We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit underwhelmed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelmed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed here at the weekend, and had the "Mac Forbes" room. Overall, the experience was very good. The room was well appointed - I particularly liked the Nespresso coffee machine; I have one at home so that was a very welcome touch. The bathroom was splendid - giant tub, and powerful deluge shower.

A couple of wee niggles that brought the expression "faded grandeur" to mind, though. For the price paid, I'd expect the decor to be fresh throughout. Small signs of wear and tear are to be expected - there's a lot of traffic, after all - but this room was showing signs that it hadn't been decorated for a while, with chips in the paintwork and lumps out of the wallpaper. The TV wasn't state of the art, either, and with only around a dozen channels to choose from, I ended up being forced to watch the X-Factor! One puzzling aspect was that it broadcast local English BBC news round-ups, despite the hotel being very definitely in Scotland?

Breakfast was a major let-down. I went for the full cooked option, which comprised one less than freshly fried egg, one pallid sausage, one rasher of bacon, one potato scone, half a tomato, half a dozen mushrooms and miniature black pudding and fruit puddings. In terms of portion size it was fine, but I expected an awful lot better from a hotel that aspires to the standards of Hotel du Vin.

It's a good hotel. But it's not an OUTSTANDING hotel and for the property it occupies, the rates charged and the legacy reputation it enjoys from the days prior to becoming part of the Hotel du Vin chain, it should be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    173
    53
    25
    2
See reviews for
74
512
33
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I use this hotel a few times a year on visits to Glasgow, it is not cheap but the hotel gives off a good vibe. On this occasion the service could have been better and was not up to the usual high standard. Bedrooms are beautiful, well furnished and a good size. The small gym is adequate but if you are runner then streets are more enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at Hotel du Vin for one night and found the property to be very charming. Has a townhouse feel, so don't stay here if you like modern hotels. The property is quite large, so be prepared to walk and navigate stairs. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Easy check-in, but check-out was a little slow due to traffic. Overall I really enjoyed visiting and would definitely go back.

Bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. Very comfy bed. Modern TV. Nice couch and working table. Only downside - the classic heater was slow to heat up the room.

Bathroom was lovely. Classic tub, heated towel bars, modern shower with sunflower shower, and plenty of water pressure/heat. Bathroom stayed warmer than the bedroom...not sure if they had heated floors installed or not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a night as a treat last week. Lovely welcome by lovely attentive staff. We stayed in the Graeme Beck room, which was sumptuous and spotless. The major problem was that the room was so dark we really had problems moving around and finding things. The bathroom was so dark and the mirror totally inadequate that I couldn't see to put on make-up! I emailed the manager ........who let me know there were lighter rooms and if we wanted to go back he had highlighted this on our records!............mmmmmmmm not so satisfied...

Room Tip: Don't go for the Graeme Beck room unless you are a bat! And disappointing response from manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reiser1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is made up of seperate townhouses that were "knocked together". It is very beautiful from the outside and the staff (especially the concierges) are extremely friendly and helpful. There is stained glass throughout that is so overwhelming it really belongs in a museum it is so nice. The whole town is actually filled with such glass.

I found my room a bit over-stuffed with things: 2 music players, 1 coffee maschine, a refridgerator, lamps, pillows, etc. I for one do not need every surface covered with such things.

The bathroom was definately the best part of the whole place. Beautiful marble and wood.

Breakfast is nice as is dinner. Try the bar - and if you like whiskey they have the biggest selection of whiskey that I have ever seen - and a whiskey sommelier!

Room Tip: Even with the main road in front of the hotel rooms at the front are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Typical hotel du vin, nice buildings but always feels stifling.
Room was the usual uber dark colour scheme feels like an undertakers and it sucks the atmosphere dry. I had a standard room small window felt very oppressive.
Sadly the customer service at this particular du vin was well below par. Usually daily scripted chat, but after a long journey to Glasgow, long working day made no effort to accommodate a solo traveller with requests ..... Was left feeling abandoned as they had much more important things and people to worry about.
Was several small incidents that when added together just meant I was glad to be checking out.
Not the best du vin I've stayed in and won't be on my hotel search list if travelling back to Glasgow

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A simply wonderful hotel with service to match.

I stayed at the hotel as a birthday treat for my wife and booked a package which included a guided tour of the nearby art gallery. Absolutely everything went to plan including transfers, guided tour etc.

The food and service in the hotel was excellent apart from Saturday afternoon where the hugely popular afternoon tea meant there was very little of the lounge area not taken by pre-booked parties. However the staff suggested an alternative are to sit and have coffee while they did all the running back and forth to accommodate us. I suspect lesser hotels would simply have left us to our own devices.

If you are looking for that special place for a special event such as an anniversary etc. you should consider this hotel - it wont disappoint.

Room Tip: From my single visit it appeared that a room to the from probably offers a better view, rooms to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.