We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Hotel to your Saves list
Malmaison Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here when going to see a gig at the Hydro. Great location - 10 min walk to the town centre, stations etc and hotel was very comfortable. Rooms were nice and had everything you needed. We had room service which was promptly delivered and good value for money. The staff were really helpful and friendly. A nice little bolt hole in Glasgow for future trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    256
    169
    81
    24
See reviews for
27
382
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very impressed with big lovely room.
However, a little disappointed as friends had raved about Malmaison.
No dressing gown or slippers in the room - had to ask for slippers which were duly delivered but didn't ask for robe as by that stage I felt I would have been "complaining" guest.
No body lotion or conditioner in bathroom (had expected this as friends who've stayed at Malmaison's rave about the bathroom products).
Was asked if I'd like a morning newspaper (which I had expected to pay for) - however, told they could not provide International New York Times. This newspaper was duly delivered to my hotel room the week before in Belfast (note, not a Malmaison hotel).
Hotel was a little noisy but not due to outside noise but noise from other guests in hallway.
Room was a little on the hot side. There is air-con which made the room v. cold.

On the plus side though, the room was big and bed were both comfortable.
Loved the chaise lounge which meant easy relax to watch TV.
Staff were friendly and coffee in room was delicious. Room service was great.
It is a good walk from City Centre which I did not find off-putting as the area was lovely and close to office.

However, devil is in the detail and attention to detail above would have made stay outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Room was of a high standard, staff were warm and friendly and the food was delicious. I found the hotel good value for money.
I would certainly stay again and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely to stay in another Malmaison Hotel, although I think the other I stayed at in Aberdeen was better. It is a couple of blocks out of Glasgow's city centre, but that's only a short walk away. Room size was reasonable, but we were in one of the slightly larger rooms. Modern and comfortable bed, bath and amenities, with a flat screen TV that was about 32in. Wifi was free, and had good signal strength. The only newspaper that seemed to be available was the Independent. Good food at breakfast, but service was a bit of a let-down - I think it set the record for the longest wait I've had for a carafe of coffee!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Overall a nice hotel. Rooms are nice and tidy. Pillows are the only let down.

There is no full size mirror in the room which can put some people off.

The restaurant food was ok. The choice for vegetarians is not the best.

I'd stay here again but eat out instead next time

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went for a weekend to see Andrea Bocelli in concert at The Hydro Glasgow. The hotel is lovely, in keeping with the Malmaison chain, although smaller than some of the other, still the attention to detail.

We had a basic room this time, packaged included dinner, bed and cocktails, we paid extra for breakfast and it didn't disappoint. They are currently changing their products in the room, which caught us out a little as we didn't take any body moisturiser with us, but the lovely maid gave us some and it was all good.

Great location, 7 mins walk to the centre, staff were lovely, friendly and very efficient as you would expect from Mal.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel, only slight negative I would mention is that room service sat night, there were 3 hot chicken dishes and only 1 veggie option cheese & onion toasted sandwich but saying that it was nice. If I had known I would have grabbed something to eat outside before coming back.

The new Hyrdo is less than 10 mins in a cab so very handy hotel for this venue and shopping.

Spicy Bloody Mary was stunning in the bar, great atmosphere and staff were lovely.

Beds are outstandingly comfortable, all good.

Room Tip: Had a room on 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, but was quiet and a great nights sleep. We usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a birthday treat for my girlfriend, the room was very nice, large bed,nice decor and clean, downside was the basement bar was quite uninspired and dark, the breakfast however was a disaster, the tea and coffee was lukewarm at best probably cold for most people. The big mal breakfast was nothing of the kind, 1 sausage, 1 egg etc I could have eaten another plateful no problem but at £15 it was not going to happen. One of our party ordered waffles and bacon which arrived stone cold and had to be sent back to the kitchen, another ordered salmon and scrambled eggs which she described as not very appetising looking as if it had been plated up the night before. In short nice room but work required in catering department.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.