We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Gracious living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Super hotel - lovely staff which really make you feel special. Nothing seems too much trouble.

Rooms spacious and well appointed, and the beds are fantastic.

Special.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    197
    58
    25
    2
See reviews for
84
539
35
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate both of our birthdays (within 2 weeks of each other in February), Valentine's Day and a pseudo-honeymoon as we didn't get one when we got married last summer.

First impressions were fantastic. Location is second to none - great for walking down to the University area (Hunterium Museum and Gallery and close to the subway system) and Kelvingrove Art Museum and Gallery. Also, it's just off the main road to Loch Lomand, to which it only took about 40 minutes to drive (and that was with road construction).

Our room was located on the main stairs at the back of the 5th house. We didn't hear a sound each night! Upon entering the room, it felt dark, but the lights are all adjustable, huge TV, fully stocked mini-bar, bathrobes were great, the towels were more like sheets in their size - fabulous. We were lucky enough to get a bathroom with a shower AND a bath. The deep bath was gorgeous - with double doors that opened into bedroom. The complimentary toiletries were generous and smelled great.

Needless to say, we took advantage of a childless holiday and had a fantastic time. Breakfast was included with our room, so every morning we had a cooked breakfast. Each time it was piping hot and delicious, with a good selection of fresh fruit, pastries and freshly squeezed juices. We considered eating in the bistro one night, but it was slightly outside our price bracket at nearly £30 per main. But going by the quality of breakfast, it would have been worth it.

If you stay here and are looking for good restaurants for lunch or dinner...Chow (on Byres Road) was fantastic for Chinese. We also went to Ashoka for an Indian (on Ashton Lane) - we each ordered a main and could have fed 4 people. Fantastic food! That place was heaving most of the early evening, so book a table in advance! If you stay in, which we did after walking for nearly 8 hours straight through Glasgow, room service is good, hot and punctual. :)

Niggle 1: the bedroom was absolutely boiling the first night, and we couldn't find the thermostat to turn down the heating. We opened the window the last 2 nights - didn't hear a thing and slept much better.

Niggle 2: I had ordered flowers (which the hotel staff ordered for me and were gorgeous) and chocolates as a gift for my husband's birthday on the 17th. I expressly asked that these were paid when I ordered them and for them NOT to be put on the room bill and that they be ready on the 17th. When we arrived on the 15th, they were already in the room. No problem, he got to enjoy the choclates for 3 days...

Niggle 3: the bill. When we arrived, we were told that we would have to pre-approve £50 per night. It would have been good to know this before we arrived, perhaps in the confirmation email for our booking.

Niggle 4: is more serious - when my husband went to pay the bill when we checked out, the chocolates and flowers were on the bill.

Niggle 5: I checked my bank account when we returned home and I had also been charged for the flowers and chocolates. Soo...we were charged for these extras twice and each time was a different total.

We had a fantastic time, but it was a horrible ending to an otherwise perfect holiday. I'm sorry to say that the bill experience has left me with a bad taste. I thought that a hotel of this caliber would be able to better manage the finer details of a romantic getaway, but I will now be double and triple checking any extra details in the future. ugh...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Warm welcome ... room on the top floor... no lift... but helped with bag. Wonderful cosy room with romantic feel... dinner was lovely, although the carpets were being relaid thoughout the ground floor which meant the tables were not in the most picturesque room as a consequence.

By morning tables back in dining room and breakfast was fab.

Would recommend as a treat!

  • Liked — Sumptuous room and bathroom
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We chose One Devonshire Gardens for a Glasgow city break, hoping for something special and upmarket, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is a couple of miles from the city centre, in a leafy West End suburb, and has an air of quiet sophistication.

Despite arriving early, just after midday, we were greeted by the jovial kilted doorman, and shown into the opulent lounge to wait with a dram of single malt whilst our room was being prepared.

We were then led to our room whilst being given an interesting tour and history of the building, which is full of character and has excellent stained glass windows. Despite only booking a standard room, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a superior room, which was very plush with a huge bed, and boasted a massive bathroom with a roll-top bath, plenty of posh toiletries and a large raindrop shower.

Our package included dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which is elegant modern European cooking with designs on Michelin standards. The food was excellent, with original presentation and some unusual delicate touches. As with all hotels in the Hotel du Vin chain, the wine list was extremely extensive, and the sommelier was helpful in picking out a superb Californian red within our budget.

The breakfast was a combination of buffet and a small but well-formed full English which was delivered to your table. However, the staff seemed disinterested and kept forgetting our requests for more tea, and were scornful when alerted to the out of date yoghurts on display.

One Devonshire Gardens is a worthy addition to the Hotel du Vin chain, adding a nice twist of traditional Scottish hospitality and, breakfast aside, utterly professional service and standards to their tried and tested boutique hotel formula.

  • Liked — An air of Scottish luxury
  • Disliked — Bad service at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel as a small present to ourselves for working ourselves into the ground throughout the Christmas and New Year period. We booked the DBB promo through the hotel's website and were not disappointed. Having stayed here on several previous occasions I always look forward to seeing which room we are allocated as we have never stayed in the same room twice. On entering we found an extra large room with a four poster bed, large sitting area in the bay window and a working fire. It was wonderful!

We were looking forward to our dinner in the braaserie as it is one of the few places my chef husband compliments!! Unfortunately, we were left slightly disappointed. We ordered the same steak medium, which you would think would keep things simple, but my husbands was more like rare on the outside and the middle had never even seen a pan! Mine was perfect.

All in all, this hotel is still in my top two throughout the world. The staff are outstanding, the rooms still manage to amaze me and you feel like you are miles away from Glasgow when of course you are not!

  • Liked — Our roaring fire
  • Disliked — Slightly too dark in the room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Fantastic hotel. On getting there we were greeted by the porter (Robert) who was very courteous, and were taken to our room, which was wonderful with a separate bathroom, leading off a dressing room. The hotel itself is great - it's 5 houses, connected on ground and first floors. The decor is delightful - real fires, sweeping stairways, stained glass windows. The only slight downside to watch out for is that there were no lifts; we had a pushchair to take up/downstairs. But that's forgivable given that the staff volunteered at every occasion to help us with luggage - they literally couldn't do enough for us.

The hotel is about 2 miles out from the centre, so make sure you are prepared to travel. The West End of Glasgow isn't far, and you can walk to areas with cafes, restaurants and such, easily enough.

In all, highly recommendable - we would go again.

  • Liked — Staff service, decor, excellent rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of a lift. Breakfast wasn't brill.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Would definitely stay here again. Customer service right from the start was excellent, although the only negative point was when we checked out, the receptionist answered the phone twice despite the fact she was dealing with us first (pet hate of mine) which kept us waiting.

Room was luxurious and bathroom brilliant with roll-top bath, massive shower, heated floor etc.

Hotel quite central, bus stops just outside entrance and only 15 minute walk to nearest underground at Hillhead.

My wife had a massage which she said was fantastic, other treatments were also available in the hotel too.

  • Liked — luxurious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.