We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is indeed a 'grand' hotel and has been tastefully modernised. It is accessible from the Central Station where there is the usual range of shops. This is a 'city' hotel, so be prepared to be awakened by other guests talking loudly in the corridors in the middle of the night! Good breakfasts, watched over by friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the station side, rather than overlooking the street. We experienced no train noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and the renovation of our hotel.

Should you be in Glasgow again, please contact the hotel directly for our special offers.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    860
    364
    136
    76
See reviews for
249
1,086
112
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Last week I stayed for 2 nights for business. I could see the train station from my window on the 2nd floor, but I never heard a thing, the rooms are decorated well and the hotel is glamorous, the showers are great but the hot water is intermittent, my real only whinge. the breakfasts are good and although I didn't use the restaurant my colleagues did and really rated the food. When we arrived the receptionist was excellent and check in was easy. She did tell us the hotel had sightings of the haunted kind and I'm very sceptical...until now. The corridors are very very long and kinda creepy and I was woken at 1.30am by what I can only describe as something constantly banging..this went on for 90mins..it wasn't an ordinary noise and I was freaked out but it didn't stop me staying there a 2nd night..excellent hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose the 'treat your partner' offer to celebrate our birthdays. We've stayed in a few hotels in Glasgow and I would definitely recommend this one for the central location for shopping. The room was lovely and as part of the package we had wine and strawberries. The room was very comfortable and a good size. As part of the package we were meant to get robes and slippers. I was looking forward to relaxing in them after a day of shopping but was disappointed they were missing from the room. Housekeeping did bring the robes later, but they were out of slippers. The breakfast was lovely although I think there is room for improvement here too. It's all self service including tea and coffee. I much prefer to have my own pot of tea or coffee on the table! The champagne bar made up for these minor flaws. It's grand without being pretentious and the cocktails are fab.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Our Treat your Partner Package is very popular among our guests, and the chocolate dipped strawberries are delicious.

I have taken down all your comments and these been forward onto the respective departmental managers for their attention.

On your next visit, please ensure you contact our reservations department who will be able to list all our current promotions available.

I hope you have a lovely Christmas.

Kindest regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having been to number of pretty awful hotels recently the Grand Central came as a breath of fresh air. Great rooms, good value, mainly very clean (one or two minor issues with the room) and with quite simply the best Mule Mariner I've ever had. Would thourghly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for the review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
191 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place proves to be a great choice once again. The staff are very friendly, very helpful and their honesty is now a proven fact. Quick easy check in even at noon. Big room, big bathroom, all clean and bang up to date. Good clean towels – I hate smelly towels that haven’t been washed at a high enough temperature. Enough channels on the TV. I didn’t check out Wi-Fi. Good spread at breakfast, fruit, European and Full Scottish with haggis but the coffee was a letdown and I switched to tea. Heard nothing all night on the second floor, Thursday night. Great location. 2 car parks within 3/400 yards £15 overnight.
I shall return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic 5 star review!

It is great to read your room was comfortable, and you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.

Please contact our reservations department, for your next stay, who will be able to advise on all our special deals.

Seasons greetings,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very well located in down town Glasgow, the hotel is actually part of Central Station, so perfectly placed if you are arriving by train. However,being down town it was also quite noisey on a Friday night.
I read that the hotel has just had a major facelift. This was most apparent in the room, which has been very beautifully decorated and the bathroom was great. However, outside the room I felt I was in a different hotel, with bland corridors and restaurant. As for the outside of the building, this seemed to be in a pre-facelift state.
Of more concern is the staff who, although willing, are mostly young and inexperienced and do not give top level hotel service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Returning to any hotel months after a pleasant first stay can be disappointing--but not at the Grand Central Hotel. On my return visit, the hotel was hosting a large law conference, yet the service to other guests was not impaired. I had a huge, fourth floor room with two windows overlooking Hope Street. The bed was comfortable and the room's amenities were excellent. The breakfast buffet is still one of the best I have ever eaten--anywhere! If you have not booked the bed and breakfast rate, be sure to request that breakfast be added to your stay when you check in, for there is a discount if you do it this way.

The hotel boasts courteous, helpful staff (although I would recommend that the reception desk have more than two people--especially during the busy 11 am - noon check-out time). My only complaint is the shuddering bang of heavy bedroom doors. Usually I blame other guests for this, but hotel staff were equally culpable during my stay. Please install quiet-closing mechanisms or instruct staff not to let doors bang behind them.

That said, I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Remember to pre-book breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your return stay, and your room was comfortable.

Our central location is not only a benefit for guests but also for our conference and events organisers and delegates.

I have forward on your feedback to the respective department managers, for their attention.

I do hope you return to us very soon, as I hear third time is a charm.

Seasons greetings

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#6 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#7 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 3,731 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#24 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#10 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.