We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Football Museum

Scottish Football Museum
Hampden Park, Glasgow G42 9BA, Scotland
0141 616 6139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 168 attractions in Glasgow
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: See more than 2500 exhibits in 14 galleries, walk amongst Scotland’s footballing legends in the Hall Of Fame and take the Stadium tour…. It’s who we are. The Hampden Experience will reveal the sights, sounds, and stories of the world's favourite game, in the country that took football to the world. Spend a day enjoying Scotland's football heritage, remembering the legends that inspire the champions of today. On the Stadium Tour you will see the Stadium as the players do on Matchday - visit the underground roadway, team changing rooms and have the speed of your shot electronically measured in the players warm up area. Walk down the tunnel, hear the famous Hampden Roar and then follow the footsteps of legends by climbing the stairs to the Cup Presentation Area. You can also relax in the Museum cafe and purchase gifts and souvenirs from the Hampden shop.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I'm Scottish through and through, but lete be honest, we maybe one of the oldest footballing nations but we sure don't have a great deal of success on the International scene. But yes we can be very very proud that Celtic were the first British Club to win the European Cup, and our great rivals also managed the old Cup Winners Cup a few years later. Good place to take the kids if its raining...which it usualy is in Glasgow!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma M, Marketing & PR Executive at Scottish Football Museum, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate all feedback we receive and work hard to take on board all comments and we are constantly looking to improve our customer's experience :-) We would love to hear from you with regards to what could be better and we will try our best to look into this and see what we can improve on. My e-mail address is gemmam@hampdenpark.co.uk please feel free to contact me with any suggestions you may have. Thanks again and we hope to see you again some day soon.
Regards
The Scottish Football Museum :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reunion of Visually Impaired group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent day shown around the museum and excellent lunch with friendly and helpful staff before toour of facilities and pitch

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma M, Marketing & PR Executive at Scottish Football Museum, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we really appreciate it and we are delighted you and the group enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you all again some day soon.
Many thanks
The Scottish Football Museum :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ALL THINGS FOOTIE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A must for football fans. History of Scottish football and footballers very interesting and has varied exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma M, Marketing & PR Executive at Scottish Football Museum, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review we appreciate all feedback we receive. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again some day soon :-)
Many thanks
The Scottish Football Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norge
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“One of the best football museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've been to a lot of football museums around in Europe, but this is one of the best. It's very interesting for a football fanatic like myself. It's located at the national arena, Hampden Park in Glasgow. It's not very expensive to enter, and you'll even get a peak at the stadium. Well worth your time if your interested in football.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma M, Marketing & PR Executive at Scottish Football Museum, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review! We are delighted with your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We think it's "The Best" one too ;-)
Many thanks
The Scottish Football Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Joint Birthday Treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A birthday treat for my 64 year old Father and 7 year old Son, we had a great day at this museum. We also attended the tour which is thoroughly recommended for all football fans and explains some of the superstitions and myths surrounding the Scottish football teams that play there!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma M, Marketing & PR Executive at Scottish Football Museum, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi, Thanks you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your experience. We are delighted you all enjoyed your visit with us and the joint Birthday treat is a great idea and just goes to show that there is something here for everyone, no matter what era you are from. A belated Happy Birthday to your Father and Son and we hope to see you all again some day soon.
Many thanks
The Scottish Football Museum :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Football Museum also viewed

 

Been to Scottish Football Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Football Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scottish Football Museum to your Saves list