We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, central value-option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
London, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A comfortable, central value-option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Integral with the railway station, this vast Victorian hotel has been comfortably updated. They make a big fuss that they spent £20m on the updating, but you'd probably have to have spent 2-3x that to get a really luxurious result! The result is a hotel that's spacious and comfortable, if not hugely grand or stylish. If you get any sort of deal, this is still a pretty good-value choice, and the staff are all very pleasant. Good breakfast too. Surrounding streets, though, can be pretty noisy at 3am.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    694
    596
    248
    89
    46
See reviews for
174
738
79
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

TV in the bedroom did not work.

There was some sort of hole on the bsthroom roof.

Maid banged the door at 09.30 am the morning after our 1 night stay, not great having to get up to answer it.

View was the roof of central station and workers were on it from first thing in the morning making some amount of noise.

Not worth the money, the hotel has no leisure facilities either.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am disappointed to read your review of the Grand Central Hotel, and I would like to be able to have the opportunity to discuss this further.

I have asked for a member of the hotel's Guest Relations team to contact you for a detailed feedback of your stay, in a bid for us to follow up and action.

Thank you again, for the review and I hope you have a lovely Christmas.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location could not be more perfect as it just in the middle of the station building, old lovely building full of history. On our arrival we were informed the additional price of the breakfast even though it was included on our booking.com reservation. I was asked to search for the confirmation email as I did not have it but after asking cannot they see it after a while they said it’s all there and good..not the most pleasant start but those things happen..
The room was very large, very high ceiling and it was very clean and nicely decorated, I liked the colour scheme a lot. Usually I am not too fussy about tiny details as the room was clean and neat but this time it seemed few things kept popping up one after another. I happened to look outside from the closed curtains and the windows were really dirty, not something you'd except in a 4 star hotel. Also there were some really practical things going wrong, the extendable shaving mirror would have become a real use but it was situated so that there were no light over it..a and the same on the dressing table, and I mean it was really lacking the lighting.
And no mini bar!! I was soooo planning to have a bottle of bubbly there as we had a special occasion :(
And then something I have never done before -- we had to queue to the breakfast, and on both days! We stayed Fri-Sun and on Sat we heard some guests talking that its like that during the weekdays too, how do you have a quick breakfast here if you are in hurry to a business meeting? We awaited roughly 10-15mins, in a queue with other guests and the queue curled up the stairs.
The breakfast was good, nothing special, but ok quality traditional English/Scottish with cereal etc. but no fresh fruit really. On Sunday most of the things had run out and the staff was trying (was pretty hectic) to refill as fast as they could. There seemed to be no one to look after the presentation of the food, if there was any mess i.e. some cereal was spilled from its storage bowl and the whole pile was there on the table but there was no one to look after, it was just left.
When we checked out we were asked to pay for our breakfast and as it was on our booking.com we had to go through the same explanations as when we arrived. The receptionist also asked if we liked our stay, and when we mentioned about the breakfast queues, she just briefly answered that ‘we don’t deal with the breakfast here’. Hmm.. she could have said thank you for the feedback ..?!

I would not choose Grand Central Hotel again, instead I would try one of the boutique hotels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our welcome in the hotel reception was very friendly and efficient in this very large city centre hotel.
The room was very clean and the bed comfortable as was the room temperature overnight.
Individual bedside lights - always a good sign in my book.
The bathroom, fitted with bath and shower and astounding selection of shower heads and hoses, was more than big enough to swing a cat and radiator towel rail must have been designed and positioned for giants as a step ladder would have been needed to make use of the upper section!

Considering the number of rooms on the third floor alone this is a big establishment but remarkably quiet for all that. Quiet and verging on dingy with low level 'mood' lighting everywhere
As we were on a midweek deal we had agreed to pay any extras in cash so were able to depart for an early train in the morning without a lengthy checkout.

Restaurant and champagne bar reviewed separately.

All in all a good stay in an extremely conveniently placed hotel which has an internal exit into Central Station.

Room Tip: Hairdrier hidden away on top shelf of wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the 3rd time on Sunday 2nd December. We have also been to the restaurant previously for dinner when not staying in the hotel. We booked directly through the hotel website and paid for the Sunday dinner bed and breakfast package. Previously we had found this package to be good value at only £99 for 2.

The room standard was worse than last time with marks on the wall and the bathroom could have been cleaner with the hair of the previous guest both next to the shower cubicle and on top of the bin in the bathroom. The room we were in this time was also very noisy and very warm which didn't make for a great sleep. Was disappointed that the room allocated did not have a bath, just a shower cubicle.

The dinner choice was disappointing. Previously the set menu had a steak option (a supplement payable) and had better choice. This time it was fish, turkey or a vegetarian option for main course. The food was ok but it wasn't the most memorable meal we've had.

Breakfast was good (although the haggis and bacon were a bit cold). Good choice, would be better if guests received pot of tea/coffee as small cup only and no staff to refill.

We had two cocktails in the Champagne Bar on the Sunday evening, expensive at £17.00 for 2 drinks but it is a nice bar and the cocktails were delicious. £6.20 for a vodka and mixer is outrageous so although the bar is nice, it is not a place you would sit and drink in all night.

I dont want to put others off of staying as this was the first time we've had any complaints about this hotel. I do hope that standards are not slipping and would probably give the hotel another chance to see if the issues are resolved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am disappointed to read that your most recent stay did not live up to expectations, created, from your visits.

The Grand Central Hotel dates back to 1883 and, unlike many purpose built hotels, no two bedrooms match in size or include the same characteristics.
Some of our en-suite bathrooms comprise of showers only, whilst others are spacious enough to include both a bath and a separate shower.

I have passed your comments onto the respective Heads of Department for them to action. I have also asked one of my Guest Relations Managers to contact you to discuss, in detail, your most recent visit.

Kindest regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My partner and I have sayed at this hotel twice now and enjoyed both visits.
The location is ideal for both shopping and sight seeing in the city centre.
On our first visit we had an executive room overlooking the station concourse. the room was modern and well furnished with a good bathroom, our only complaint being the noise from the staion announcements. Breakfast in the hotel was good but the self service buffet was very busy on our second visit. Our favourite things about this hotel are the impressive grand staircase and the delicious cocktails in Champagne Central, perfect after a hard day shopping!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Our location is perfect for shopping, sight seeing or enjoy a leisure break in the city.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and had the chance to sample some of the offerings of the iconic Champagne Central; where many come to unwind after a hard day's work or shopping.

Please ensure you check our hotel website for our special offers.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It is years since i was in this hotel, and what a revealation. The makeoevr on this hotel has transformed this building. I love the feel of the place and have already recommended to others, and a fine example in great design. Staff were welcomong and food was good also.
Too short a visit to comment further , but I will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that your experience was positive and you enjoyed your time here, at the hotel.

The Grand Central hotel has it's own dedicated Business Centre which is able to provide a quiet setting to conduct meetings and interviews. It also has secretarial support by our Meetings Host and is equipped with printers, wifi, photocopiers etc. Our Business Centre also provides unlimited tea, coffee, soft drinks and snacks.

We also have smaller, intimate meeting rooms that are available per hour for our business clients to use, where catering can be delivered to the room or organised in one of our outlets.

If any of these options are of an interest to you, please contact our Sales team on 0141 240 3752.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.