We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate & Well-located..great lounge food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Glasgow to your Saves list
Thistle Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
wash dc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Adequate & Well-located..great lounge food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

While the room was a bit tired, the staff is super nice, hotel well-located with convenient parking underneath...super comfortable lounge- great food. The large dining room (main rest) feels like a dining hall- loud and crowded at breakfast time.
Purchasing wi-fi is a major hassle and after a 2 week trip to Scotland wherein the majority of our hotels provided it free of charge, really makes the process of buying it, logging in over & over a real irritant. Would be a consideration in future arrangements...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    484
    264
    92
    58
See reviews for
160
376
53
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

the location of the hotel was perfect for us, we drove to the hotel and just wanted to park and enjoy the city. close to excellent shopping and the stop for the hop on hop off bus which we found very useful. hotel has a bar and restaurant which we used and the food was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The Thistle is located close to buchanan street bus station (about 5 min walk away) and about 15 mins from Glasgow central. The reception area is really nice and the check in staff polite and speedy. The lifts can be quite slow. U have stayed in several types if rooms and the quality really does vary. The refurbed rooms are nice and modern and for a hotel if this star rating all rooms should be to this standard. If you're on an outward facing room it can be a little noisy but thus really isn't too much of an issue. The only really really annoying thing is the really expensive tray charge for room service. £5!! I stay in many hotels and most only charge a couple if quid if anything at all.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Booked this hotel as a change from staying at the Hilton in Glagow as wanted to try somewhere else for a change!!!! Maybe should have gave it a miss when trying to book as was sitting with rooms available on the internet when I called to check details and met by a very very cute lady who snapped that "We are full at Glasgow Thistle goodbye" !!!! Well I went back again to find out that they had EVERY room available!!! so booked an executive twin for 2 adults and 2 kids....... told check in was 2pm and check out 12 noon. Aarrived at hotel at 3.30pm to find they had no note of reservation but on investigating found it but had to contact housekeeping to clean room!!!! When went to check on room progress after 30 mins was told check in was "from" 2pm.... all literature states check in IS 2pm not from 2pm!!!!
Room was immaculate and spotless so very very happy with this and only enough stuff for 2 people but this was rectified immediately when we called reception.

Went to the bar for a drink before heading out and total chaos....... was a conference in from America and they obviously had the priority as even though I stood there for 40 mins..... people from the conference where served time and time again before me !! Gave up and went across the road to have a drink!!!

Breakfast was great - plenty of choice and I asked for poached eggs and no trouble at all with this but the only thing I would say is that we were challenged on our way in as waiter said only 2 booked and I had to point out on his sheet that it was 2 adults and 2 children........

Can't fault the room but don't think I would stay again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Front of house staff very friendly and efficient, room service and housekeeping very friendly, though twice forgot to bring cutlery with food to room.
Room comfortable and clean - enormous, and very comfortable bed, chairs, desk and all expected facilities, very generous size. Staying in room that was recently refurbished (Top 4 Floors) and very pleasantly done, but some attention to detail lost in bathroom, ie new shower and sink fittings, but left very rusty shower curtain rail and some corners cut on workmanship on grouting and sealant (bathrooms are my thing!) but clean and by no means anything worthy of complaint. Also beware high water pressure - great power shower, but liberally sprayed my trousers at the sink every time i washed my hands!
Great location; central to city walking distance to many of the best local attractions, and very easy walk, even with suitcase, to Glasgow Central Station. Taxi's called at front desk arrived in seconds.
Food was excellent, especially breakfast, but the wait at times for room service was quite long (although always under the estimated time given at ordering). Good fitness centre.
Best - friendliness of staff and food
Least - noisy air con and charge for wi-fi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Poor service, room was OKish - but in need of refurbishment (which I gather some floors have been) cracked tiles in bathroom, missing sealant, brown, grey and mouldy grout. Only partially working air con, TV remote was really really dirty.
Ate there in the evening and service as awful and food was OKish.
Breakfast OK - but certainly not good.
No safe in wardrobe
Alarm on TV not working
Portable electric heater in room very grubby

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010 via mobile

Arrived for a family occasion in November only to be told there was no rooms available. We weren't the only ones left without a room, that's for sure. I suppose we had only booked it3 months in advance. Had to wait around for around an hour before they decided for us to stay at the Glasgow Hilton. By far a superior hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRManagerthistle, Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
I would like to offer my apologies for the confusion over your booking and for having to move you you to another hotel. This was caused by the hotel experiencing technical problems with their computers which resulted in an overbooking situation. Thistle Glasgow very much regret the disappointment caused to you and hope this will not deter you from choosing Thistle Hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Glasgow

Address: 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Glasgow is ideally situated in Glasgow. A short walk away for shopping centres, entertainment,art galleries and museums. Relax in the hotel's Leisure Club, and enjoy a light meal or fine dining in the hotel's Annlann Restuarant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Thistle Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.