We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for just one night on business. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard, but still retains it's old grandeur. It's a very unusual place to stay given that it's also part of the station.

Service and rooms were very good and breakfast was also good. The champagne bar was a great place to spend an hour or so and location is excellent, being central for all amenities. My room had a view out to the street and was quiet, however some of my colleagues had rooms overlooking the station and they weren't so satisified as train announcements could clearly be heard and were an annoyance.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that overlook the station as they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    678
    288
    101
    57
See reviews for
207
842
93
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'm here on a work trip.
- wifi set to disconnect every 30 minutes. To reconnect you have to enter ALL your personal info, every time: name, address, email etc. it's not possible to stream a movie on e.g. Love film. Connection too slow :(
- decoration very dated, and tacky in some parts. I'm an architect who loves old buildings, this one is very beautiful and has potential but it is badly decorated.
- old fashioned fit out to bathrooms, some modern features but it has an old fashioned fusty feel to it.
- bedroom is a bit cold. I got into bed to warm up,
- the duvet is of feathers and really comfortable + bed is comfortable.
- above central station, was awoken by a rowdy fight outside 3am
- traffic very noisy outside, keeping me awake. Its 5am, I think the bin men are collecting rubbish or shops are receiving deliveries, quite noisy location and poor room acoustics.
- it's a 2/3* hotel. Which in clean, moderate level of comfort if that is what you are after. I wouldn't come back to this hotel and definitely not for a romantic trip. i just don't like it here

Room Tip: I must be staying by the road, quite noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed and constructive review of the Grand Central Hotel.

The hotel's Guest Relations Team will be in contact with you directly to discuss the challenges you have raised.

The feedback you have brought to our attention is greatly appreciated and will be raised at our next Heads of Department Meeting.


Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Glasgow Central Station setting is awesome and the hotel being a part of the old but completely renovated complex is an interesting mixture of old and modern times. Right in the heart of all the buzz of Glasgow, commuters and longer distance travelers in perfect harmony, the atmosphere is like Paris Gare du Nord - except that you live inside of it in total peace. From the second floor champagne bar (you can have a pint or some of those gorgeous single malts, no problem) you can watch the people heading for the trains in this splendidly renovated station. On the other hand, if you don't want to be in the thick of normal-life action this is not the place for you. I enjoyed it for five days on a working trip and would like to come back to see all this as an honest tourist!

The service everywhere in the hotel was truly impeccable, helpful and courteous, not overdoing of things. Maybe the Scots are like this?

I can highly recommend this to everyone who understand what type of a location, surroundings and atmosphere they are looking for - for me this was a very nice and exciting experience (and the haggis option at breakfast was excellent!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review. The team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back again, next time as an honest tourist!

For our best available rates, please call our Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would definitely stay at this lovely hotel again.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet considering it is in the busy central station. You should try the Champagne bar absolutely lovely room. The staff are all very professional and the breakfast is fantastic. Not got one bad word to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed all elements of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

For our best available rates, please call our Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in early August 2013. It appeared to have been recently remodeled and accommodations were great. It is a "grand old hotel". It adjoins the central train station in Glasgow. The reception and beel staff people were great and very friendly. We would definitely stay here again in Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central Hotel soon.

If you are planning a visit soon, please call our Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend, was a really nice hotel with easy check in and check out etc. The main reception and entrance to the hotel are very nice and look stylish. The room was large and I would 100% go back to this hotel as it has loads of shops and bars near to it and also close to good food places. Overall it was a really good stay would go back because it was amazing value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for you review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Our location really is perfect for shopping and bars so we look forward to hopefully welcome you back again soon.

If you are planning a visit soon, please call our Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for one night only. Deluxe suite facing onto Gordon Street, we have already booked to return, this hotel is exceptional, staff are courteous and helpful from the minute you check in till you leave.

Champagne Bar cocktails are a must to try.

Breakfast was plenty with a good choice on offer, the staff come round with fresh coffee/tea.

Have dined in Tempus Restaurant before and will try again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have already booked to come back. We look forward to seeing you both again and welcoming you back to the Grand Central Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.