We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I went to this hotel last week. Frankly I was looking for Premier Inn since everybody is talking about it is spacious and everything. So I wanted to try. But I was lost to find it. Thus I just saw Holiday Inn Express. Then I thought why shouldn't I try it?

First impression was, the hotel is quite far from Central Station by walking distance (14 minutes) but it trespasses many shopping malls and boutiques along the way.

The hotel was good with £76 per night with breakfast. The breakfast was simple but healthy and good for sure.

Room Tip: ask for river view room. it is lovely every dawn and dusk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review regarding your recent stay.

I was delighted to read that the hotel and location met your requirements within the city and we would hope to be your first choice hotel when returning to Glasgow in the future.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    251
    104
    41
    18
See reviews for
114
222
35
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Each and every member of the staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you, they are some of the best that we have experienced. It is a shame that parts of the hotel let the staff down. The room on the first night had a lever on one window broken, so there was a bit more traffic noise, the main problem however, was the draught coming in. The commercial sized air conditioning unit had a mind of its own and only blew cold air at full speed, with the noise of an aircraft. We were changed to another room for the second night, with severe apologies from the receptionist. This 3rd floor room appeared to be in much better condition. There is a choice of a hard or soft pillow. The rooms only have showers, so with the Saturday night being busy, (Full of the rowdy brigade) the shower temperature was not at maximum on Sunday Morning, however, that is what the hotel is there for! The toast/croissants/ juices/tea coffee Etc for breakfast are excellent, but we did note rate the cooked stuff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, to help reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and I am happy that you found the staff to be so, however I am disappointed to hear that you encountered a few issues during your stay and hope that you can accept my sincerest apologies. If you would like to discus this matter further then please feel free to contact myself at the hotel.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I live in Glasgow,and when I go on a night out to the theatre or a show I stay at this Holiday inn.Great value,super free breakfast ,and very good staff.Going there this weekend for the third time.I know what to expect Excellence all round .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

It always delights ourselves when we read that a returning guest has had another great stay at the hotel. All the staff here try and make every one's experience at the hotel both enjoyable and memorable. We are pleased that your free breakfast meets your requirements to set you up for the day ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back again this weekend.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, North Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

You can't fault a HI Express. Great location - excellent facilities. Friendly staff. Clean room. Massive TV - Wi-fi throughout.

What more do you need. Event though the hotel was busy, everything was efficient.

Will definitely check in here again if back in Glasgow!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that the hotel and location met your requirements within the city. I am happy that you impressed with television in your room, we have recently upgraded all of our rooms with new 32" LCD TV's with Freeview and now offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow again in the future.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

i was here again for 2 nights and as usual everything was great. The location is super, just behind St Enoch Centre and you get free breakfast which adds to the value, although choose the time you go for it as it can be busy. My only downfall this time was it was the most uncomfortable bed i've had yet and the room's air con unit was very noisy (room 214). i shall request another room next time i stay. As with most budget hotels, the bar is overpriced, but you're not here for the hotel bar. For the money you pay, £43 per night is my average, you get a good standard, with mainly happy staff and a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always great to hear a returning guest having another great stay.

I am sorry you had an issue with your bed this time round. If you had raised this with us at the time our staff would have been more than happy to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The booking information and pricing provided at the front desk did not match the price requested at the check-in date.

No efford from the front desk was made to clarify the situation, the manager was not called and nor the booking agent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving a review of the hotel and brining the issue that you experienced regarding room rate to my attention. Rates are subject to availabilty and prices can change on a daily basis. All rates quoted are based on 2 sharing unless a third adult in the room is specified at the time of booking. Please accept my apology for the inconveniance caused to you regarding this.

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

For a 'budget' hotel I was very surprised at the standard and quality of this hotel. The rooms were of a good size and very clean. Although there wasn't a bath the shower was of a good size and toiletries provided. I couldn't fault the staff as they were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Breakfast was basic but I was surprised at how much choice we had and the quality was acceptable. Not the best part of Glasgow but within easy walking distance to the centre. I will certainly come back if I ever visit Glasgow again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments and have shared it with team. It was great to read that you found the hotel exceptional value for money and within walking distance for all your requirements within the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Best Regards
Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside and explore this vibrant city from your base in Glasgow City Centre. Our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. Accommodating up to 2 adults & 2 children, they each have air conditioning, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free Wi-Fi and modern décor. From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home – arrive to a warm welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, free continental and hot breakfast. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.