We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu with lots of good choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cail Bruich

Cail Bruich
725 Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8QX, Scotland (West End)
+44 141 334 6265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $91
Cuisines: French, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: 2 AA Rosette 2012/13, Scotland's Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year 2014 (Food Awards Scotland), Michelin Guide Recommendation 2012/13, Winner Entertainment Awards Scotland 2013 Best Restaurant, Nominated Scottish Restaurant Awards, Best Use of Social Media. Cail Bruich is located in the bohemian district of the city's west end, adjacent the hinterland of the Glasgow Botanical Gardens.Under the guidance of chef patron Chris Charalambous we offer a range menus adhering to our principled aim of seasonality and freshness. Our respect for Scottish food and a passion for evoking that special dining experience for our customers mark our uniqueness in our industry.
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great menu with lots of good choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was taken to Cail Bruich for dinner on a Sunday night by my customer a local Glasweigen. Arriving just before 6pm the place was empty but it filled rapidly from 7pm.

The menu offers a fantastic selection of food making selection quite difficult. The complimentry Haggis balls are to die for, the Scallop starter brilliant and the Beef Wellington a Monty. I could not fault the food or service and thoroughly enjoyed the whole night.

My only recommendation is to go back and try more options from the menu. Hope it's soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello Steve,

Thank you for the excellent review. I really appreciate you taking the time. I'm glad we were able to deliver a great experience and I hope we get the chance to show you it's a consistent performance upon your next visit.

Hope you can come back again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    75
    26
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is fantastic, from food to service. Best meal ever. Chef is fantastic, ingredients brilliant, taste superb. Wine recommendations were spot on. Cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello NigMow

Thank you for the review. Short, sweet and to the point! As for the best meal ever that's very kind feedback, I certainly hope I can live up to the same standard upon your next visit.

Let us know when you are next coming in.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Refined, well-priced food does exist in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Glasgow restaurant scene suffers badly in comparison with Edinburgh - where are the pretenders to Castle Terrace, Martin Wishart, The Kitchen, Plumed Horse etc. tried the Chandon d'or and found it lacking? Ubiquitous Chip a bit too hit-and-miss. Go to Cail Bruich for great food and service from a rising start of a chef.

The morning had not started well as we received a call from Isabella explaining that a German film crew were coming to film in the kitchens and there may be some disturbance, did we want to rebook for another time? We were the only lunchtime booking on a quiet Tuesday so they were thinking of not doing service if we wanted to reschedule. Unfortunately this was not an option for us as the date was one of those alignment of the stars where childminding, quiet day work-wise etc made a trip through to Glasgow possible.

So, it was with a slight foreboding that we travelled on the subway to the west end. Upon arrival at Cail bruich we need not have worried, Isabella settled us into our table with a very accomodating Glasgow charm (my wife is Glaswegian and frequently points out the west coast/east coast split on this and there does appear to me some evidence for this!). A bellini aperitif sharpened the palate nicely for the freshly-baked bread

The 4 course tasting menu was excellent: crab in filo pastry with heritage tomatoes accompanied by a Domaine Wachau GV, grey mullet and smoked haddock with a curry sauce came with an unoaked Chardonnay (Amayna, Chile) partridge cooked very moist and tender with turnip puree with a surprising match for me of a cab franc from (I think) Fruili and finally a Valrhona manjari chocolate and salted caramel ice cream dessert where two wines were poured for our consideration; a tawny port from Quinta de Ventozelo and a ‘Ambre’, Rivesaltes, Domaine Cazes. For me the tawny port just shaved it as a match.

The German film crew arrived about halfway through the meal and rather than disturbance, enhanced the experience as a German celebrity (?) chef in white tunic and kilt went through to the kitchen with the head chef Chris (son of Isabella)to do some cooking. I did hear quite a lot of talk of saurkraut but I think he was joking about that as an option.

So, a lovely meal and a nice way to spend an otherwise drab late-September Tuesday. Cail Bruich is getting excellent TA reviews and not just the voucher crowd. I would definitely go back for the bold and inventive food and excellent and well priced tasting menus, warm welcome and decently priced wine list with a good selection by glass and also 75cl measures.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for leaving us such a great and very detailed review!

I'm pleased you enjoyed the experience, that was quite an unusual day but a fun one nonetheless! Happy to hear that it won't put you off returning. Please let us know when you are coming back and if there's anything we can do to help you can be sure we'll do our best.

Thanks again,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on tour
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very fancy set menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Food excellent. Great 3 course market menu. Early on a Tuesday so very quiet and not the atmosphere you would get when it was busy. Ox cheek melt in the mouth and hake lovely. Wine very nice but quite pricey add on to set menu for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hello Kanga,

Thank you for leaving us a great review. Pleased you enjoyed the food. Please stop by again perhaps in the evening if a busier atmosphere is more to your liking. We'll look into the price of the wine and see what we can do there. The wines we buy in are of a very good quality however.

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Slow lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Visiting Glasgow, I was treated to lunch in this lovely restaurant. The 4 course tasting menu with 4 different wines included: a delicious sample of the a la carte menu, with the wines matching almost perfectly. I would recommend it as a lovely treat when in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello PiperArt

Thank you for coming to see us during your recent trip to Glasgow. I'm very happy that you enjoyed the food and matching wines of the 4 course tasting menu. We also have a 7 course menu with different dishes again that you might enjoy on your next visit.

Please do stop by when you are next in Glasgow.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cail Bruich also viewed

 

Been to Cail Bruich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cail Bruich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.