We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great breakfast !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here in September. Good service, good rooms, good food, good location. Champagne bar really nice. Checked in & out very easily. Parking is a 5 minute walk away & costs 8 UK pounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and giving us excellent feedback.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    680
    289
    101
    57
See reviews for
208
844
93
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked room via laterooms in June 2012 for stay on 21st September 2012. Received confirmation of room booking via e-mail x 2. When we arrived at hotel on 21st September we were informed by reception manager that they did not have record of booking on system and that their was no rooms left due to it being holiday weekend, I informed them that i had received e-mail confirmation, they ushered us to the side so they could attend to other customers as their was a queue. I was very upset at this so went to concierge and asked to use computer to print off e-mail confirmation, one confirmation was printed off i went back to reception and mysteriously they then had a room avaliable for us but not room we had initially booked and no upgrade offered, i was advised by i house manager " this is what happens when you book via a third party such as laterooms". Were put in room where two single beds were joined together as double and put in room on front street next to taxi rank, very noisy and loud

Room Tip: Dont book a room here, go elsewhere, have stayed in several other hotels in Glasgow and have never e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am very disappointed to hear of your feedback on your recent stay and please be assured this is not a regular occurrence within the hotel.

Unfortunately as Trip Advisor does not give us any information on your reservation I am unable to investigate this matter further. However please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss on 0141 240 3753 or e-mail Hazel.Morgan@principal-hayley.com.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night a special treat foe my boyfriends birthday. we had a great time hotel was very impressive and grand very well located joined onto central station just short walk to all the shops and restaurants. Lovely big room with gorgeous bathroom. Very clean. friendly staff. Delicious buffet breakfast couldn't fault it, will definitely be back! :0)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am delighted to read of top rated review and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We are very lucky to be located right in the heart of this vibrant city, with all the shops, culture and main attractions within easy walking distance; which is perfect for all our business guests and also weekend breaks away.

A warm welcome awaits you on your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really cannot praise this hotel enough. Lovely rooms, good food, friendly staff, and superb champagne bar. We had been promising to stay in the hotel after visiting the Champagne Bar several times.. Its impressive decor, chandeliers and stylish furnishings extend to the rooms, which are spacious and well equipped. The hotel could quite easily give people the impression that it was too up market for the ordinary weekender like us, but all the staff were friendly and welcoming.
I really do not know what the past reviewer was complaining about, this hotel is great for a treat!

Room Tip: My daughter stayed in this hotel, and said she was wakened at 6.30am by the train announcements from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I would like to thank you very much for your top rated review on your recent stay here at the Grand Central Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay and of your appreciation of our refurbishment. It is of great importance for us to provide all our guests with the “Grand” experience in a friendly, approachable manner.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

..so don't expect a peaceful quiet night in what is a stunning A listed building which has been recently upgraded after years of neglect. The architecture is incredible with a number of stunning historic features. The rooms are large and beautifully fitted out whilst retaining their original features. Modern fittings in the shower room include a rain forrest shower and heated towel rail so no problems there.
No double glazing means that it can be noisy. My room overlooked the Gordon Street taxi rank, a que that I often stood in on my way home after a night on the town. Even three floors up I could still hear the girls laughing and shouting while they waiting for the next cab. Ear plugs were the only way out. But didn't spoil my visit to this iconic Glasgow building. Champagne Central is a must to visit while you are there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for your appreciation of our £20 million refurbishment.

I am delighted to read of your recommendation to our Champagne Central. It has been an excellent addition to the hotel; offering a relaxing, quiet lounge area for afternoon tea or a more stylish, upbeat and glamorous setting in our bar area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days on business. Stay did not get off to a good start, I rejected the first two rooms offered, the first (414) due to a noisy extractor fan which stayed on permanently, the second (420) was rejected as it was smaller than the first - if a room is offered as a replacement, I expect an upgrade not a downgrade.

My third (260) was was on the face of it, well decorated, well equipped and clean. However, a problem emerged during of the night when the noise started and the cold set in. The trouble is whilst money has been spent on the rooms, the windows still appear to be the original metal framed ones that have huge gaps in the panes. This means that a great deal of noise comes from the station below (obviously I would expect some but I don't think it's reasonable to hear everything that's going on in the station), the gaps in the pane also means the cold gets in, overall very uncomfortable nights.

Given the hassle at the start, I couldn't be bothered to change the room again instead preferring not to stay in future. This is a shame as there has clearly been money spent here, just wished it had been spent on some decent insulation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. However I am very disappointed that you did not receive the “Grand” experience that we pride ourselves on showing all our guests.

All our guest feedback is important to us and please be assured that all your comments will be investigated further. As the Grand Central Hotel is a listed building we are restricted in any exterior changes we wish to make. However all our bedrooms do have secondary glazing on the inside to minimise exterior noise and heat loss.

I am happy to read that our team were able to provide you with an alternative room, however please be assured this was not a downgrade. Due to the age of this iconic building all of our bedrooms are of varies shapes and sizes; we believe this adds to the character of the building.

We do hope you decide to return to the Grand Central Hotel and see us at our best. Once again I would like to thank you for all your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Grand Central as its name implies is Victorian grand and very central for Glasgow. Indeed it is part of the Glasgow Central Station complex and can be accessed directly from the station concourse. Despite the Victorian facade it has a fully modernised interior and the quality of the rooms and bathrooms is very good. You are not going to come here for sweeping vistas but for the convenience of the city centre location or the conference facilities. Staff are all that you should expect from this standard of hotel. Feeding large conference dinners is always a challenge and a test of the facilities but the challenge was well met. Breakfast is served in the Tempus restaurant and offers quality rather than variety with classic British cooked breakfast choices as well as the obligatory 'continental' option. Should you be challenged by mobility it would be wise to discuss with the hotel beforehand as there are many steps and stairs typical of such an old building including in some rooms to get to the bathroom. Do not be put off by the lack of hotel parking, Oswald street car park is close and acceptably cheap as a result of the arrangement between the hotel and NCP.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review.

We are very proud to have a highly skilled and knowledgeable team who strive to excel in customer service and they will be delighted to hear of all your comments.

Once again thank you and a warm welcome awaits your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.