We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle Hotel, Glasgow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Glasgow to your Saves list
Thistle Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Shropshire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thistle Hotel, Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hubby booked this hotel as a surprise long weekend away for me. On arrival really impressed, shown to our room, on first glance quite happy but within a few minutes of having the door closed the smell of cigarettes was quite strong. Having a young child with us I wasn't happy with this. A complaint to the management got the room deodorised, this lasted minutes. Upon a second complaint, the manager was sort out and he arranged a viewing of another room, and 'oh my' what a room. It had just been renovated and was totally gorgeous. I do believe that now most rooms have been updated.

After this situation had been dealt with we had an amazing stay at the hotel. The staff were most helpful, the hotel was lovely and clean.

the food was very good, drinks in the bar a little on the expensive side but we expect this with hotel bars.

Great for being close to the city centre and anything else you could want.

Would I go and stay again, Yes I would.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    484
    264
    92
    58
See reviews for
161
376
53
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good to find a hotel with parking (£6 per night) in central glasgow within easy walking distance of everything. Room on the seventh floor was clean and felt as if it had only recently been done up.

Really quiet room, and comfy bed-so slept well. Fantastic breakfast.

Pet hate is a shower curtain over the bath - so not impressed by this!

No free wifi, though I think this is coming.

The only other thing that let the hotel down was the leisure club - it didn't feel as clean as I would have liked. Broken lockers in the changing room didn't help the slightly run down feel of these leisure facilities.

But if I was taking my car to Glasgow I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a nice stay at this hotel for a business trip. The hotel is in the city centre so you can go shopping and see some nice sights in a short time. The staff was very friendly and I felt very comfortable. Try the food at the bar, it is very good and has a fair price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My fiance & I stayed at The Thistle Hotel last night (Wednesday 3rd July 2013) in order to go to see Bon Jovi at Hampden. This hotel ticked all the right boxes for us. It was in a great location for shopping & handy for the train station. The room was of a high standard, staff very pleasant throughout & breakfast was delicious. We never even visited the spa or gym this trip...maybe next time ?
Would definitely return & would highly recommend The Thistle Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hotel is dated and absolutely filthy out the front, covered in cigarette butts, grime, rubbish, food scraps and bird poo. Asked the duty to organise it to be cleaned up and he sent someone out there with a broom and he just swept it out onto the roadway, how disgusting. Reserved and paid for a double room well in advance on our arrival we were put in a small poky room with 2 single beds. The outside road noise was terrible even with the window shut, the carpets need a good clean, the walls and doors need painting. Overall a terrible welcome to Scotland will never stay in Glasgow again let alone this hotel it is such a dirty place.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a couple of nights in June, and have to say that this is a wonderful hotel. Friendly check-in at reception, then went to our lovely big room which was very clean. We did not dine in the hotel as we went out both nights with friends, though breakfast was very good. Hopefully we will be back very soon and will dine in the hotel. Unfortunately we never got the chance to use the swimming pool, again, maybe next time. The only remotely bad thing i could say was having to pay for the wi-fi, but in saying that, a lot of hotels do this. Overall a great experience. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of this hotel. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, with complimentary bottled water provided- something UK hotels often forget. We expected it to be noisy, being in the city centre, but it was not.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful
The one minor complaint we had was the need for a key card to get into each floor, as some of our family were on a different floor, but we do understand the reasoning for this.
We would use the hotel again, and recommend it to others visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Glasgow

Address: 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Glasgow is ideally situated in Glasgow. A short walk away for shopping centres, entertainment,art galleries and museums. Relax in the hotel's Leisure Club, and enjoy a light meal or fine dining in the hotel's Annlann Restuarant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Thistle Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.