We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited this wonderful house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House for an Art Lover

House for an Art Lover
Bellahouston Park | 10 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5BW, Scotland
44-141-353-4770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 377 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1901 and built in the attractive setting of Bellahouston Park in the 1990s, House for an Art Lover allows the visitor an insight into Mackintosh's renowned talent not just as an architect, but as a an artist, designer and pioneer of the Modern Movement. The venue runs regular arts themed events and is home to the popular Art Lover's Cafe.
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visited this wonderful house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

i didn't know about this house I grew up in Glasgow and had never came across this Rene McIntosh house. I found it expensive the entrance fees are quite steep

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    109
    32
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Weird repro mix!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The building was put up relatively recently based partly on limited plans from CRM, partly on copies or adaptations of other things he had done. The layout is fascinating and the audio guide they give you is interesting but is feels a little too modern, without the patina of age which might have given it depth. A lot is reinterpreted and the explanations grated a bit. On the upside is a marvellous cafe and restaurant. It was also quiet, warm and welcoming so I was glad we went!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mackintosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A lovely example of Mackintosh architecture in a parkland setting. The white music room is just stunning. The cafe does excellent food and service - mainly only during the day, and you should book for lunch.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful space by a gifted designer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I thought this was a good day out as the house is set amongst the very nature that Mackintosh was inspired by.

If you are a design or architecture junkie, you will enjoy this place and should pair it with a visit to the Glasgow School of Art. Because it's more of a personal space, its interesting to differentiate between the two.

We spent about an hour within the house exploring all the spaces and because we weren't on a guided tour, you are able to flit back and forth to compare different areas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“for macintosh real lovers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you genuinely love macintosh design this is a place for you. It's
just a building fully decorated in everything macintosh nothing else.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House for an Art Lover also viewed

 

Been to House for an Art Lover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House for an Art Lover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.