We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand station hotel with a friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Grand station hotel with a friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Grand Central is certainly grand; it has retained all the proportions of a historic big station hotel, although I remember certainly the ground floors being used for different things 20 years ago. Service was great - nice welcome at the desk, helpful porter, and the rooms are clean and a good size. The breakfast buffet - although it took a bit of a walk to find it - was outstanding.

I'd only have two minor criticisms - first, this is (as the name suggests) very central, and there's a major taxi rank outside, so it can get noisy outside in the late evening. My night's sleep wasn't undisturbed... but then that location is fantastic for getting around the city centre.

Second, the place is looking just a little scuffed now - nothing terrible, but it's losing just a little bit of its lustre. Luckily, I got an excellent price for a night's stay, and can't complain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review.

We are happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff helped you enjoy your stay, overall.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel, very soon.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    678
    288
    101
    57
See reviews for
207
842
93
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel has undergone a magnificent upgrade without loosing any of its character and charm
Its location in the city makes it a central base for all of Glasgows attractions
Dont miss out on any special deals which they run from time to time through such sites a as itison and groupon
They did a fantastic deal last friday for two which included a glass of champagne a ten pounds drink voucher dinner bed and breakfast for the sum of £109.00 great value

The satff and food was great and they also gave a bottle of wine per room which you could take down to dinner again many places would not have allowed that

They have a fabulous Champagne bar not cheep but classy
The rooms have been refurbished to a high standard
The buffet breakfast has everything and eat as much as you like


WILL I REURN MOST CERTAINLY EXTREMELY TREMENDOUS VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I visited this hotel recently with quite a large group. It wasnt a hassle to check in and the staff were as friendly as could be. The rooms are beautiful as well as the bathroom. It is very local but the only downside is the noise. I struggled to get to sleep for a while with the noise outside but it was a Saturday night so it was expected. Would definitely visit this hotel again. Also, visit the restaurant as our tea was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at The Grand Central.

We are happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff helped you enjoy your stay, overall.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked an executive double for a treat. Wrong move!!!. The room itself was very nice but boy was it cold. The bathroom was like an ice box and smelled a bit damp.The room was fairly large with 2 rather small cast iron heaters, one of which was half hot. Was so glad of the fluffy robe( with no belt?) I wore it over my clothes to keep me warm.
The view from one window was a wall and the other looked over the glass ceiling of the station. So we just closed the curtains hoping to keep the heat in.
When we went to dinner was asked by an employee ( turned out to be duty manager who was very nice) how our stay was going. Explained about coldness of room and he sent someone up to sort it.
After dinner went back to room and got coats to go out. Heater was on( must have bled it). In my opinion these heaters are insufficient for the area needing to be heated.
When we returned to our room not only was it still cold the noise coming from a function going on was very loud and went on to the early hours of the morning.
I am annoyed that we wasted our money on the upgrade and should have gone for a standard small cosy double as described by others on trip advisor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we were seeing a show in Glasgow. Location is excellent and parking in the nearby NCP very easy. We were able to check in slightly earlier which was great and staff at reception very helpful and friendly, in fact all the staff, from cleaners to bar star are very pleasant and always greet you and make you feel welcome. The inside of the hotel is lovely, you feel like you are stepping back into a glamorous era, but with nice up to date touches. The room was a good size and as you would expect for a 4 star hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel but wished we had and will do so next time we stay. We were on the fourth floor, facing the street and there was some traffic noise. My husband slept through it, I am a light sleeper so the Monday morning buses did wake me - but then it is a city centre.
The only criticism we had was when we walked into our room it instantly smelt like a smoking room - which of course they no longer allow. Plainly the last guests had completely ignored the no smoking signs and I should think had chain smoked through there stay. If I had been a housekeeper I would have closed down the room until the smoke smell had been removed from the soft furnishings so we did let the front desk know and hopefully they will do that before they let it again. If we had more time on check in I would have asked for another room but we checked in then had to rush out for our matinée so we didn't bother. It wouldn't stop me going back to the hotel however as it is a great hotel, fantastic location and lovely staff.

Room Tip: I would guess that the higher up your room is the less street noise, although it was not a big issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

very nice renovation albeit a little unimaginative in terms of 'modern decor'. standard twin rooms were very large and spacious. bar area was comfortable and relaxing but difficult to get a seat due to lots of non-residents using the bar area for evening drinks. service was very good throughout. brilliant location, city centre on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Twin rooms on the 3rd floor seemed bigger than double rooms. Room 321 was huge and great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently attended a Tourism Ireland Conference in the Grand Central hotel. We had a fabulous meal (beautiful Scottish Aberdeen Angus beef as a main course). The staff were extremely friendly, in particular the concierge, and proud he was too to be so helpful. We had a casual soup and sandwich lunch which was lovely and the meeting room for the conference was well laid out with a coat rail on the way in and all mod con conferencing equipment. We came from Prestwick airport and the wonderful thing about it was we didn't even have to step outside between Preswick and the hotel cause the airport train went straight to grand central station and there's a hotel entrance within the station. Wonderful when the weather is bad and you're trying to cure the tailend of a christmas flu!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.