We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I booked 2 nights in One Devonshire Gardens as a surprise early anniversary getaway for us before our baby was due.

Jo Cork helped me select the right grade of room and one that would provide the hard sought wow factor for my husband. Every aspect of our stay impressed him from the modern sumptuous decor and the beautiful meal to the staff which were attentive and efficient without obtrusion. We wouldn't hesitate to book a suite in the future and look forward to seeing what amazing room we are put in next time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    174
    53
    25
    2
See reviews for
74
512
33
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel last week for 3 nights...
From the moment we walked into the hotel our stay was fantastic, the check in was fast and efficient, we were helped with our luggage, shown round our room.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was lovely and comfy. I only booked the room up from the standard room, it had the monsoon shower and deep marble surround bath, big comfy chairs by the window - for the money it was lovely.

We stayed on a b&b basis - the breakfast was delicious, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, pastries the usual - you help yourself to all that and then also have the option of ordering something hot...
The cooked breakfast menu is also really good, plenty of choice. My only complaint is that the cooked breakfast did seem to take a long time to arrive, I waited about 20 minutes for an omlette. Apart from that it was lovely.

We only ate lunch in the hotel on one day, we ate that in the bar area - it was delicious, the service was good and good value money.

The location of the hotel is good, its a 5-10 minute ride into the centre of Glasgow, but I preferred it that way as it meant that you could have the window open in your room at night and not be disturbed by city noise. It was really peaceful.

Overall our stay was wonderful, very relaxing hotel, with excellent service. We loved sitting in the whiskey snug or the bar at night, the open fires and all the candles really set the mood.

I recommend going to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum - that was really good!

Also there is a little cafe about a ten minute walk from the hotel called Jelly Hil, we went there one afternoon when walking back from the museum - really nice little place, nice cakes and coffee.

Also recommend a Japanese restaurant called Wudon in the West End- fantastic food, lovely friendly little place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Overall an enjoyable stay and the service was generally very good. Most of the rooms are contemporary, but our room was in the "traditional" part of the hotel. It was huge and very nice. The large bed and the beautiful bathroom were fantastic.

My overall impression of the "traditional" areas of the hotel is that they are showing some minor signs of wear and tear; worn carpet on the stairs, minor damage to door furniture etc. While that wouldn't be a major problem in the 2 or 3 star segment it’s definitely an issue in an expensive 5 star hotel.

The menu and the quality of the food in the hotel Bistro were disappointing, although I must say that the wine we ordered was excellent. There were no vegetarian starters on the menu, which was a problem for my partner, and my steak was like shoe leather.

All the ingredients of an excellent luxury hotel are here. However, the management need to attend to the details to make sure that they are always delivered to the highest standard if the hotel’s reputation is to be maintained.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Great design, the bedrooms are just right, contemporary, stylish but not too radical. Food quality excellent as was the service. The only criticism is that food and drink prices are a bit high. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed in One Devonshire the night after our wedding before flying away on honeymoon. The rooms were lovely, food excellent and service of a very high standard. This is a lovely place to stay, a real treat! Only downside was that we didn't book for the restaurant and when we arrived it was fully booked, so remember to call ahead.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Stayed for one night in Oct for our 1st wedding anniversary. We dont live far from Glasgow but due to it being our anniversary & as we were also seeing Billy Connolly that night we thought we'd stay somewhere a bit special instead of just going home afterwards... The staff were so nice, not in any way pretentious like I imagined - unfortunately it was some of the other guests who let the place down in that respect. The room was lovely & so comfortable. We ordered room service which was great & breakfast was very tasty. Just the little bit of luxury that we were looking for! Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed here as was attending a friends wedding. The hotel was just gorgous. It oozes class and refinement. But feels very comfortable and relaxed. I have stayed in other Hotel Du Vins - inc Henley and the Glasgow one by far is so much better. The rooms are very traditional with modern look - beautiful arran toiletries which allowed to take away and a pillow menu! Loved the mini bar and really could have stayed in my room all evening it was such a shame to leave for the wedding. I missed breakfast though brunch was good, and I have been back for Dinner a few times and its good.

I especially liked the Turkish Delight Martini's the bar man served. mmmmmmm

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.