We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Glasgow to your Saves list
Thistle Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

had a lovely time at the Thistle with my 2 lovely daughters.A surprise treat for my 60th birthday. We stayed overnight and had dinner and breakfast ,food was really nice and the breakfast was amazing.Staff were very attentive and friendly..
Really enjoyed the spa treatments,i had a lush full body aromatherapy massage and a delicious hour long facial ,both carried out by Elaine,will definitely return for the best facial ever.Thank you Elaine.Hope to see you soon.

.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
A very happy belated birthday to you, and I am delighted you choose the Thistle Glasgow for your celebration visit, and enjoyed your stay with us. Elaine is happy to read you were pleased with your treatments, and thanks you for your very kind comments. We do hope to welcome both yourself and your daughters back to our hotel, in the very near future, and thanks again. Kind Regards,
Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    482
    264
    92
    58
See reviews for
160
374
53
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for one night on the 9th May, check in really quick staff polite and helpfull stayed on the fourth floor and although the room was large and well furnished the view was awfull had to keep the curtains closed all the time as other rooms were looking straight into yours. The room was spotless and the beds comfortable although the pillows were rock hard. Used the swimming pool steam room and jacuzzi and these were great all in all would recommend this hotel its very well appointed for the train station and the shops and check in and check out times were great woudl definately return for a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thats not looking straight into other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your visit to our hotel on the
9th May, 2014. Your kind comments are much appreciated and we are delighted you had to the opportunity to visit the Leisure Club. Sorry you were disappointed with the view. Please let us know when you are returning, and request a room with a more pleasing view! Thanks again,
Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Thistle. It had been recommended to us by a friend. It is so convenient to stay here for going to the theatre or for shopping. All within walking distance, as is Queen Street Railway Station. The hotel is really nice. The rooms are comfy and very clean. The swimming pool is an added bonus. The staff are extremely efficient, helpful and just very welcoming. We will definitely be back when next in Glasgow for the theatre. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review, with your very kind comments, which our staff are very pleased to read. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel, and we hope it wont be too long before you have another trip to the theatre and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My benchmark for this hotel is the more expensive Marriott I usually patronise. In almost every respect this hotel is better: good location away from motorway and near pedestrian streets; large, pleasant swimming pool; decent-sized rooms and imaginative, varied, quite ambitious food served to a high standard. Staff attitudes are also most positive.
The disadvantage - which means I won't return unless it gets fixed - is that the simply massive doors to the rooms are uncontrolled by any kind of spring or slowing mechanism. This means that anyone leaving in the early hours - and there tend to be many - finds it almost impossible to prevent an enormous crash which reverberates along corridors and even between floors. I am not an over-sensitive sleeper, but this makes life unpleasant. I was late to bed and found I had also inadvertently created substantial noise when I got into my room. It would be difficult to get to sleep in these circumstances. Poor on this issue, I have nevertheless rated the hotel as Average, since I recognise its many good qualities. Shan't be back however, unless I hear the doors have been sorted.
I noted the problem at the time, and also on the efficiently sent feedback request from the management - it will be interesting to see if they reply.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. We are pleased to read your positive feedback. I am also sorry to read and apologise that your
night's rest was disturbed by noise from the security entry doors to the corridor. I am pleased to advise you that we are awaiting on the appropriate parts which our maintenance team,shall fit to the security doors in order to alleviate any noise in the future. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back, when we hope you will enjoy the benefits of these improvements. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Thistle for 2 nights with our young children in May this year. The room was a good size for a family of 4, clean and very comfortable. The staff were excellent, from quickly fixing the broken safe, to pleasant and helpful in the restaurant. Breakfast alone was worth the visit ! The indoor swimming pool was good (if busy) and was ideal for keeping our kids amused whilst raining outside. A good security system means that you can only access the rooms on your floor once you have used your room key to unlock a door near the lift entrance/exit. The hotel is in a very central location, 5 minutes walk to Buchanan Street and the restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice review, following your two night stay at the Thistle Glasgow. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks Again, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice hotel in a good location . Breakfast was good and parking not a problem. Only annoyance was they made up our room without clean towels and I had to make three calls to finally get some brought up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent
visit to the Thistle Glasgow. We appreciate your kind comments, and a good Scottish breakfast
does indeed set you up for the day!. Additional towels are available in a drawer in the dresser as indicated in our welcome letter. I am very sorry to hear of the problem you experienced with
towels and if you would be good enough to e mail me with your room number and date of your visit we will certainly look into this issue further, and ensure no further similar incidences. Thanks again, and we do hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having stayed here before,when we arrived we found out we had been given a complimentary room upgrade to a king bed rather than a double. Staff were very helpful until it came to breakfast. Having already paid for our breakfast at the time we booked our room,we saw the menu at the table for pancakes (as I do not like the selection available) and was told it would be an additional charge of £5.95. I was not paying £14.95 and the addition charge for 3 pancakes. When checking out we complained about this clearly stating I'd paid for breakfast and had absolutely nothing. We got no compensation or an apology of any sort! Didn't get a great night sleep,the pillows were terrible,1 was too low but 2 was too high. There were 3 spare pillows in the cupboard but were all the same offering no variation. Now,however we will not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and we are pleased on this occasion we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade. The american-style pancakes should have been available to you, included in your breakfast rate, and please accept my sincere apologies for any mis-understanding. I also regret that you were disappointed with the standard of pillows available. The hotel has a Guest Relations Manager available 24 hours a day, and I am sorry they were not aware of your issues, and given the opportunity to provide you with feather pillows, and ensure you were completely happy with your visit to our hotel. I do hope you will re-consider and stay with us again, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. The hotel's Guest Relationship Manager would also be delighted to hear from you if you are returning, and would be delighted to have available feather pillows in your room. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Glasgow

Address: 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Glasgow is ideally situated in Glasgow. A short walk away for shopping centres, entertainment,art galleries and museums. Relax in the hotel's Leisure Club, and enjoy a light meal or fine dining in the hotel's Annlann Restuarant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Thistle Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.