We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

After leaving another hotel close by late at night after a truly bad experience we were blessed to stay here. I could not fault a single thing. Peace and quiet luxurious beds and fabulous service. Will most certainly stay again .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    173
    53
    25
    2
See reviews for
74
512
33
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed one overnight again, everything as perfect as it always has been. From the warmth and friendliness of Gary's welcome, the check in staff, the pre-drinks in the bar served by Pavel, and the degustation menu with Laurent serving his selected wines for each course, none of this could have been bettered. The room was excellent, bed exceedingly comfortable, and everyone you meet so pleasant. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is outstanding the staff are fantasti, the food is fabby and we just love staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived late and were welcomed with a complimentary drink before being shown to our room. The room was large and cosy with dark decor and the bathroom was luxurious with an enormous bath and walk-in shower. Breakfast was excellent with a selection of hot and cold food (I recommend the Devonshire cooked breakfast!). We didn’t have dinner in the restaurant but did have room service one evening and I think it was the best burger I’ve ever tasted!

The location is great, the bars and restaurants of the West end are nearby and its only a short cheap taxi or tube ride into the centre of the city.

The staff were knowledgeable, pleasant, attentive and always on hand to help. Nothing was too much trouble, they made our stay all the more memorable by being so welcoming and friendly. We stayed for 3 nights and were sad to leave. The hotel started to feel like home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I returned to One Devonshire Gardens for our 19 month anniversary having been married in House 5. We only live 5 minutes from the hotel but treated ourselves with a very good deal for bed and breakfast in a club room for only £109 including a £20 bistro voucher.
When we arrived for check in (4pm) we were pleasantly surprised to be given a double upgrade to the grand suite Peter Lehmann which is located on the top floor in house 5 (a room we were familiar with when we took over house 5 for our wedding).
The room is beautiful with an enormous four poster bed, plenty of furniture, Nespresso machine, ipod docking station and the all important roll top bath in the window in which I had a luxuriously relaxing bath with the private TV!
We ate in the Bistro and had a wonderful meal as always. The waiting staff are a mix of stuffy and posh with local and friendly.
All the little touches really make a difference in this hotel from the lovely big shower to the fabulous toiletries and the staff all taking the time to say hello and be friendly.
Breakfast was a delight and having a 12 pm check out is a luxury nowadays.
Overall another perfect and wonderful stay in a very luxurious and special place
We will return time and time again

Room Tip: Having a special occasion to celebrate usually gets you an upgrade. Avoid any ground floor rooms fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The tartan-clad porters greeted us on arrival and carried our bags inside where we were given a seat on one of the large leather sofas in a quiet, relaxed, sitting room, and the receptionist came over and sat down as we signed the register. Our suite was superb. Everything in the suite was explained to us. The mini bar was well stocked (as you would expect from a hotel du vin!), and even included a half bottle of Ruinart champagne as well as fresh milk.
The oversized, cast iron bath actually looked quite small because the elegant bathroom with separate shower was so spacious. Heavenly toiletries, but we would have preferred more than one bar of soap.
Breakfast in the dining room was scrumptious, the atmosphere was friendly, the tables were well spaced out and the staff very attentive without being effusive.
We stayed a couple of nights and came away feeling as if we had been thoroughly spoiled. Very often hotels these days forget why they exist; it's not just a bed for the night, it's an experience - either good or bad. Our next destination - Cameron House Hotel on Loch Lomond was as ghastly as One Devonshire Gardens was superb.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different, but they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Having stayed here for two nights on a business trip, I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for the single female traveller. No big noisy reception areas here, it is like staying in a country hotel in the city. Booked into a Club Room which was lovely, it had a gorgeous big bath with double doors to main room so I could soak in bubbles whilst watching the TV!

Breakfast was superb, as was the snacks ordered whilst in meetings.

All the staff were so attentive, I would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.