We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing Hotel...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was a little unsure of this hotel as it's based above the Glasgow Central train station... and it was recommended by my brother. However as my brother was very insistant on us staying a night at the hotel we did.... and we LOVED IT! The family room we had was fantastic. Our 6 year old daughter was in awe of how big the bathroom was and she could swim in the BIG bath! We could not hear any noise..... at all. and the ceilings were very high. The only downfall was the breakfast was not the best but is was a great experience and we would stay here again and for more than one night next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Grand Central Hotel.
It was very kind of you to take the time to feedback on your stay.

The team were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

If you are planning a future stay, do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 3733, for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    764
    328
    116
    62
See reviews for
220
965
102
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Just back from overnight stay in this lovely hotel. Fantastic service from all the staff, and although it was very busy, nothing was too much for them. Great room, comfy huge bed, and a breakfast to die for! Fantastic to see the great old photographs of the old days everywhere...can't wait to come back.....

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Grand Central Hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your Birthday at the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

If you are planning a future stay, please call 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hi we stayed here on 9th april for 2 nights and could not fault it.The rooms are very nice with a nice clean bathroom and comfy beds,and the location was excellent with plenty of bars restaurants within walking distance,and the piano bar on site was nice as well,so i would go back to this hotel in the future no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Grand Central Hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay.

If you are planning a future stay, do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 37233, for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After quite an experience in a mid price B&B last year I decided to plump for a top of the range Hotel for Unison's Health Conference this year
Cant fault this place large well furnished rooms with flat screen huge bathrooms and excellent service
Never made the bar as Wetherspoons just round the corner but everything else tip top

Room Tip: either overlooking the railway station or the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests.

We look forward to repeating the experience all over again on your next visit, whether business or pleasure.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

2 nights spent here before a cruise along the sea lochs from Dunoon. One of the entrances is immediately from Grand Central station which makes it a hassle-free hotel if you are travelling by train. Centrally located for exploring Glasgow. Great afternoon tea, lovely dinner at Tempus and a good buffet breakfast. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Accomodation was comfortable although the room overlooked the station roof and we could hear the trains etc. Went quiet after 11. Would stay another time.

Room Tip: Ask about the outlook of the room as many have a view of the station roof. Very long corridors to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Grand Central Hotel.
It was very kind of you to take the time to feedback on your stay.

The team were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

If you are planning a future stay, do not hesitate to call our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 37233, for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

very nice and clean rooms and housekeeping really very friendly and helpful I would highly recommend the next time I am in glasgow sure I will choose this hotel again is wonderful and besides, is located in the city center close to the station and local shops, and yet it is very quiet and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you were able to experience the level of service on which we pride ourselves.

We look forward to your return stay with us!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. It was in a terrific location for bars, restaurants, shopping and public transportation. We used the services and recommendations of the concierge team almost daily and found their recommendations most enjoyable.
Our room was clean however it could have used a bit more storage room for two women staying for two weeks - we had a smallish closet but no dressing table with drawers to store most of our clothes - so we had to live out of the suitcases. We would have liked to be able to adjust the heat in the room. We also would have liked access to an ice machine, rather than having to depend on the busy room service staff to deliver an ice bucket and glasses - it was not always a speedy process. On two occasions we complained about the noise during the night but were told that nothing could be done - due to high winds and a loose piece of metal banging on the roof of the train station. We found all staff to be attentative and friendly - we were always acknowledged by housekeeping and front-desk staff. Overall we found this to be a great stay and great value for our money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to feedback on your visit.

Your comments have been forwarded to our Restaurant and Maintenance Managers for their immediate attention.

If you are ever returning to the city, do not hesitate to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.