We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Bistro

Black Sheep Bistro
10 Clarendon Street | St George's Cross, Glasgow G20 7QD, Scotland (West End)
01413331435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Normal food, good portions and fair prices. Owned and staffed by a family.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have lived in Glasgow all my life and had never heard of this place which is such a shame because it really is a hidden gem.
Saw the good tripadvisor reviews and booked a table for 5 of us ( including a 4 year old )
Small intimate restaurant, nice decor, just 7 tables.
Service was great, nice and relaxed, friendly chatty staff who were great with the little one.
Food was amazing - great quality, fansatically cooked, with huge portions. The sharing dessert platter is a must! Between the 5 of us we couldn't even get near to finishing it, but we were kindly offered to take the rest home.
Great value for most, very reasonable, will definately be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    91
    39
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had lunch some friends the other day.
The food was not very good, portion size disguises poor cooking
The dining room was dusty and dirty

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Don't under-estimate the rave reviews for the Black Sheep. There is nothing to fault - lovely atmosphere, friendly efficient staff...and then there'e the menu. The food was excellent...really didn't know what to have as all the food coming out of the kitchen looked amazing as we were trying to decide. Must recommend the black pudding/poached egg starter....I had the sirloin steak and my good lady wife had the Balmoral chicken...followed by a trio of desserts. We had a bottle of wine too....all for 60 quid. You really got to try this palce...then tell all your friend...which is what we'll be doing. Looking forward to a return visit very soon. Mo and Al :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great homely scottish cuisine that doesnt break the bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

great place, great food, reasonably price wine and some nice ales, great service, but always busy so need to book days in advance

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fab meal had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal here. Staff very friendly. I had a steak & it was definitely up there with the best. A real gem which has everything, great food, staff & atmosphere

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Bistro also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Black Sheep Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.