We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best steak pie ever.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Bistro

Black Sheep Bistro
10 Clarendon Street | St George's Cross, Glasgow G20 7QD, Scotland (West End)
+44 141 333 1435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Normal food, good portions and fair prices. Owned and staffed by a family.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best steak pie ever.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

last night the 5th of nov, I ate here for the first of what will be many occasions I am sure of that. the food was simple home made magic. I had the haggis starter and to be honest I was pretty full by the time I finished , as others have said the portions here are huge and the food spot on so unless you have incredible will power you will want to clear your plate, I did , in fact all four of us who where around the table cleared our plates , for the main course I stuck with the old favourite steak pie, its was superb. again the portion size was gigantic, but the taste was such I once again forced myself to clear the plate, all washed down with a very nice bottle or two of the house white wine, the atmosphere was such that the evening like the wine flowed by at a lovely unrushed pace and it meant we never felt rushed at all.
then it was puddings.......suffice to say we shouldn't have , but we did and the puff candy ice cream creation is the best pudding I've ever tasted .
To sum up ,the homely unpretentious surroundings mean this shouldnt be considered a fine dining experience, so no need for the posh togs and the cutlery might not have been the finest silver , BUT what it was, perhaps one of the best meals I've ever had.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel1265, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
thank you so much for your lovely review , we are really pleased you had a great meal and enjoyed your night at the Black Sheep , hope to see you soon and if it helps you manage 3 courses just tell Claire to tell me to go easy on the veg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    111
    47
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

great food, great value, fantastic service, definitely will be returning in the future.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel1265, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
hi , thank you for the great review and we are really pleased we are ticking all the boxes that are needed for a good meal out, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were staying one night in the area and found the excellent Tripadvisor reviews so booked a table. We weren't disappointed! What a lovely little place. A warm welcome, great choice on the menu, wonderful food, lovely wine and beer. Only problem? We didn't have room to try a dessert. There is on street parking if you need it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel1265, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Hi , thank you so much for your lovely review and we were glad you choose our wee bistro on your stopover in Glasgow and yes the onstreet parking is a real bonus at the restaurant although metered until 6pm the cost is reasonable at £1.60 for 3 hours , a bargain compared to the city centre , hope you return sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Visited on a damp cold Thursday night. The single roomed bistro, situated just after St George's Cross off Maryhill Road, is small but warm and inviting with simple but tasteful decor. Arrived around 30 mins early for our booking but server already had our table ready with that days menu and directed us to the specials.

I had the sea bream with new potatos, pancetta and sauce vierge and my companion a lasagne with chips and side salad. The fish was moist, crisp skinned and flavourful atop a bed of soft tasty new potatos with salty pancetta scattered amongst them. The sauce vierge adding a little bite to the mix. The already large portion was accompanied with a side of broccoli and asparagus, both cooked to perfection. My companions lasagne was an unctious slab of melting goodness, the chips homemade and twice fried with crisp outside and fluffy innards. Bring a large appetite because the portions are substantial and you'll want to finish them. I still had room for a slab of delicious banoffee and pecan pie accompanied by macaroon ice cream. Again it was fabulous. I also had a really pleasant shiraz and my companion a lark soft drink. All this was brought by a thoroughly efficient but very friendly server and the whole experience was a lovely way to unwind after work.

I can see why the Black Sheep Bostro is doing so well, the menu is peppered with comfort food classics, the cooking is excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and welcoming. And the prices, for very accomplished cooking, are extremely affordable. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The hearty flavours of Scotlands home made food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

A mature and graceful Claire greeted us upon entry to this delightfully simple little bistro.
The starters were scotch broth, which was probably the best I have ever tasted, and smoked salmon on a potato rosti, with a creamy Mayo enhanced with a hint of mustard, on a bed of wild rocket leaves- Delicious!
Next, my friend opted for the steak pie and I tried the beef olives. The steak pie was rich with flavour and plenty of tender meat, the beef olives were execptional. Both main courses were served with mash potatoes, turnip and gravy. We both had the meringue and ice-cream desert, it's not for the faint-hearted. Be ready to indulge yourself in a delicious mountain of meringue, ice-cream, toffee sauce and sugar candie pieces

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel1265, Manager at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Hi , thank you so much for your fantastic review , we are happy you enjoyed your traditional scottish meal and Claire was very flattered at your comments , hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Bistro also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Black Sheep Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.