We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand ... it definitely is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Grand ... it definitely is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Grand Central Hotel is in a great location being right at the station in the heart of Glasgow. Our room was spacious, very clean, the bed was massive and extremely comfortable and two comfortable chairs made it more than just a place to sleep by providing a lovely seating area. Our excellent value deal included breakfast from the extensive buffet.

In our opinion the refurbishment has been done tastefully to a very high standard, preserving the character of this grand building from a bygone era.

We will certainly return and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your top score of 5 and your great feedback on our location, comfortable bedrooms, breakfast and on our grand refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central and if you can, why not try our delicious afternoon tea in Champagne Central.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    676
    286
    100
    55
See reviews for
206
840
92
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dumfries
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

let me start with a positive. the location is fantastic. slap bang in the middle of glasgow so brilliant if your there for a shopping spree.
now the down side..... we booked online with the advert saying the room was on special offer down from £200 to just £89. great we thought..a lovely big room(as you would expect for £200) for a bargain price.......how wrong we were!
the room wasnt very big at all,and the dark furniture made it seem even smaller.
the view, if you can call it that,was of the roof of central station!
upon returning from our night out we fancied a couple of drinks in the champagne bar,it wasnt that late but the place was empty, probably because the staff seemed more interested in closing than serving guests!
we felt £89 was asking too much for what we got, so would have been furious to have paid full price.....the tv doesnt work properly, the bath leaked, the complimentary shower gel and shampoo were miniscule,the staff were rude,the drinks overpriced and in general the whole place just lacked any sort of welcome.
simply not good enough.

will we be back?.....NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I shall be investigating the negative comments mentioned, as it is through constructive criticism we are able to monitor and maintain the standards of the hotel.

I am disappointed wih your comment that our staff were rude, as we receive regular positive comments on our great customer service and we recently won an award for our friendly service at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards.

If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Quite simply the best food and service I have had in any restaurant. Congratulations to the management and the staff for providing an unforgettable evening, and since we were dining on a 5PM deal it was also incredible value for money. For the sheer ambience of walking back in time this hotel is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
What a great top score review – Thank you!

I am thrilled to read that you and friends enjoyed your visit to the Taste Award 2011 winner Tempus Restaurant.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon, and next time why not check out Deli Central for lunch, offering a delicious range homemade panini’s, sandwiches, wraps and more and not forgetting the simply scrumptious cakes and Chef bites for after.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel deserves the 5 star status.Clean,comfortable ,spacious rooms and a brilliant shower that was powerful (what a change from some I have experienced.) The tempus food was fantastic and delicious and very very reasonably priced.Breakfast was all you could wish for and the chef john fortune couldn't do enough to supply your every wish.What a charming man he was.I look forward to my next visit to a central Hotel Well done and thankyou to all who contributed to such a happy stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted that we have left you with such a good impression of the Grand Central and John will be especially pleased with your feedback.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great hotel, location superb for shopping and nightlife. rooms spacious, spotless and very comfortable. breakfast great. staff friendly and very helpful. only drawback noise from taxi rank early morning when disco's close, could fit secondary glazing?

Room Tip: second floor facing taxi rank noisy when disco's empty After 3.00AM for about 1.5 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Your comments on superb location, spacious rooms, clean & comfortable, great breakfast and friendly & helpful staff please me and are very encouraging to all of the team here at the Grand Central

The hotel is a listed building and therefore we are restricted as to what alterations can be made to help prevent external noise levels; I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hope this did not impact on your stay too much.

Thank you for your positive review and I hope we can welcome you back soon as we do have many rooms that do not face the taxi rank.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at Easter having arrived into Prestwick airport. The train from the airport takes you to Central Station and the hotel is located 1min walk from the train. It is a lovely old hotel but with significant recent refurbishment. It is very comfortable and clean and serves a good breakfast. But the main selling point for us was the location particularly for a shopping trip. Go out the door and you are within minutes of all the high street shops. Would seriously recommend it and wouldn't even think to look for any other hotel when returning to Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
I am delighted you chose to stay with us during your Easter break and thank you for your excellent review and TOP SCORE of 5!

Our location is unbeatable for shopping trips, located in the heart of Glasgow’s vibrant city centre you are within short walking distance to great selection of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars.

I’m glad that upon returning to Glasgow the Grand Central is the hotel for you, a warm welcome awaits you.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a place. From the staff to the rooms. 10 out of 10 for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your great comments and top score!

I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.