We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Belhaven Hotel to your Saves list
The Belhaven Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Luton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Location and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night and I would recommend this hotel for a short stay if you are visiting the West End in Glasgow, The staff were very professional and helpful. The rooms are tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    112
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
86
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Great value, great room with bags of space, great atmosphere and very friendly efficient service. A bit of a sentimental visit for my wife as she used to live in a flat in Belhaven Terrace in the 70s!

The breakfast was the best we've had in a hotel for years and we stay in a lot of hotels. The scrambled egg was particularly good (not good GREAT!).

Will definitely stay here again, can't fault the place at all. :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the good reviews but was really disappointed. I also booked because it said free parking. There was no parking at the hotel. It was left to the free for all in the street outside which was full every night. The room size was generous with adequate furniture but not of any style which you expect from a 'boutique' hotel. No nice little products - soap dispensers on the wall like you would find in public amenities. Although there was a cafe downstairs to not be able to make tea and coffee in your room these days is an utter pain. Not the quaint little place expected from the pictures or reviews. Staff were pleasant and location fantastically handy to the West End but not the experience we were hoping for.

Room Tip: Rooms at front get lots of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalBelhaven, General Manager at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a reply on Trip Advisor.

Parking is always available at the hotel. If you can't get parked on the Terrace there is always a space across the street or in any of the side streets near the area. We can always find you a space no more than a couple of minutes walk away. Staff are always available to provide advice on where to park. The whole area is free and there are no parking meters. The west end of Glasgow is generally very tight with parking with narrow streets but as locals we can always find you a spot!

Unfortunately we do not offer little soap and shampoo bottles however these items are available in dispensers in the bathroom. I understand bottles may look aestically pleasing however we feel the dispensers do the job just as well and provide a generous amount of product per bathroom rather than being limited to a 20ml bottle.

As previously mentioned tea/coffee facilities are available in your room for an additional £3.50 per day. Please request at check-in or by email. Otherwise you can choose this option via our website when booking online.

We are a fantastic hotel with great service located in the perfect spot for Glasgow. We have received good reviews because of that. I am disappointed we didn't meet your expectations and I feel it is due to the lack of information before booking. We will look at our 3rd party engines and ensure our facilities and services are correctly listed.

Thank you,
Bal Sandhu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here on a 3 day business trip, and was happy with the experience. It's close to the university party of town, which was fun. Very friendly staff! There are a lot of stairs as some other guests have mentioned, but I actually liked this as it added to the atmosphere. The room was nice enough, and big, with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Beautiful building and great location, just across from the Botanic Gardens, round the corner to Byres Road - plenty of bars, shops, cafes, restaurants etc. The West End is a great place to stay for the city centre, only 2.60 on the subway into Glasgow return or day ticket.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast was yummy, can recommend the Porridge with berries and the full with egg, bacon, mushrooms, sausage, black pudding, tomato etc - my partner had it both mornings. Lovely room up at the top (Rm 17), although the stairs up are a bit of a trek and redecoration was ongoing. The view was out to the side of the building, end of the terrace and had to turn the radiator off even in November as it was still pretty mild out. Luxury bathroom.

I had requested tea making facilities after reading other reviews, which thankfully was in our room on arrival, can't go long without a cup of tea so was very grateful - but beware, it did cost us 7.00 on departure, still worth every penny though especially as I got the ensuite double with breakfast for 2 nights at the amazing 146.00 - Tripadvisor rate.

Well done Belhaven, we will definitely be back next time we are visiting my daughter who lives nearby in Thornwood, look forward to coming back to the West End again CHEERS x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had an Interview in Glasgow las week and the University booked a room in the Belhaven hotel for my 3 nights stay. The area is very nice, near the University which is a fantastic area for sightseeing and for amenities. The hotel is esplendid, the rooms are nicely decorated and have plenty of space. I loved the victorian style of the house!
The management of the hotel is fantastic. Thanks to the manager, Bal, I did not get lost in Glasgow! He is very helpful!
I recommend this hotel to all of you who want to have a fantastic and confortable stay for a good price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I will definitely be staying at the Belhaven Hotel when I next come to Glasgow. Beautiful location with great bars and restaurants and museums nearby. Everyone was super friendly especially the gorgeous and well-dressed Manager Bal who was also incredibly gracious and knowledgeable. I happened to be upgraded to the biggest room which was enormous and very grand indeed. Breakfast was fantastic. Cleanliness superb throughout. Well worth the £60 I paid! I do agree with others that having tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be a nice added touch, but would have asked for it if I really wanted it!

Room Tip: Ask for room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belhaven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.