We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bo'Vine

Bo'Vine
385 Byres Road | West End, Glasgow G12 8AU, Scotland (West End)
0141 341 6540
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bo'Vine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #280 of 1,720 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $25 - $82
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Scottish farmers are known the world over for their dedication to The Cause and their consistently high-standards. That’s why you’ll find that almost everything on our menu was either reared here, harvested here or was landed right here on the shores of Scotland.Our approach to cooking is typically no-nonsense too; we source the finest ingredients like 28-day hung Scotch beef and seafoods from local waters, add a little flair and influence from the Auld Alliance and simply let the food do the talking. We think you’ll love the Bo’Vine difference!
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice vibe bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Trendy bar with a good vibe, music got v loud towards the end of the night which is good if you are looking for a party

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    97
    62
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a fantastic evening. I can honestly say this was one of the most enjoyable meals I've had in Glasgow. I had the venison carpaccio for starter which came with a shot of sloe gin. I thought this was a quirky yet very enjoyable touch. My husband had the haggis bon bons which were also very tasty. We treated ourselves to the Chateaubriand which was just perfect. It's certainly not the cheapest but well worth it. There's nothing worse than paying that little bit extra for a good steak to be disappointed. No risk of this happening here. We will most definitely be back! Top marks for the use of good Scottish produce too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Was beautiful, very clean and spacious. The food was very nice and very fresh. There was a massive variation and staff where terrific and attentive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food and service was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Food was a little pricey but was worth every penny, great for a romantic meal. Would recommend for sure. I had a mixed grill and the food was spot on. Very tasty and i was well looked after.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great at First BUT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The first four times I ate here is was just superb but then thing seemed to change. The next twice the cocktails were smaller as was the thickness of the steak, which on both occasions was served rather cold.

I won't go back as it's just not worth the money now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo'Vine also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bo'Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo'Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.