We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argyll Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argyll Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed in a few West End hotels and I simply cannot fault this hotel for value- only £40 for a single inc breakfast, and breakfast was very good. Parking is free after six on the main road too.

I'd happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    153
    63
    15
    11
See reviews for
41
119
70
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

3 year running I have stayed at the argyle hotel in October this year I joined in there murder mistery night which was by far the best I have been to, they even had musicians between the acts while the food was being served ! Definitely recomended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed with 3 Friends while we were working at the SECC, it was absolutely brilliant! always vary clean and with a nice fragrance. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful buffet breakfast lots of variety to pic from. and great restaurant menu.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have given this hotel 5 in the ratings. That does not mean that it is a five star hotel - it is a 3 star hotel. However it is an excellent 3 star hotel. It is in a great location, it is reasonably priced, it is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. In addition there is a bar in the basement, 24 hour reception and there is free Wi fi. My aunt, 3 cousins and myself stayed there recently. We booked 4 single rooms, but in fact the other 3 were all allocated 3 double rooms. All of the rooms are en suite and the double rooms had a bath as well as a shower. They were at the back of the building so they were very quiet. I had a single room on the third floor, but there is a lift for those who don't like to climb stairs. I didn't have a bath, but the shower was very good. Although it was at the front of the building I slept with the window open and was not bothered by some street noise. In all honesty the decor is a bit dated, but again I stress that it is 3 star, very clean and there is everything you need. If I was really picky I could add that my pillows were not very comfortable and my bed was a bit too firm for my liking. However, I suspect that most people prefer a firm bed. I still slept fine. I was however disappointed with the breakfast which is a buffet. I though that the sausages and mushrooms were not sufficiently cooked. I suspect that the mushrooms were tinned, but if they had been fried or cooked in butter they would have been fine. The sausages were mushy and not cooked well enough for my liking. I wasn't fussed on the scrambled egg either, but the hotel cooks fried, poached or boiled eggs to order. My aunt had the boiled egg twice and my cousin a poached egg and agreed that they were perfect. There is an abundance of fresh toast. The fruit salad is tinned too and I would have preferred fresh, but it may not be cost effective. Overall, if you are having a break in Glasgow I would definitely recommend this hotel. I would also recommend Glasgow. The shops are great and there is a lot to do and see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed with two friends at The Argyll Hotel and could not fault it. Excellent central heating and lots of hot water always. Very helpful staff, lovely breakfast staff and plentiful breakfast with porridge cooked to order. The Argyll is perfectly situated for easy walking into Glasgow Centre and the SECC, and on the Tour Bus route with stop 20 just across the road. The Taliki Greek restaurant is a few yards along on the other side of the road where the food and jolly service was wonderful. Five minutes walk around the corner was an Italian restaurant, Larmora, which also was excellent. Unfortunately the restaurant at The Argyll was closed when we stayed. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Front rooms are onto a main road, so light sleepers might need to consider taking earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife booked this hotel for our holidays, when we got there it was amazing, really friendly and caring staff.
The room was lovely and clean and the whole place was decorated really nicely.
We will definitely be back, I recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry Northern Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were visiting our son who has now moved to Glasgow and wanted a hotel close to him. On the website the rooms looked really spacious but on being given our key we found we were on the bottom floor looking out to a wall. The room was cramped and the bathroom although clean was in serious need of updating. We were also asked to pay for the room upfront which we have never been asked to before. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.