old hat these days with many hotels offering free wi fi.

Breakfast was very good.

The downside was noise. My room faced to the front of the hotel and seemed to be on a main bus route so there was constant noise as they pulled away from traffic lights adjacent to the hotel. The hotel corridors/bedroom doors are noisy and disturbed my sleep. The bed itself was comfortable enough however and the room was clean.

All in all, not too bad a hotel provided you're not spending too much time in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry that your stay was spoiled by noise, sometimes the downside of a city centre location.

Standard Wi-Fi is provided free of charge througout the hotel including the bedrooms. Charges will apply for premium Wi-Fi which is available if a faster connection is required.

I do hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on business.

Staff on check in, check out and breakfast were very efficient and friendly. The staff member who was on the reception desk on my check out was very polite (at 5.45am) and ensured i had a taxi for the airport booked.

The room was OK. If you are offered room 516 decline it as its next to the lift shaft and all you will hear all night is the lifts going up and down.

The room was clean and tidy but very small. I had to climb into the chair at the desk as there wasnt enough room to get the chair from under the desk to use my laptop due to the bed up against it.

Comes with standard T&C making facilities, iron and trouser press which was handy.

Breakfast was spot on and freshly made.

Good location to the train station, main retail areas and bus stop. Art gallery is on the door step.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Thanks to a recent refurbishment, Ramada Glasgow City features 91 modern new bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A new cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.