We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Glasgow to your Saves list
Thistle Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. The room was an ok size and was clean but the bed was a bit smaller than a standard double .
Our window looked out onto the brick wall of a building next to the hotel, this made the room quite dark.
The bathroom was very cramped with a shower over the bath and was in need of an update.
The decor in the bedroom was also in need of updating.
Having said this the room was comfortable. If I was staying here for work it would have been fine but I would not choose it for a brake away.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating.
All in all, fairly average.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    486
    264
    92
    58
See reviews for
161
377
53
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and offers very easy access to Sauchiehall Street. The property is clean and smart, the rooms are very modern in style with lots of grey and white. Carpets throughout are clean and unmarked, and the bathrooms were also clean and tidy. My bed was very comfortable and the room had good temperature control. The front desk staff were very helpful, cheerful and willing to help. The Thistle have recently improved there free wifi service, so it give you quicker and easier access to the internet. Overall I really liked the place, thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for a night out in Glasgow, and had an amazing time!

The hotel was really clean, and the rooms were large and really comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was excellent too. Location is brilliant, 5 min walk from Queen Street station, and right next to the shops and clubs.

Only negative was that the spa/gym didn't open until 8am on Saturday morning.

Would highly recommend for anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Myself and some colleagues stayed on Friday evening for a small function. The girl on check in was lovely, explained everything I needed to know and gave directions to the nearest shops. I was on the 7th floor and the room was lovely and very spacious which was great! The function room that we were in for the evening was such a good space and could be used for many events. Could not fault the food or the service!!!
In the morning we went down to breakfast at around 9.30am, it was very busy but the staff were excellent and explained where everything was and kept checking to make sure our coffee cups were full!
Would Definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I spent the night in the Thistle Hotel last weekend and cannot recommend it high enough, the bedrooms were beautiful and the staff could not have been more helpful. The food was delicious and i cannot stress how central this hotel is. Definitely worth a stay whether its for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Thistle Hotel Glasgow for a evening out in Glasgow - and were delighted. The staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble! The rooms were great, we were up on the 7th floor with views over Glasgow, which looked so nice lit up at night! The rooms are really modern and comfy, having everything you need within. When we got back at night, there was security on the inside of the door and staff on reception, which made you feel really secure. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic - had everything you could want and the servers again were really lovely too! Couldn't fault this place, and will definitely return! :)

Room Tip: Central location, good for business and leisure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I visited the hotel on Friday evening for a small function and was really impressed with the level of service and food that we received. We were really well looked after, the food was creative and good quality and the wine was a NZ Sauvignon Blanc which always is a winner with me!!

The private dining room we were in was a good size with loos nearby. The other conference rooms were of varying size and flexibility in layouts and had all been maintained well.

I didn't stay overnight so can't comment but my colleagues were really impressed with their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Glasgow

Address: 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Glasgow is ideally situated in Glasgow. A short walk away for shopping centres, entertainment,art galleries and museums. Relax in the hotel's Leisure Club, and enjoy a light meal or fine dining in the hotel's Annlann Restuarant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Thistle Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.