We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little find, perfect location for West end or City Centre...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Argyll Hotel to your Saves list
Argyll Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good little find, perfect location for West end or City Centre...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were looking for somewhere to stay for one night, at pretty short notice and we booked this hotel on the British Airways website and we got a better deal with B.A than with Laterooms etc. The hotel is a great location for either the city centre/West End and Kelvingrove Park/Art Galleries.

The young lady at reception could not be more helpful and provided us with all the information we required.

The rooms themselves were clean and cosy, with fresh decor and we had a nice breakfast (cereals and cooked breakfasts) the following morning. The staff in the breakfast area were very efficient and made sure we had enough tea's and coffees. Good service by the staff here.

We had a room at the back of the hotel, which was ideal. No complaints and this hotel was perfect for our requirements.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    168
    69
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
131
71
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A much maligned town, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Argyll Hotel is well located for both the West End and the City Centre of Glasgow. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and breakfast were both of a high standard. The rooms are a bit heavy on the tartan but this isn't really a problem as they were spacious with lovely high ceilings. We stayed on a Saturday night and found the noise on the road outside was a bit loud, so if you want a really good night's sleep best to ask for a room at the back. I can't fault the hotel though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I found myself in glasgow with nowhere to stay had rushed up as my grandfather was critical in the western hospital. Had gone with my mother and 2 my two kids 11mths and 3yrs old. A relative recommended somewhere to stay but when I got there it was awful so found myself parked outside the Argyll hotel at 5.30 pm with one screaming baby and a sleeping toddler (my mum stayed at the other place) quickly ran in and asked if they had any rooms after the last place I decided to ask about the room. lady offered to show it to me before I booked then offered to help me get the kids in. or any bags. room was great for kids they had room to play in the morning and had a lovely bath. Only thing I could fault was would be nice to have bottled water in the room and perhaps a little stool as my son is potty trained but i had to lift him on the toilet as he was to short !!! Would highly recommend for people who find them selfs needing to go there for hospital as staff really friendly breakfast lady even offered to help me get breakfast as I was on my own with two wee ones.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Stayed one night after our daughter's graduation, room was very good value for money and clean, staff were helpful and buffet breakfast was excellent. Huge room with kingsize and 2 single beds! Arrived late and left after breakfast so not much time to use the facilities but would recommend it to anyone on a short break as great base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Last minute stay at this hotel in the Gaeltachd quarter of Glasgow, The rooms were decked out in the tartan of various clans with the history of the clan explained on the bedroom wall. Room was clean with plenty of facilities. The bathroom was a bit tired but overall this hotel is good value for money. A good idea would be to market the rooms in the various clans that they depict, room 208 Macpherson Room 210 Buchanan thus would appeal to the tourist market.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Having spent a lot of time checking out hotels in this area of Glasgow, we decided on the Argyll because of value for money,location and generally good reviews as well as pleasing pictures on the website..It turned out to be less of an hotel -more of a rambling B& B from a bygone era.Our room on the 3rd floor was very small although the beds were comfortable if a bit sparsely covered.There was a hairdryer,radio ,phone TV and tea/coffee making facilities which was nice.The big downer was our bathroom which had a distinctly unpleasant odour ,sending me post haste to the nearest Yankee Candle Store to buy an anti-pong spray ,and the carpet had several stains on it..The lift also had an unidentifiable but unpleasant odour (dirty mop??).Also the bath had not been properly cleaned.
The plus side was the hearty breakfast served by pleasant staff and it was of an undeniably high standard with a wide choice.I agree with another reviewer who like myself noticed layers of dust in this area but that was not beyond our powers of endurance.
The location was perfect for access to city centre ,university area ,museums and the airport bus stops outside the door.The staff were most obliging in minding our bags after we checked out allowing us to spend time down town,
Not the worst place I have stayed in but it charges the same as other more modern city centre hotels which offer bigger and cleaner rooms.I think the Argyll would do well to update its rooms and install a chief housekeeper with more exacting standards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, Marketing Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
I am sorry that your stay was unfavourable; had you reported this to Reception, we would have been able to give you another room. We are currently renovating the 3 & 4th floor and we apologize for the inconvenience. In the future, please inform reception of any problems so they have the opportunity to correct the problem at hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I have stayed here a few times on business. The rooms have ranged from OK, to very good for the price. The rooms in the hotel are a bit nicer than those in the guest house across the road (same owners). Breakfast is in the restaurant downstairs from the hotel and is the nicest breakfast I have had in any of the local hotel / B&B's in a similar price range - recommended. Staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#37 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.