We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Central Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel close to the main shopping area and Central station in Glasgow. Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast the next morning. Excellent service from staff. The one downside is that the entrance doors are not automatic (difficult if you have large bags) and you also the have to key in through another door to gain access to the lifts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

We are pleased that the hotel met all of your requirements within the city centre and you found our staff and breakfast to be excellent.

As we are continually improving we welcome all feedback from our guests.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    280
    111
    42
    17
See reviews for
124
258
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here once before with the family. Ok yeah it's a 3 star, so it's not going to be top rate, nothing personal but you get what you pay for. It's clean, it's quiet the facilities are what you'd expect, love the free wifi throughout, something that wasn't there last year. But...

The staff were fantastic with the kids, fantastic that they looked to help you open doors, asked if you had a good day etc. My eldest obviously was so happy she drew a picture for one of the reception staff.

Couldn't really hear much outside the room, hopefully no one heard our kids jumping on the floor. ;) The hotel was busy over the days we were there, staff hinted to us the best time to come for breakfast which was also nice.

I can recommend the pizza from the bar at night when you're hungry, it's a lovely big pizza, think it's one of those Chicago Town fresh dough pizzas. 9.99 wasn't too bad.

Upon leaving we were asked if everything was fine. We mentioned a couple of things like bulbs not working and a broken bathroom lock, but we never felt the need to say anything as there were plenty of other lights and no lock meant no kid could lock the bathroom. ;) reception thanked us for this and said they'd look into it.

Now, couple of downsides. Would be nice to have bacon at breakfast instead or as well as sausages. But I know bacon can be more expensive.

My main issue, was the coffee at breakfast, avoid. It's not a bean to cup machine and uses what tastes like instant. Again I know this is cheaper but it's also why I took my own mini cafetiere which did the trick. Again, you get what you pay for...

That all said, location was excellent, you can get a 24hr parking ticket for the car park across the road. Very central with short walk to shops and some very good shops too.

Try going to the Princes Square centre for a meal, great for families, the staff in the pizza express there were also great with the kids. Short drive (or train) to science centre and transport museum.

We'll done holiday Inn peeps, the staff, the room, the free wifi and the pizza were great even if your coffee wasn't. :) C

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your five star review of our hotel. We are delighted to read that your family had a great stay with us and I passed on your daughters picture to Agnes who was thrilled to receive it and now hangs proudly in our back office.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I arrived late, a woman on my own - it was dark and raining. I got a taxi from central train station and it cost ess than a fiver. All the staff were excellent - welcoming, attentive and genuinely friendly. My room was nice, spacious and clean. The bed was particularly comfy - I have had nights in Ibis, Ramada, Radission, Premier Inn and Comfort in the last month and this bed and bedding was by far the best. Breakfast was ok (I eat museli and they only had the sawdusty sort) but there was enough to choose from. The rates were excellent - I paid £65 for a double room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you found the staff to be excellent and that you had a comfortable sleep setting you up for the day ahead.

We hope to be your first choice when staying again in Glasgow.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Only thing stopping the service receiving a 1 is the daytime receptionists. Night staff were disgustingly rude and uncooperative. Wouldn't let me back in my room and I had to pay £50 for a taxi home because of them. Absolutely outraged at the way I was treated. Wouldn't even let me in to get my stuff. Do not go if you're going for a night out. Awful, awful, awful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Liam,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside.

Due to fire regulations, only registered guests are permitted to stay in guest bedrooms as advised by our night’s team at the time. Our rooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children and the number of guests per room are required to be stated at the time of booking. We happily accommodate additional guests but we do require notification of any changes to a reservation. If a room cannot accommodate the number of guests in a party we can happily provide alternative arrangements and a second guest room if required.

Thank you for your feedback as all comments regarding our guests experiences are welcomed and noted.

If you need anything else, please let me know.

Kind regards,

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked a week ahead and got an excellent rate of £69. I thought the receptionists were all very good - welcoming, helpful and efficient even when busy. My room was quiet and well maintained. I couldn't work out the heating but I am sure I would have been helped if I had called! Breakfast was good and especially the croissants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you found the staff welcoming, helpful and efficient and that you enjoyed your free hot buffet breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have used Holiday Inn Express before and cannot fault them.
The rooms are spotless and the staff very polite and helpful.
The selection at breakfast also excellent.
A comfortable stay before travelling.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. We are glad you had a comfortable stay during your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

chose this hotel for a convenient overnight stay between train journeys - it is within easy walking distance of both Queen Street and Central stations. The reception staff at check-in were just lovely, Grace was friendly and welcoming and the manager, Kristophe was also very helpful. We were tired and not feeling up to going far for dinner so we chose the Italian Bistro - Al Dente, next door - fantastic! Unfortunately my partner had a medical emergency during the night and I went down to reception for help. The two guys on duty were brilliant - Stephen and David - thanks guys, your help and support were hugely appreciated!! With the assistance of the paramedics, we were able to complete our stay and had a very pleasant breakfast (included in the already reasonable accommodation charge - unusual nowadays!) in the hotel before departure - good selection of breakfast basics. This hotel is excellent value for money- clean, comfortable room; situated in a brilliant location for transport and shopping and providing everything you need at a reasonable cost - what more can you ask for??? We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear so no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside.

We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be situated in a brilliant location and enjoyed the free hot buffet breakfast which is available to all of our guests. I will pass on your wonderful comments to the team.

We hope that your partner has made a full recovery and we are looking forward to seeing you both again soon.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside and explore this vibrant city from your base in Glasgow City Centre. Our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. Accommodating up to 2 adults & 2 children, they each have air conditioning, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free Wi-Fi and modern décor. From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home – arrive to a warm welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, free continental and hot breakfast. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.