We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year ball” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great New Year ball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked up for the Grand Central New Year ball with our friends and paid £155 per head for an upgraded superior room, champagne reception, dinner, ball, breakfast and later check out of noon. All in all not a bad price for a new year bash! I do enjoy a visit to the Grand Central Champagne bar as its location and surroundings make it a great place for a meeting place or a pre/post evening drink. Grand Central Hotel is a massive hotel and was completed refurbished a few years ago.

We arrived just after 5 pm and check in was completed in minutes and we were given a full itinerary for the evenings event so we knew exactly where and when to be. Nice touch.

Our superior room was quite interesting in its shape, I noticed on the fire escape plan our room appeared to be the only one with such a “strange” design. A long entrance corridor lead to the desk area off of which was the toilet and then a complete 180 degree turn around led to the separate bedroom. I’m not complaining it meant our room was nestled away from the busy city centre. Our friends room was the usual large square box though this was far better for a pre dinner drink as our room would have meant people round corners etc…


The Bed was large and comfortable enough with selection of pillows to suit. The bathroom was also large and clean.


There were a few marks on the walls from scuffs and bashes though these could have been made that morning or could have been about for a while and were not enough to get bothered about.

We made our way down to the champagne drinks reception which was very good and wasn’t limited to a glass per person, you could help yourself to as much or as little as you wished it would appear. Canapes were also doing the rounds though we didn’t have any out of choice.

The ballroom itself was excellent and really added to the occasion with large pillars, decent dance floor area and excellent space around the tables even though there must have been 200 attendees.


Even before food was served we all knew it wouldn’t be great, mass catering for 200+ never yields a wonderful dining experience. True to form this was the case. The starter was fish, fish and more fish (smoked haddock, smoked salmon and a cup of cullen skink to be exact) and all were a bit dry and combined with being served cold I didn’t eat much on this plate. Presentation was excellent though.

The intermediary course of Haggis, Neeps and Tatties looked like a dogs dinner but was actually excellent to taste with a hearty whiskey sauce and the right ratio of haggis to neeps and tatties.


Main course was beef and chicken stuffed with something. Again presentation was absolutely excellent though the actual food itself was dry after being under a hot plate or in an oven keeping warm for ages. The beef was a case in point, it was medium and looked perfect though in actual eating was dry and tough.

Pudding was strange mixture of items though was presented excellently. The mini ice cream cone of toffee ice cream was excellent. I’m not sure what the little flower thing was or where it belonged on this plate next to cherries. The chocolate sponge was fine and wasn’t dry. Nothing wrong with dessert it was just a bizarre mixture of items that individually worked but together didn’t really mix.

However this was our expectation beforehand so we weren’t disappointed with this, we were here for the ball and I’m glad to say the band and entertainment were absolutely excellent. The crowd was slightly older but the DJ and band mixed up with modern songs and old as well as a couple of céilidh dances thrown in. We all had a great time.

Breakfast was an excellent affair with a large buffet being constantly refreshed so that everything was fresh and of good quality.

We all had an excellent time at the Grand Central New Year ball, dinner wasn’t great but we expected that and everything else surpassed expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had an excellent time at the Hogmanay Ball. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

If you are booking to stay in the future please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    767
    328
    117
    62
See reviews for
222
965
102
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't speak highly enough about this hotel. We stayed there for 5 days over Christmas this year, to visit family in Glasgow. It is a lovely old and historic building, which has had a recent refurbishment. This has improved comfort but has not taken away from the beautiful features of the hotel and sense of space, with the magnificent staircase and wide corridors. Every member of staff we encountered was very friendly, extremely helpful and pleasant. We were warmly greeted each time we came into the foyer, either by the reception staff or the concierge. Their recommendations on restaurants in the area were excellent. They facilitated an early check-in for my son when his flight was changed to a much earlier one. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and felt warm and cosy. We woke up on Christmas morning to find a Christmas stocking left outside our bedroom doors by the hotel, full of all sorts of gifts and goodies - a really unexpected but lovely gesture. The Cocktail Bar in the hotel is beautiful and worth a visit. The location, with a back door onto the concourse of Central Station, was ideal for travelling to various parts of the city. I absolutely loved this hotel and can't wait to return. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Glasgow now.

