We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glimpse of early 20th century life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenement House

Tenement House
145 Buccleuch St. | Garnethill, Glasgow G3 6QN, Scotland
44-141-332-9368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 127 Attractions in Glasgow
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tenement House provides a rare glimpse into life in Glasgow in the early 20th century, in the faithfully restored four-room house lived in by Miss Agnes Toward for over half a century. See what it meant to be an 'independent woman' in the first half of the 20th century; experience how ordinary folk lived, and appreciate how many of the household amenities we now take for granted were considered luxuries less than a century ago. Authentic gas lighting has been installed to recreate the atmosphere of the house, which didn't have electric lighting until 1960. An exhibition on the ground floor makes the most of Miss Toward's extensive personal archive, providing a valuable time capsule for visitors today.
Monroe Twp., NJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Glimpse of early 20th century life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This little apartment is the well preserved home of a clerical worker and her mother. Most of the furnishings and items are original. It truly provided a glimpse into the every day life of the average person living in Glasgow. It was not a slum, by any means, but rather quite comfortable.
The bedroom closet was a new feature for me to see. The property is in the Scottish Trust.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

National Trust property so if you are not a member be prepared to pay but it is worth the long uphill trek to get there. Basically the preserved home of a former Glasgow clerical worker but the surprise is the obvious culture, comfort and style that this lady enjoyed. The expectation that 'tenement' means 'slum' is rapidly punctured by the period elegance of what is actually a really attractive apartment. A different side to Glasgow's social history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well worth a visit. Very interesting and very helpful staff. Amazing how this has been preserved to give us a glimpse of life not that long ago.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Glasgow Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A Scottish Trust property which is well worth the effort of a visit. It is a great insight into what a house would have been like in the early 20th century. The guides in the museum were very well informed on the history and workings of the house, they welcome questions as their knowledge certainly added to the experience. The rooms were quite dark, but this just added to the experience of a former middle class tenement house which would have been lit by gaslight. It was very interesting and being of a certain age (late 50s) it was amazing how many things that I remembered. The tenement is only open certain days and times so check before you go. The entrance fee of £6.50 per adult does seem seem very pricy, but as National Trust members the admission was free, however I would still recommend a visit to this very well preserved tenement.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“must see!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's taken us years to visit this lovely old tenement house and i'm so glad we did!! Only wish i'd done it sooner!!
it was a great afternoon out, i can't wait until my daughters a bit older to take her to see it. Although i'm only 38 years old i still found this visit very interesting, just to see how they lived in the olden days was very fascinating and to see the old decor just as it was back then.
I've also taken older relatives who visit Glasgow to see the house and they also love it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement House also viewed

 

Been to Tenement House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenement House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.