We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment plus” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Tars
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointment plus”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I grew up in Glasgow, and longed to be able to stay in this hotel. It was one of the very few hotel disappointments I have had. The guy who carried our luggage was an absolute gentleman, no matter how much he gets paid, its not enough for lugging suitcases up and down those stairs.
This is not luxurious, its old and worn out and needs a good clean. I would not in a million years recommend this hotel to anyone, save your money and go to the Crowne Plaza!

Room Tip: Coose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    150
    51
    24
    2
See reviews for
60
455
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Quite far from the city centre but a great true authentic Scottish experience. Rooms are really old school with 4 poster beds and the bathrooms have 4 claw tubs. Staff are adorable and have the cutest accents!

The restaurant is exceptional! I ate there every second night.

Great pricing for a 5 Star Hotel I had to check my bill to ensure was right!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We have had the best experience from our arrival. The concierge, Gary, has been most helpful from arrival to getting reservation etc. the food in the restaurant is wonderful and the room is contemporary and spotless. The bathroom is beautiful and spacious and we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Glasgow.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

. . . But not necessarily the most convenient. Although its a short walking distance from many of the West End sights, shops and restaurants, the location is a good ways away from city centre activities.

The hotel is absolutely lovely and our room (Michel Laroche), upon first impression, was spectacular. Upon closer inspection, however, there were a few things that were not so terrific. First off, the room was drearily dark. No matter day or night, even with the lights on, it was difficult to see. Secondly, while the period furnishings were grand, much of the upholstery was showing certain signs of age; becoming threadbare. Thirdly, walking about the carpeted room left my bare feet dirty, suggesting an immediate need for carpet shampooing. There was no full-length mirror--laughable in any room, let alone a room of this size. Lastly, this room's main windows face the Great Western Road which can be extremely noisy, particularly in the early morning during the week.

The front staff was pleasant and efficient and our early check-in was much appreciated after the long flight from JFK. We had the distinct pleasure of having our first supper in Glasgow in the hotel's bistro dining room which was splendid, and, although spendy, worth every pound (literally and figuratively). Full breakfast was included in the price of our room, and although tasty, service was bumbling and inefficient.

All in all, we had a really nice three-evening stay at the Hotel du Vin and would recommend to friends with slight reservation. A little more attention to detail would undoubtedly garner a five-star rating.

Room Tip: Be sure to avoid rooms facing the Great Western Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at hotel du vin after my twin sister's wedding and i cannot fault the hotel or its service. The staff we absolutely first class and the hotel room was the best room i have ever stayed in. The room was huge and the free standing bath in the window was a very decedant touch. Every piece of funiture and fitting was of the highest standard.

The food was also excellent and the staff were friendly and professional.

We couldn't have been made more welcome during our stay there.
Without a doubt one of the best hotels in Scotland and definitely the best in Glasgow

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a holiday my husband surprised me to a wee treat at hotel du vin at One Devonshire Gardens. I always had an inclination that it would be rather high brow to be honest and after arrival I realised the complete opposite. The staff are all lovely and very down to earth, from the doorman to the duty manager and the reception staff, all were great. Our room was stunning, Willi opitz, and the bathroom was just luxury. We ate in the restaurant and it was lovely, service was attentive but not invasive, the entire set up was low key despite the lush surroundings. I cannot recommend a wee treat here highly enough and yes it is a wee treat but it worked its post holiday blue magic for me! Would definitely return. In fact we have and it never fails to please. So it's a keeper. A wee extravagant piece of luxury but well worth it!
Enjoyed ever so much by far.
And on one occasion we left as a wedding was being organised for and it looked perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed overnight with my other half. Very warm, welcoming team - Took time to show us around and chat about options for sightseeing and dining in Glasgow. The hotel is in a leafy suburb of Glasgow, easy to get to town. Loads of character but modern facilities and very relaxing. Served a great room service curry to boot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.