We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House for an Art Lover

House for an Art Lover
Bellahouston Park | 10 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5BW, Scotland
44-141-353-4770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 167 attractions in Glasgow
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1901 and built in the attractive setting of Bellahouston Park in the 1990s, House for an Art Lover allows the visitor an insight into Mackintosh's renowned talent not just as an architect, but as a an artist, designer and pioneer of the Modern Movement. The venue runs regular arts themed events and is home to the popular Art Lover's Cafe.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent an afternoon and evening here at a family wedding.
Great venue, great staff, great day. Can't say much more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    80
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Top venue for corporate function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hosted a corporate dinner at this wonderful venue. Staff were very attentive - Craig and Marie stood out but everyone was great. Our guests raved about the event, during and after it. Venue is stunning; food was top quality; further ambience was created by hiring a piano player for the evening - Alex Graham - you'll get him on the net - can't recommend him highly enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a beautiful setting even on an overcast day. The food was very good and the staff were there to please. I attended a wedding and although didn't have the need to use the cafe the menu was very interesting with a good range of fresh produce. There was a nice wee shop with interesting items. It was a small wedding but it was a most enjoyable day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous - a must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my first visit to HfaAL but don't intend it to be my last. Studied Art History at Uni, am regular visitor to Cardonald College and live relatively near to Glasgow so don't know how this one slipped through my net!
Had occasion to visit a couple of times in the run-up to an event supporting the charity I help to run. Very helpful, pleasant and well-informed staff who were available but not intrusive. The small cafe is lovely with nice food although slightly pricey but check the website for some good mid-week food deals. Also nice to see that the gift shop stocks products made by local craftspeople. The building is gob-smackingly gorgeous and a real must-see for anyone visiting Glasgow whether interested in art or not. Lots of parking outside but also easily accessible by public transport as the No. 9 bus from the City Centre stops right at the entrance to the park and the building is visible and only a short walk away. Fabulous.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Wedding Day Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We got married at House for an Art Lover in January 2013 and could not fault anything about the staff, the venue or the experience overall. Laura and Craig made everything so easy and nothing was too much trouble for either of them. Craig seemed to be telepathic as the minute either myself or my husband wanted anything no sooner had we thought of it that Craig was at our side with it!
The food was amazing, we hired Chris Connolly to be our pianist for the day, which made all the different to our meal in the music room.
The day was flawless thanks to the service we received, even the day following the wedding when we went to collect all our belongings, everything was packed up, put on a trolley and we were helped out to our car with it. We were also given a free glass of prosecco when we went to the cafe for lunch one afternoon before the wedding.
I cannot recommend this venue highly enough, Craig was a star and we will remember him and all the small details he thought of for ever.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House for an Art Lover also viewed

 

Been to House for an Art Lover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House for an Art Lover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added House for an Art Lover to your Saves list