Room Tip: As for a room higher up (we were on 4th floor), and on the opposite side from the train station if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay over the festive. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are booking to stay in the future, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've stayed at the Grand Central a number of times, mainly on business. The positive experiences prompted me to take a short break with my partner over the New Year and we had a great time. The service has improved since I first stayed here, particularly over the last 12 months and this hotel would certainly be my first choice when visiting Glasgow. The staff are friendly and well informed, willing to assist and present the hotel in the best possible light. We will be back I'm sure. Great customer service from start to finish.

Room Tip: Top- floor rooms towards the rear are quiet but compromised by the view of the train station roof. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted that the Grand Central is your first choice when visiting Glasgow! We do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Next time you are booking to stay, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel and good service. All refurbished and the room was lovely. The service was good, and I loved the whole idea of the views of the station for a city hotel. Got my train back to London easily, of course!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are booking to stay in the future please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here on 27/12/13 an extra Christmas gift with my fiancé, called hotel and asked if we could drop our bags in earlier as we were meeting friends for lunch, receptionist was great, our room was ready at 13.45 and the concierge swiftly delivered our bags to our room, this however was the only good point of our stay. We arrived back at the hotel and proceeded to the bar for drinks, served our first round after waiting approximately 20 minutes, we then managed to get a table, we had to ask for it to be cleaned and dirty glasses to be removed, ordered a second round and when I showed my room charge card I was told that "YER CARDS BEEN DECLINED" within earshot of other guests and my own party, I assured said waitress that the card couldn't have been declined as it was all getting charged to my room and please could she try again, she did yet no apology was forthcoming. We ordered another round (no problem this time) and then we retired to our room. Upon arriving in room 406 it was absolutely freezing, we called reception and they sent an electric heater, surely a room change would have been more appropriate, however after 20 mins or so the temperature became more bearable. We then decided to order some room service and I asked for a toasted club sandwich with fries, we got delivered a ham and mustard sandwich with wedges, we called room service, who apologised and would rectify the problem but then called 10 minutes later then called an said that they couldn't that, there are two issues here, why take an order if you cannot serve that particular meal and it's only ham, chicken, tomato, lettuce, fried egg and toasted bread, surely it can't be that difficult. Anyway we had an average breakfast and upon check out we explained to the receptionist about the issues we had, she was very sympathetic and offered 20% off our bill as "that's what she is authorised to do" I declined and said I'd rather speak to a customer service advisor. I was assured a call would be made that day, she confirmed my email and telephone number, 9 days later I'm still waiting on said call.

This hotel should be doing so much better, multiple small niggly issues contributed to a completely unmemorable stay, a hotel of this magnitude MUST do better, sorry grand central but I really can't rate this any better than one star.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to read about your experience, a member of our Guest Relations team will be in contact directly to discuss this matter further.

Kind Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount vernon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our daughter's wedding reception was held in the Hotel on January 3rd 2014. What a wonderful experience it was. The whole event ran very smoothly.
The food and service at the meal was excellent and could not be faulted. There was 70 people at the meal and speaking to our guests, all were very happy with the meal.
We used the Hotel's DJ who was excellent. The music didn't stop when the buffet was served, so there was no lull in the party while it was being served.
Most of the guests stayed overnight, including ourselves , and all that we spoke to had wonderful experiences. Our room was excellent as was the breakfast. Not normally a big fan of buffet breakfasts but this one was excellent.
I realise that I am using the word excellent a lot but that is what the whole event was for us .
Would gladly recommend this Hotel to anyone.
A big thank you to all the staff who made my daughter's special day, very special indeed

Room Tip: Don't actually know f there Is a swimming pool and fitness centre but can get them deselected on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Grand Central experience with the Tripadvisor community. The team are delighted that you and the wedding party had a wonderful day and evening. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

If you are making a booking in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed on Christmas night, a treat after entertaining family all day and as a stop off for travels to the west on boxing day. The hotel was very quiet and the lovely Rachel on reception upgraded our room. Our room was perfect and the bed was like a huge marshmallow. We didn't eat in the hotel but did have cocktails in the champagne bar. They were out of this world and the service was friendly. We shall be back asap.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central. I am delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay, and that you are eager to return!

If you are making a booking in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.